fullstack-academy-logo

Fullstack Academy

Chicago, New York City, Online

Fullstack Academy

Avg Rating:4.9 ( 245 reviews )

Fullstack Academy offers full-time and part-time immersive software engineering bootcamps and cyber security bootcamps, with campuses in New York City, Chicago, and online. Fullstack's software engineering courses cover advanced JavaScript-oriented technologies and computer science topics including compiler theory, logic gates, and building an operating system. The cyber bootcamp covers encryption, networking, system architecture, cryptography, risk detection, and more. Fullstack Academy offers flexible options for college students and those who wish to continue working while learning modern tech skills. The Summer of Code program is an accelerated version of the immersive bootcamp for college students on summer break.

The full- and part-time immersives in NY and Chicago are for intermediate programmers who’ve learned the basics before applying, while the cyber and university bootcamps are specifically designed for beginners. Bootcamp Prep classes are available to help students prepare for admissions. To apply, candidates should submit an application via the website, take an online coding assessment (software engineering bootcamp) or a basic logical reasoning test (cyber bootcamp), then participate in a video interview.

Fullstack Academy programs aim to combine a cutting-edge technical curriculum with career counseling to make sure students can both do a technical job, and get a technical job. Fullstack hosts a Demo Day, which includes speed interviewing sessions, and the careers team helps students connect with the right people, interview successfully, and negotiate the best offer possible. 

Recent Fullstack Academy Reviews: Rating 4.9

all (245) reviews for Fullstack Academy →

Recent Fullstack Academy News

Read all (78) articles about Fullstack Academy →
  • Bootcamp Prep in a Month

    Apply
    HTML, JavaScript, CSS, Express.js, Node.js, Front End
    In PersonPart Time12 Hours/week4 Weeks
    Start Date
    November 4, 2019
    Cost
    $250
    Class size
    40
    Location
    Online, New York City, Chicago
    **NOTE: Prep In a Month courses are best for folks who have some previous experience with programming.** Fullstack Academy's Bootcamp Prep courses are free with refund (which means you'll get back everything you've paid upon completion of the course) and will prepare you for the full-time software engineering programs at both Fullstack and Grace Hopper (our all-women's school), plus Fullstack's part-time Flex program. These courses teach the fundamentals of programming and show you how to use JavaScript to solve real-world coding problems. Best of all, they're taught by working developers who once graduated from one of Fullstack's programs, so you can really get a feel for the environment we foster and the kinds of smart, driven, generous people our community is made up of.
    Financing
    Deposit
    N/A
    Refund / Guarantee
    Full refund upon course completion.
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill Level
    Advanced-Beginner
    Prep Work
    Includes a 10-hr prep workshop. Not required, but highly recommended to help students get the most out of class.
    Placement Test
    No
    Interview
    No
    More Start Dates
    November 4, 2019 - ChicagoApply by October 29, 2019
    December 2, 2019 - ChicagoApply by November 26, 2019
    November 4, 2019 - OnlineApply by October 29, 2019
    December 2, 2019 - OnlineApply by November 26, 2019
    November 4, 2019 - New York CityApply by October 29, 2019
    December 2, 2019 - New York CityApply by November 26, 2019
  • Bootcamp Prep in a Week

    Apply
    HTML, JavaScript, CSS, Express.js, Node.js, Front End
    In PersonFull Time1 Week
    Start Date
    December 14, 2019
    Cost
    $250
    Class size
    N/A
    Location
    Online, New York City
    **NOTE: Prep In a Week courses are best for folks who have some previous experience with programming.** Fullstack Academy's Bootcamp Prep courses are free with refund (which means you'll get back everything you've paid upon completion of the course) and will prepare you for the full-time software engineering programs at both Fullstack and Grace Hopper (our all-women's school), plus Fullstack's part-time Flex program. These courses teach the fundamentals of programming and show you how to use JavaScript to solve real-world coding problems, and best of all? They're taught by working developers who once graduated from one of Fullstack's programs, so you can really get a feel for the environment we foster and the kinds of smart, driven, generous people our community is made up of.
    Financing
    Deposit
    N/A
    Refund / Guarantee
    Full refund upon course completion.
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill Level
    Advanced-beginners
    Prep Work
    Includes a 10-hr prep workshop. Not required, but highly recommended to help students get the most out of class.
    Placement Test
    No
    Interview
    No
    More Start Dates
    December 14, 2019 - New York CityApply by December 9, 2019
    December 14, 2019 - OnlineApply by December 9, 2019
  • Flex (Part-Time) Immersive

