helio-training-logo

Helio Training

Salt Lake City, Salt Lake City

Helio Training

Avg Rating:4.2 ( 56 reviews )

Helio Training offers full-time and part-time Web App Development coding bootcamps in Salt Lake City, Utah. Helio Training was founded by Neumont University and aims to give students new, in-demand web development skills for the tech industry. The full-time program is 13 weeks, and the part-time program is 16 weeks, and both cover full-stack JavaScript, as well as career preparation – resume writing and mock interviews. Through in-class instruction, hands-on activities, and assignments, students will learn how to build a fully functional and responsive web application.

Helio Training is an independent institution, but borrows from Neumont University’s experience in successfully training students to succeed in the tech industry. Courses at Helio Training are not eligible for college credit.

Recent Helio Training Reviews: Rating 4.2

all (56) reviews for Helio Training →

Recent Helio Training News

  • Full-Stack Web App Development Advanced - Online

    Apply
    AngularJS, MongoDB, HTML, Git, JavaScript, SQL, CSS, Node.js, Front End
    In PersonPart Time20 Hours/week12 Weeks
    Start Date
    None scheduled
    Cost
    $4,950
    Class size
    N/A
    Location
    Salt Lake City
    In this part-time, full-stack, web development course, you’ll spend 84 hours in synchronous, online sessions learning advanced web development technologies. You’ll learn advanced front-end development, the latest back-end server-side applications, and supporting data stores plus query languages. This course builds upon your existing, foundational full-stack skills and knowledge while adding an array of advanced full stack capabilities.
    Financing
    Deposit
    100
    Financing
    Helio Training offer in house financing to make your tuition more affordable.
    Scholarship
    We offer a US Military and Women in Technology scholarships.
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill Level
    Must have completed Helio Training’s Full-stack Web Development Foundational Course or successfully complete code review and interview with a Full-Time Instructor.
    Placement Test
    No
    Interview
    Yes
  • Full-Stack Web App Development After-Hours

    Apply
    AngularJS, MongoDB, HTML, Git, JavaScript, jQuery, CSS, React.js, Node.js, Front End
    In PersonPart Time12 Hours/week13 Weeks
    Start Date
    None scheduled
    Cost
    $5,100
    Class size
    20
    Location
    Salt Lake City
    The 14-week part-time coding bootcamp covers full-stack JavaScript, as well as career preparation – resume writing and mock interviews. Through in-class instruction, hands-on activities, and assignments, students will learn how to build a fully functional and responsive web application. Classes are Tuesdays and Thursdays from 6pm to 9pm, and Saturdays from 9am to 3pm.
    Financing
    Deposit
    $100
    Financing
    Skills Fund, In house options
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill Level
    Basic computer skills
    Placement Test
    No
    Interview
    Yes
  • Full-Stack Web App Development Immersive

    Apply
    MySQL, AngularJS, MongoDB, HTML, JavaScript, jQuery, Mobile, CSS, React.js, Node.js, Front End, Ruby
    In PersonFull Time45 Hours/week13 Weeks
    Start Date
    None scheduled
    Cost
    $10,500
    Class size
    20
    Location
    Salt Lake City
    The full-time 13-week bootcamp covers full-stack JavaScript, as well as career preparation – resume writing and mock interviews. Through in-class instruction, hands-on activities, and assignments, students will learn how to build a fully functional and responsive web application. Classes are Monday to Friday, 8am to 5pm.
    Financing
    Deposit
    $100
    Financing
    Talk with us about financing options
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill Level
    Basic computer skills
    Placement Test
    No
    Interview
    Yes
  • Full Stack Web Development ONLINE

    Apply
    AngularJS, MongoDB, HTML, Git, JavaScript, CSS, Express.js, Node.js, Front End
    In PersonFull Time20 Hours/week13 Weeks
    Start Date
    None scheduled
    Cost
    $4,950
    Class size
    N/A
    Location
    Salt Lake City
    14 weeks/98 Total Hours in online sessions, approximately 12 hours of self-study each week Mondays and Wednesdays, from 7 p.m. to 9 p.m., Saturdays, from 10 a.m. to 1 p.m. Full-stack web developers are critical members of all development teams. They understand the whole web development picture, which helps them make more informed decisions. In this part-time, full-stack, web development course, you’ll spend 154 hours in synchronous, online sessions learning key technologies that will make you the developer who can create a fully functional, highly usable, and responsive web application from end-to-end. You’ll learn front-end user interface development, the back-end server side applications, and the supporting databases behind the scenes. The skills you gain on this track will advance your career if you’re passionate about learning the industry’s most effective and widely used web development tools.
    Financing
    Deposit
    100
    Financing
    We offer in-house financing, please contact us for more information.
    Tuition Plans
    We offer in-house financing, please contact us for more information.
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill Level
    N/A
    Prep Work
    Provided upon enrollment.
    Placement Test
    No
    Interview
    Yes
  • Software QA Testing