    Apply
    Start Date
    January 14, 2020
    Cost
    $15,980
    Class size
    N/A
    Location
    New York City, Chicago
    Flex offers an opportunity to complete the rigorous Fullstack immersive program, but over a six-month span, while keeping a full-time job. Students attend class in-person two nights per week, and remotely one night per week. Each month will have one immersive weekend, where Flex students come to campus both Saturday and Sunday. The other three weekends will consist of remote work -- not requiring live attendance. These remote weekends will utilize learning tools that work well in that format: video lectures and workshop reviews, solo coding workshops, and even pair-programming with classmates using virtual collaboration tools. This remote work will be self-paced -- completed by a deadline, but on the student’s schedule.
    Financing
    Deposit
    N/A
    Financing
    Fullstack Academy partners with Skills Fund.
    Scholarship
    $1,000 scholarship for women; $1,000 scholarship for veterans. $2,000 built-in scholarship for Chicago students.
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill Level
    Advanced-beginner/Intermediate programming skills
    Prep Work
    4-week Foundations Course
    Placement Test
    No
    Interview
    Yes
    More Start Dates
    January 14, 2020 - New York CityApply by November 17, 2019
  • Fullstack Cyber Bootcamp

    Apply
    Start Date
    None scheduled
    Cost
    $17,610
    Class size
    25
    Location
    New York City
    The Fullstack Cyber Bootcamp is a full-time, 17-week training program that prepares students to get cyber security jobs as pen testers and SOC analysts after graduation. Operated by Fullstack Academy, one of the longest-running coding bootcamps in the nation, the Fullstack Cyber Bootcamp is part of New York City’s $100-million-dollar Cyber NYC initiative, which aims to transform the City of New York into a global cyber hub. In keeping with this mission, the City is sponsoring 24 low-income New Yorkers to attend the first cohort of the Fullstack Cyber Bootcamp tuition-free. Head to the web page for eligibility information.
    Financing
    Deposit
    2,000
    Scholarship
    Full scholarships to our inaugural cohort (including deposit refund upon program completion) available for qualifying NYers. Made possible by the City of New York's CyberNYC initiative. See website for eligibility information & additional scholarships.
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill Level
    Beginner
    Prep Work
    Take our introduction to the industry, Hacking 101, before you interview: https://cyber.fullstackacademy.com/prepare/hacking-101
    Placement Test
    Yes
    Interview
    Yes
  • NYC Web Development Fellowship

    Apply
    Data Science, HTML, Git, JavaScript, SQL, jQuery, CSS, Express.js, React.js, Node.js
    In PersonFull Time17 Weeks
    Start Date
    None scheduled
    Cost
    N/A
    Class size
    N/A
    Location
    New York City
    In partnership with the NYC Tech Talent Pipeline, the NYC Web Development Fellowship will award ~40 NYC residents tuition-free admission to Fullstack's award-winning Software Engineering program. This curriculum has been proven successful -- Fullstack graduates are now working at companies like Google, Venmo, Facebook, Amazon, and LinkedIn, as well as hundreds of innovative small- and mid-size tech companies. Learn more about the fellowship as well as eligibility restrictions on the Fullstack website: https://www.fullstackacademy.com/nyc-fellowship
    Financing
    Deposit
    N/A
    Scholarship
    Free Tuition for Eligible NYC Residents
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill Level
    N/A
    Placement Test
    Yes
    Interview
    Yes
  • Software Engineering Immersive