    Apply
    JavaScript, React.js, Penetration Testing, Node.js
    In PersonPart Time40 Hours/week5 Weeks
    Start Date
    None scheduled
    Cost
    $5,100
    Class size
    N/A
    Location
    Salt Lake City
    In this full-time course, you’ll spend 240 hours in on-campus sessions exploring the need for testing, how to test, and ultimately automate this workflow to make sure you have all the essential regressions to stand up a solid defense of software. Quality assurance testing for software development is key to any company’s release of reliable useful technology. Testing is a small, but important piece of the software development life cycle. Quality assurance also serves as an entry-point in the competitive tech work space while allowing testers to explore where in development they want their career to go. Quality Assurance (QA) engineers are essential members on software development teams. In any industry, organizations have different preferences for testing their software. Testing and QA roles have become essential to teams frequently delivering quality software. Continuous integration and continuous development are usually coupled with an agile methodology to maintain order among frequent deployment chaos. As continuous integration and deployment become more common, these processes and methodologies are best coupled with an automated testing system. Following agile methodologies, a feature is declared done when it is tested and deployed. Testing is typically the last line of defense before software is released to suer. QA engineers are meaningful employees to any organization that builds software. As users expectations of higher quality software increases, so too does the demand for competent quality assurance engineers in the industry.
    Financing
    Deposit
    100
    Financing
    In house financing available.
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill Level
    N/A
    Prep Work
    Pre-work is provided upon enrollment.
    Placement Test
    No
    Interview
    Yes
  • UI/UX Design - Online

    Apply
    Start Date
    None scheduled
    Cost
    $4,500
    Class size
    N/A
    Location
    Salt Lake City
    User Interface and User Experience (UI/UX) designers are increasingly needed on all development teams. They don’t just know how to use the tools of digital design and development, they understand the underlying principles of design and user experience. They understand the theory behind social design, usability, interaction, and know how to implement designs using modern tools and software. The UI/UX designer is user-centered and adds value to an organization by designing experiences that users want. They conduct research and produce useful personas, scenarios, and design sketches. They prototype and iterate designs until they produce user interfaces and interactions that are worthy of placement in their professional portfolio. The modern UI/UX developer knows how to achieve great results using Photoshop, Illustrator, CSS, and Sketch. The skills you will gain from this course will help you advance your career in UI/UX and make you an invaluable member of modern development team. Technologies Learned:  Photoshop  Illustrator  CSS  User Research and Personas  Bootstrap and Frameworks  FlexBox  Sketch  Apple UI Principles  Material Design
    Financing
    Deposit
    100
    Financing
    In-house financing available.
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill Level
    N/A
    Prep Work
    Pre-work provided upon enrollment.
    Placement Test
    No
    Interview
    Yes
  • UNITY Certified Game Development - Online

    Apply
    C#, Game Development
    In PersonPart Time14 Weeks
    Start Date
    Rolling Start Date
    Cost
    $3,200
    Class size
    N/A
    Location
    Salt Lake City
    If you would like to work in the game industry, a Unity certification is an awesome addition to your résumé. Helio Training now offers a game development bootcamp that fully prepares you for Unity Certified Developer Exam, and then teaches you to code all aspects of developing games within Unity. In this 16 week training course, you will learn the fundamentals of Unity including the interface, asset integration, lighting, animation, character control, navigation, AI, deployment, and more. Included as a part of the bootcamp experience, you earn Unity certification as you become a competent C# Unity developer. You’ll learn the fundamentals of variables, functions, loops, arrays lists, events, workflow, gameplay, graphics, physics, and how to leverage the capabilities of the Unity game platform. This program has been designed for beginners. Even if you have no coding experience, you can learn C# and Unity. We’ll start at the beginning and work fast to develop games.
    Financing
    Deposit
    100
    Financing
    We offer in-house financing.  Please reach out to us for more details
    Tuition Plans
    We offer in-house financing. Please reach out to us for more details
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill Level
    N/A
    Placement Test
    No
    Interview
    Yes
  • Unity Game Development - Immersive

    Apply
    Git, C#, Design, Game Development
    In PersonFull Time520 Hours/week13 Weeks
    Start Date
    None scheduled
    Cost
    $9,500
    Class size
    N/A
    Location
    Salt Lake City
    Unity is one of the best ways to build games, mobile apps, AR (Augmented Reality) / VR (Virtual Reality) solutions, and is used in many other areas of business as well. Our course focuses on building indie games, 2D/3D games, while providing an emphasis on AR/VR projects. This course will help students develop games and solutions that will help them enter the tech industry and other industries that will utilize the Unity engine. In addition, this bootcamp prepares you for the Unity Certified Associate, Unity Certified Developer exam and 3D Artist exam. While developing your indie game in this 13-week training course, you will learn the fundamentals of Unity including the interface, asset integration, lighting, animation, character control, navigation and AI, deployment and much more!
    Financing
    Deposit
    100
    Financing
    Financing Options Available via Skills Fund and In-House
    Scholarship
    Women in Technology Military
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill Level
    N/A
    Prep Work
    Pre-work provided upon acceptance and enrollment
    Placement Test
    No
    Interview
    Yes

Review Guidelines

  • Only Applicants, Students, and Graduates are permitted to leave reviews on Course Report.
  • Post clear, valuable, and honest information that will be useful and informative to future coding bootcampers. Think about what your bootcamp excelled at and what might have been better.
  • Be nice to others; don't attack others.
  • Use good grammar and check your spelling.
  • Don't post reviews on behalf of other students or impersonate any person, or falsely state or otherwise misrepresent your affiliation with a person or entity.
  • Don't spam or post fake reviews intended to boost or lower ratings.
  • Don't post or link to content that is sexually explicit.
  • Don't post or link to content that is abusive or hateful or threatens or harasses others.
  • Please do not submit duplicate or multiple reviews. These will be deleted. Email moderators to revise a review or click the link in the email you receive when submitting a review.
  • Please note that we reserve the right to review and remove commentary that violates our policies.
You must log in to submit a review.

Click here to log in or sign up and continue.

Hey there! As of 11/1/16 is now Hack Reactor. If you graduated from prior to October 2016, Please leave your review for . Otherwise, please leave your review for Hack Reactor.

Title
Description
Rating
Overall Experience:
Curriculum:
Instructors:
Job Assistance:
School Details
About You

Non-anonymous, verified reviews are always more valuable (and trustworthy) to future bootcampers. Anonymous reviews will be shown to readers last.

You must log in to submit a review.

Click here to log in or sign up and continue.

Shared Review

  • Clint Mossman • Student
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    I just went this past winter for the part time class. And the projects, curiculum, and teachers broke the class.

     

    It was good at first when everything started off and was new, but classes got more in depth and things projects and homework didn't help me learn anything.

    Eventually the curriculum was so thin, that in class would end short or we would spend half an hour at a time just sitting there. I've self-taught myself and I thought having mentors would help.

     

    Usually the teachers would all congregate around one desk and talk about sports or stuff and weren't super helpful. We did 3 half finished projects that they didn't really check or keep you accounted, or spent time on.

     

    Overall, just be ready to take what you can from it, but just understand, even though you may not pay as much for other places that do bootcamps, you won't probably get the same grade of projects either.

  • Steve Saunders • Digital Media Manager • Graduate
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    A full stack development course.  From the basics of JS, HTML, and CSS to more complicated topics like DB management and creation, and REACT.

  • Manny • Graduate
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    My review of Helio is that just like everything else in life you get out what you put in. Learning to be a Developer is not easy, it takes a lot of hard work and dedication but will be worth it in the end. If you are thinking about doing a boot camp just know that if you are not willing to put in the work no bootcamp will meet your expectations.

    I worked with Matt from admissions and felt lucky to have him help me through the sign up process. I think I looked at most if not all boot camps in the sate and was not pressured or made to feel like I had to sign up for this boot camp vs any others that I was looking at which was refreshing. 

    A few reasons why I chose Helio over others were the cirricullum, I wanted to be able to learn the latest technologies available. After going through the course I realize that there are advantages and disatvantages to both. There are still a lot of jobs that use the older technologies so even if you learn those your skills are still in demand. 

    I felt like the price was fair, a lot of other boot camps cost more and/or have options to share income once you have a job but plan on a total of 30% of your income over 2 years. I found that is the most common. If you factor that in you may pay nothing for the camp intitially but you end up paying close to $30k when It is all said and done. Currently Helio is 1/3 of that which is a huge difference.

    Once last thing is that the entire staff really cares about you and your journey. You are not just a number at Helio and it shows. If you feel like something is not going like you would like or anticipated their doors are always open and everyone is willing to help to the best of their abilities. 

  • Mike Sommerkorn • Full-Stack Web Development Immersive • Graduate
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    I am 51 years old (no really I am) and I took this course (really 51 no joke) and it was the BEST thing I ever did.

    From start to finish It was great, from talking to Matt to last day of class everyone that works for Helio Training has one thing in mind, your success.

    The instructors and mentor were always willing to help and knew there stuff. I mean really knew it.

    I went into this with no knowledge at all as did most of the other students and now I can and in the middle of writing a program from front to back (and the little fun bits in between) keeping in mind that there is still a lot to learn.

    I take this quote from some one I know and is a good friend only because I cant say it any better than she has:

    “you get out of this what you put in to it, so show up, participate, make mistakes, engage your fellow students, and learn to love the process.  It is very challenging, but very rewarding if you stick with it. 

    Helio's Full Stack Web Development bootcamp is for anyone, of any age, who wants to level up in life.  “  

                    T. B. Chavez 

    If you are reading this review you are thinking about it. If you are thinking about it then just make the phone call, What can it hurt?

  • Edmundo Rubio • Graduate
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

     Helio Training help me to became a developer, I study web-development by my self for few months, but I always feel like there is something missing, and I did not see my self as a developer, I took the part-time after-hours class, and that was great, now I wonder how much more I could learn and evolve if I had enrolled in the Full-Time-Immersive class.

    I'm a person that I can study by myself and learn, but sometimes after reading the documentation and coding the examples, I feel that I understand 95% but there is an extra 5% where I need a little guidance, and there is where the expertise, & experience of the teachers are invaluable. 

    The teachers are able to code live in front of the students and pause to answer questions that students might have, delivering a more strong understanding that what can be gain by watching coding videos. 

    Overall is a great place to learn, improve your coding skills, and bring them to a level where you feel confident to submit an application for a Web-Developer position, knowing that when the interview comes you can handle it.  

  • mischris • Software Developer • Student
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    I had never had any experience with coding, whatsoever, and was recently promoted to a Jr. Developer within my company. Helio was the perfect place to launch me into an exciting new career!

    They provided a ton of pre-work, before the class even began, to get me familiar with concepts, languages, etc. Once I started class, it went a little too fast paced for me, so I did a lot of work outside of the class so that I didn't feel so behind others that were more familiar with everything.  The great thing about Helio is the teachers and the mentors.  They encourage questions to be asked so that they have a better understanding where the class is at and can re-visit topics or keep to the pace of the class.

    There is no possible way for them to teach you everything there is to learn in the time allotted, so a lot of it has to come from researching and practicing outside of the classroom.  This is a MUST!  I echo what a previous reviewer said, in that "You get out of it what you put into it".  All sessions are recorded and can be watched and followed again at home (I did a lot of this), but attendance is also taken so don't think you don't have to attend.  They provide homework assignments for practice as well, and again, they encourage questions!  The instructors are truly vested in their students. 

    Not only do they provide instruction, they also have an amazing career department that does everything they can to help you succeed.  Everything from helping with your resume, to mock interviews, to LinkedIn profile advice.  This is definitely a place that sincerely wants to see you succeed!

  • Keller Beckstead • Student
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    I enjoyed it quite a bit. The best thing about the place is the people who work there we always way nice and helpful, also had really good teachers throughout the entire thing. Everyone is willing to help you if you ask.

  • Mike Greene • Student
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    Great instructors, engaging environment, and an amazing community of people and resources determined to help the student succeed.

  • Great Bootcamp
    - 11/22/2017
    Dakota Ruller • HTML & CSS developer • Student
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    I've started attending part time helio course in September of 2017 and i'm scheduled to complete the course at the end of January 2018. Before i go into details about the bootcamp let me tell you one thing. Any bootcamp you attend will teach you a lot but the majority of what you learn will be on your own in some coffee shop or at home. Your study time alone is where it all clicks and starts to make sense. This bootcamp has given me more direction on what to learn rather than teaching me everything i know. I wouldn't have attained the level of knowledge i have now without the push from helio but like i said a lot of what i know i learned when i was alone and studying. I only say that cause i see a lot of people posting reviews with complains that they didn't learn anything. It impossible for anyone to teach the volume of information to complete competency in the time period of the course. You have to put the work in if you want to be successful. So back to helio. The course focuses heavily on React (a front end javascript framework) you learn very little html and css in the beginning but the course starts out slow so you have time to focus on those languages and kind of grow your knowledge of them. It also focuses a lot on the back end and some great technologies to be used there. After a while it starts to pick up and you have to take a lot in, in a short amount of time. But the instructor (Tyler) was very informative and helpful and the mentors were very competent and helpful as well. We finished the curriculum about two months into the course and we have been working on our projects since and will present them during the last week of the bootcamp. All except a few classmates were roughly on the same level, a few below, a few above the average skill level. I was able to receive a web dev job halfway through the course and i owe part of that to helio. To sum it up helio has been amazing and taught me a lot but it more gave me a guide of what to teach myself and how. If you're looking to have everything taught to you look into a four year CS degree. But if you want to learn everything quickly understand that you need to work harder than you every have before. Helio has been amazing to me and i would recommend it to anyone thinking about pursuing a web development career. 

  • S. Perry • Student
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    I participated in the full-time 'immersive' class at Helio and found the class to be very beneficial in jump-starting my new career as a developer. The course is structured well and includes some of the latest technologies to get you started quickly in the industry. The syllabus is always being considered and revised to keep up to date with the demands of the market, which you can take advantage of up to a year after you graduate.

    The instructors at Helio are knowledgeable and cover more than just the how-to of coding, they also spend time discussing career services, how to write your resume for a job in tech, and even assist with mock-interviews.

    I would definitely recommend Helio to anyone interested in learning how to be a developer.  

  • Teresa Walatka • Jr. Developer • Graduate
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    The insutrucors and staff are knowlegable, helpful and encouraging.

  • James • Developer • Student
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    Helio was a great experience, I was glad I did it.  It was a really hard pogram at first but the teachers were eally good. I leaned a lot and I have found a good job in industy. I thought Helio was worth the investment 100%.

  • Bradley Hain • Principal Quality Assurance Engineer • Graduate
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    I just graduated from the Full Time, Full Stack class. I didn't know anything about computers and was worried about not being able to get a job or learn what I needed to know. Halfway through the class I started to fall behind but didn't really know how far and others were falling so I thought I wasted my money. I thought about quitting but didn't have the money for any other learning so I stuck it out. I am pleased to say that I am happy for sticking it out, while I still need to learn a lot more. I was able to make a pretty good project and in that hands on experience, I learned a ton and it gave me a good idea of what to learn next. Helio allows you to come back to learn whatever they are teaching and I have been coming back three times a week since my class ended. I also got a job in the industry. I plan to attend the next cohort during the JavaScript lessons to better grasp the language. While Helio is not perfect, one thing they have proven to me is that they truly care that you are successful in getting your foot in the door, and if you don't feel you're ready they will continue to help you.       

  • Tanner • Student
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    This is an AWESOME course and would definitely recommend it! I met with multiple bootcamps and did my research for months before deciding to attend Helio and am glad I did. I came into this course with no prior knowledge of javascript and very little knowledge about html and css. There is a lot of material covered right from day one, which should be expected since it is a 13 week full stack web development course. It is not an easy course and goes at a fast pace so putting in extra hours after class happens daily. 

    The instructor is extremely knowledgeable about web development, can answer any question and is wiling to help whenever needed. The best part about Helio is they have teachers who have been in the industry so they don’t just teach you what you need to know, they also show you best practices and what you are going to experience in industry. Their curriculum covers all the latest and greatest javascript so you don’t learn old practices and soon-to-be outdated syntax, which other bootcamps I looked at did not do that.

    As far as career services go they have a full time person who works with Neumont students and Helio students to help with resumes, linkedin, job searching and anything you could ask for as far as finding a new job and they are very helpful. 

    Overall it has been a challenging, fun and worthwhile experience and I would recommend it to anyone willing to put in the work! 

  • Scott • Senior CVD Process Owner/Systems Engineer • Graduate
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    I entered this course with backgrounds in HTML, CSS, some JavaScript, PHP, a few other scripting languages.  I left this course with a much more firm understanding of Node.js, MongoDB, Hosting, and Angular.js.  Overall, this was a great class and the pricing was reasonable.  Also, I found the instructors to be extremely knowledgable as they've proven themselves in industry.  Helio's administration was equally accommadating -this ranged from Career Services help, parking validations, expectation/requirements setting, and lastly, weekly feedback checks with students.  I would recommend Helio Training to others interested in learning these technologies from a Full Stack Perspective.  

  • Anonymous • Front End Developer • Graduate
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    I am writing this review one year after attending Helio Training. Many of the reviews that have been written on this bootcamp seem to come from people who have recently gotten out or are still attenting. I wanted to give this review to describe the challenges, the ups and downs, pros and cons, and how Helio prepared or underprepared me for the real world in web development. 

    To start off, I will say that you will not and cannot learn full stack in 13-14 weeks. It is simply impossible, no matter how many hours you spend coding, the concepts will be difficult and will take a lot of time, repetition, building up and burning down projects. With that being said, I believe Helio did not transition the concepts well and I, as a student could not grasp the concepts of Javascript very well. Since it is fast paced, and goes through fullstack, the structure itself is flawed, and leads to confusion, many gaps in knowledge, and lack in competency as a developer. I believe it is professionally irresponsible for Helio to teach fullstack in 13 weeks, it may work better for them to just have a front end course or a back end course for students to choose from and extend it out to be atleast 4 months. 

    In my current position, I am a front end developer, and have struggled in the role. Obviously, your first dev job is going to suck and it will have a lot of growing pains for you. From this experience alone, I have realize that Helio has inadequately trained me. Yes, it is important and essential for devs to continuously grow and learn and make this a lifestyle, however, it should be Helio's duty to teach us how to learn these things in a way where it is retainable, which they did not do unfortunately. What I learned from my current job is that it is essential to understand Javascript concepts, what functional programming is and why we use it. Many bootcamp grads do not have the competencies to answer this. At the end of my bootcamp, I could literally not answer concepts in regards to variables, scopes, closures, recursions, etc, you get the point. Helio also does not talk to you about how a dev oriented team operates, and that may throw you into a curveball as well. Its important to know and understand the agile process as well, but that can be learned at your first job. 

    As for the career serive, it is and was helpful to me. I was able to get my resume fixed up, and had some connections made. I do wish however that the career services did more follow up and have more connections for grads to get onto. Perhaps, an apprenticeship approach may be better suited for Helio, because many of the grads are obviously under qualified for many of the jobs available in Utah and beyond. 

    The instruction I recieved from Helio was disorganized. There was a curriculum laid out on paper, however it was not followed in those orders and became a bit disorganized. The classes were not started in a timely manner, and topics would pivot. The instructor was very smart and well versed in web development, but seemed to lack the passion and enthusiasm that could have really helped other students and myself. When building our projects, we were not given adequate guidance. I do wish that they could have done some group projects based on a concept we learned and build on top of those concepts in the later weeks so that the learning can be better solidifed. Projects are so important to presenting your knowledge to potential employers, so an improvement in that process should be a bigger priority for Helio.

    After Helio and a year later, I realize that all the tools I need to learn are online. I spent a couple hundred dollars on codecademy and there are many paths in there to choose from ,I chose web development and data science path, and I actually have learned more from codecademy than Helio and it was $9,900.00 cheaper than Helio. So if you are considering changing careers and going into web dev, I would strongly suggest codecademy first, before considering a bootcamp.

    So would I recommend Helio? They have amazing reviews, and mostly positive comments, but the positive comments are from people who come out fresh from the bootcamp,  I urge you to do more research and be more realistic. Finding a first dev job will suck, ALOT. Learning to code will take alot of time and energy, you will have to make a lifestyle change to get this information burned into your brain and Helio cannot teach you that. Can you learn these things on your own? Yes you can. Can you find a job on your own without a bootcamp? Yes you can. Can a bootcamp help? Depends. Helio and other bootcamps may add value because of the career service and people that may hold you accountable. You also work with people who are in the same boat as you. Helio also offers tuition reimbursement if you are not able to find a dev role in 6 months after graduation, however that comes with stipulations, so I would ask about that prior to joining. 

    With all that being said, my final note is, just do your own research and come up with your own conclusion, ask many questions and don't feel pressured to join. It is your money at the end of the day and it is your life. 

  • Anonymous • Technical Operations Manager • Graduate
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    In my journey to learn how to code and implement these "ideas" we all have...Helio Training was the right choice! I wasn't sure where I wanted to begin my journey but I wanted to be certain the time I did allocate to this new endeavor was done the right way. 

    I really enjoyed the classes from the beginning. Although, I can't emphasize how important the pre-work is to get done as you jump right into React after the initial week or two of HTML and CSS. 

    I was able to create some connections with peers in the class where we continue to meet, learn, and work on projects together...I plan on continuing with the "shadowing" that's available for 12 months after you graduate from your class/cohort. 

  • Anonymous • Sr. Developer • Student
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    N/A

    Our company hired some awesome Neumont grads a few years ago, so maybe I went into the class with unrealistically high expectations. As a whole, I've been very disappointed with my "boot camp" skills-upgrade experience.

    First, a few things I liked. The instructors were nice guys, I liked the actual facility, and the course outline/syllabus is spot-on with what I was looking for.

    My complaints. Despite the instructor being super nice, he really struggled to manage the classroom and cover the content in the syllabus. He definitely did not have the "deep industry experience" I was led to expect. This is false advertising, plain and simple. The instructor did not have significant industry experience, and struggled to explain some basic concepts. It was awkward and I felt a little bad for him.

    Helio needs to figure out their classroom technology situation. This is such a fundamental part of their business, I'm surprised it hadn't been thought through. I used a Mac that I bought through them and it constantly had problems staying on their wireless network, crashing, and the display panel was damaged before I bought it. I let the instructor know about the problems and he said there wasn't much he could do to help me because he's "not a network or hardware guy". So I spent the majority of my classroom time without network/internet access. Rediculous.

    Alot of time was spent talking about how great the Helio program is. It got really tacky. We were actually pushed to post lots of positive reviews on social media, and they basically told us what we should say in our posts (you'll notice the same recurring points in all the 5-star reviews...not a coincidence). If they spent more time developing a quality product, genuine good reviews would follow.

    Finally, the area around their building is sketchy.  Lots of panhandlers and shady characters. After dark I felt totally unsafe walking near their offices. To the north it's pretty nice, but one block to the south is not safe at all after sundown.

    If I could do it over again, I would avoid Helio.

    Response From: David of Helio Training
    Title: Director of Operations
    Friday, Oct 13 2017
    Thank you for sharing your experience with Helio. It's disheartening to hear that you had continued problems with your Mac and our network. That is an issue we are working on and continually improving. We do our best to hire instructors with industry experience for all of our bootcamps. Although instructors occasionally mention reviews, our intent is not to come across as tacky. We'll reconsider this practice based on your feedback. And finally, as for location, it's unfortunate you felt unsafe here. We love the convenience of our downtown location and are hopeful that Salt Lake City will make progress finding a more permanent living situation for our city's homeless. Thank you for taking the time to leave thoughtful and helpful feedback. Best of luck in your future endeavors!
  • Best in SLC
    - 6/2/2017
    Anonymous • Student
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    I just recently finished the Part-time Full-stack Web Development bootcamp with Helio.  It was a difficult but rewarding course.  I had very little coding experience prior to Helio and with an amazing instructor, mentors in the class, and all of the tools they gave me; I was able to grasp the concepts and execute a full stack web application.  I am confinent that I will be able to get a job.  The connection to Neumont University has been a huge advantage!  I would recommend this bootcamp to anyone who is serious about learning to code and wants a career.  My only caution would be that you better be ready to do the work. 

  • Totally worth it!
    - 3/24/2017
    Anonymous • Developer • Student
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    This bootcamp has been great!  My instructors know the subject matter and I can have my questions answered anytime I ask.  Make no mistake - this bootcamp is hard and you absolutely have to put in the work.  But I'm finding my education at Helio to be extremely valuable.  When I see industry surveys and read web development articles, I can tell the Helio curriculum has been crafted to match up with the very best, current industry practices.

    If you want to be a web developer, there is simply no substitute for practice.  Now that I practice coding so much, I'm able to ask very specific questions in class and this is also improving my ability to find answers online.  In fact, that is one of the key skills I've learned - how to find answers through online documentation, example code, and forums.

    Overall, I rate this a great experience and I am confident I will be able to upgrade my employment based on my newly acquired skills and knowledge.  Helio is very willing to do everything possible to help me find a new job, so I'm not worried about that.  My advice to others is to come take a Helio bootcamp - but only if you are serious about working hard and practicing your coding.  If you put in the effort, it will totally worth it and you will certainly be rewarded!

  • Anonymous
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    N/A

    I started Helio Training with the hopes of becoming a web developer. I understood that the hard work, sacrifice and determination needed to complete the assignments and contribute to class work was going to be so much more than I imagined. So I studied, practiced coding and attended class everyday ( whether via Zoom or in class).

    So far I don't feel like Helio is really worth it. It's part time instructor is incompetent. The course material has been rewritten a few times, and according to the syllabus there's no way we are going to get done in time to complete our projects. We've spent too much time in class talking about things that don't matter rather than working. I put in all this time studying and practicing and I get to class and it doesn't even matter because we're likely not going to focus on the material we're being paid to learn. Overall I feel like Helio just isn't quite there yet. Pass on this one and find yourself something better. 

     

    Response From: David of Helio Training
    Title: Director of Operations
    Thursday, Mar 23 2017
    Thank you for sharing your concerns. We welcome all feedbackto help us improve Helio. It’s apparent you’re dedicated to learning webdevelopment. But it is a difficult thing to do, particularly part-time whilebalancing a full-time life. We always want to improve our courses both in thecontent they provide and the way the courses are structured. If you would like,you may share your concerns with any member of the Helio staff in-person or at info@heliotraining.com. 
  • Anonymous • Student
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    Helio Training bootcamps are not easy. You don't go from were I was to a full web developer in a couple months by taking it easy, but the instructors and staff are willing to do what ever they can to help you succeed. All you have to do is be willing to ask for help.

    The curriculum is very different than other courses and requires a lot of personal work. They expect you to take your learning in your own hands and take the time to practice and ask for help if you don't understand. But if you struggle through it you end up not only knowing about code, but actually how to code, how you like to code, and which rescources you prefer to use. You come out of a Helio Training bootcamp not as a cookie cutter developer, but an professional with your own way of doing things. And you know how to find answers when you run into problems with your code.

    The instructor was very willing to spend time outside of class to help me understand and execute difficult concepts. And all the instructors they hire are industy experts who have actually worked in the industry. No boot camp student teachers at Helio.

    And while some bootcamps only provide career services and portfollio building for their part timers Helio does it for all their courses, even the online ones. 

    Overall, a difficult but worthwile experience. 

  • Anonymous • Student
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    I'm reading all these reviews and I really don't understand where the negativity is coming from.  I'm learning a ton in my class and disagree with statements about how Helio represents Neumont or how instruction is not organized.  The teachers are clearly experts and they clearly care about our learning.  I love the personal approach and feel like everyone at Helio wants each of us to succeed.  We have feedback in the form of competencies that are marked off so we can see our progress.  The class is very fast paced but I wouldn't want it to slow down, there's so much to learn in a short time period so it has to be fast.  I would definitely recommend Helio to others. But only if you're serious and willing to spend the time on all the work. Like I said, it is very fast paced.

  • Anonymous • Junior Developer • Graduate
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    I would recommend this bootcamp if you are looking for a challenge and really want to learn the full stack.  The instructors are absolute experts in the field, and it is great that they know some much.  The facilities are excellent and it is great to be downtown, with so much so close.  Helio exceeded my expectations.  I have to say that I observed that the most successful students in the first cohort were students that completed the assignment and spent time out of class practicing what was beeing taught.  This bootcamp is not for the faint of heart, or for someone who is not up for the challenge.  I would highly recommend if you are willing to work and be taught high-end full stack JavaScript.  The staff was very helpful and friendly.  I found that the career service help, resume building and seminars were also very helpful. I would recommend to anyone and everyone!

  • Anonymous • Developer II • Student
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    I'm already a developer, but I've been stuck with old school projects for forever.  I'm finally working with a newer project so I took this class to brush up on angular and nodeJS. If you already know anything about coding, avoid Helios. The course was so basic that it was hardly worthwhile. Glad my employer paid for it, ha ha!

    Not sure why they do this, but they were always talking about Neumont University and how Helios is the bootcamp version of it. It was confusing, like is Helio just a condensed version of Neumont or is it really for people like me who are just needing some skills updated? Honestly all their talk about Neumont just makes Neumont look bad.  Made it look like Helio was the kid brother trying super hard to measure up, lol.

    I should mention that the instructors were great guys and knew a lot.  I think they were just given low quality junk to teach. Overall, my "bootcamp" (bootcamp? wut?) was just really disorganized and soooo painfully basic. I'd skip Helio and consider one of the many other options out there. 

    Response From: David of Helio Training
    Title: Director of Operations
    Thursday, Mar 23 2017
    Thank you for your feedback! Helio Training is a sistercompany to Neumont University. This relationship can be a little bit confusing,but at the end of the day Helio is its own organization that looks to Neumontfor guidance on teaching software development in a hands-on, project-basedenvironment. Helio has developed coding bootcamps primarily to help peopletransition into the tech industry. These courses can also help someone alreadyin the industry like you upgrade their skills. We’re glad you were impressedwith our instructors. They are passionate about web development and are dedicatedto their students. Since you took this course, we have added more structure tothe curriculum that should provide a more robust experience for softwaredevelopers at all levels.  
  • Anonymous • Student
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    Have really enjoyed Helio. Very grateful that they put this program together. Was heavily looking at other camps, but am very pleased with my decision to try out the new program with Helio. Would definitely recommend.

    Pros: The instructors' experience is invaluable. Many bootcamps focus on relevant, but older standards (Angular). The instructors at Helio have an incredible scope of cutting edge industry standards (Redux, Polymer, node.js API's, Docker Containers). They also teach the latest updates and the purpose behind the build for programs like Angular. There are pros and con to both styles, but entering the industry through Helio will make you incredibly valuable to a forward thinking employer.

    Cons: The material covered is not as 'fun' as front end dev camps. It is like looking at the outside and inside of a car, or looking at the paint job vs the engine. Helio teaches how everything runs and how to make it run better so your employer can sleep at night. Not as flashy, but extremely valuable. Also not so much a con, but could be if expectations are wrong.

    I personally recommend that applicants understand the scope of the course so they can set correct expectations. The focus of the course is not to teach how to make a website look good (front end), but how to make it run well. It focuses much more on website operation and interaction with API's and databases, and crafting testable code. Also expect to do research outside of class if you are new. You have to do the precourse work. I came in never having built a website and had to spend an hour or so a night going over the covered material.

    Would definitely recommend to anyone with the dedication to learn difficult material. Incredibly rewarding to go from nothing to building website functions in just a few weeks.

Thanks!