    Apply
    Start Date
    November 4, 2019
    Cost
    $17,910
    Class size
    N/A
    Location
    New York City, Chicago
    Fullstack Academy’s flagship course, the Full-Time Software Engineering Immersive is a 17-week career accelerator. Through an advanced curriculum and project-based structure, students learn today’s cutting edge development technologies. The Fullstack Immersive prepares graduates for software engineer roles at top-tier technology companies. Our JavaScript-driven curriculum immerses you in the latest web technologies such as Node.js, React.js, and postgreSQL. You bring the energy, curiosity, and dedication — we'll provide a world-class school for becoming an expert software developer.
    Financing
    Deposit
    N/A
    Financing
    Fullstack Academy has partnerships with Skills Fund and Upstart.
    Scholarship
    Built-in $2,000 student scholarship; $1,000 scholarship for women; $1,000 scholarship for veterans.
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill Level
    Advanced-beginner/Intermediate programming skills
    Prep Work
    4-week remote Foundations Course precedes the 13 weeks on-campus
    Placement Test
    No
    Interview
    Yes
    More Start Dates
    November 4, 2019 - ChicagoApply by September 15, 2019
    January 13, 2020 - ChicagoApply by November 24, 2019
    November 4, 2019 - New York CityApply by September 15, 2019
    January 13, 2020 - New York CityApply by November 24, 2019
  • Summer of Code

    Apply
    Start Date
    None scheduled
    Cost
    $16,910
    Class size
    N/A
    Location
    New York City, Chicago
    Summer of Code is a coding education program uniquely designed for ambitious college students seeking to supplement their traditional education by learning real world skills and building a portfolio of impressive projects. You bring the energy, curiosity and fierce dedication — we'll provide a world-class school for becoming an expert level coder in one summer.
    Financing
    Deposit
    N/A
    Financing
    Fullstack Academy has partnerships with Skills Fund and Upstart
    Scholarship
    Built-in $2,000 student scholarship; $1,000 scholarship for women.
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill Level
    College students only.
    Prep Work
    4-week Foundations course
    Placement Test
    Yes
    Interview
    Yes

1 Scholarship

  • $500 Fullstack Academy Scholarship

    Course Report is excited to offer an exclusive Fullstack Academy scholarship for $500 off tuition!

    Eligibility

    Offer is only valid for new applicants. Applicants who have already submitted an application cannot claim this scholarship.

    Qualifying Courses

    • Software Engineering Immersive (Chicago)

Review Guidelines

  • Only Applicants, Students, and Graduates are permitted to leave reviews on Course Report.
  • Post clear, valuable, and honest information that will be useful and informative to future coding bootcampers. Think about what your bootcamp excelled at and what might have been better.
  • Be nice to others; don't attack others.
  • Use good grammar and check your spelling.
  • Don't post reviews on behalf of other students or impersonate any person, or falsely state or otherwise misrepresent your affiliation with a person or entity.
  • Don't spam or post fake reviews intended to boost or lower ratings.
  • Don't post or link to content that is sexually explicit.
  • Don't post or link to content that is abusive or hateful or threatens or harasses others.
  • Please do not submit duplicate or multiple reviews. These will be deleted. Email moderators to revise a review or click the link in the email you receive when submitting a review.
  • Please note that we reserve the right to review and remove commentary that violates our policies.
You must log in to submit a review.

Click here to log in or sign up and continue.

Hey there! As of 11/1/16 is now Hack Reactor. If you graduated from prior to October 2016, Please leave your review for . Otherwise, please leave your review for Hack Reactor.

Title
Description
Rating
Overall Experience:
Curriculum:
Instructors:
Job Assistance:
School Details
About You

Non-anonymous, verified reviews are always more valuable (and trustworthy) to future bootcampers. Anonymous reviews will be shown to readers last.

You must log in to submit a review.

Click here to log in or sign up and continue.

Shared Review

  • Alexander Mazhavy  User Photo
    Alexander Mazhavy • Associate Software Engineer • Graduate Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    I've graduated from Fullstack Academy Web Development Fellowship, the program sponsored by NYC Tech Talent Pipeline.

    I have an awesome experience with FS, like the most of it graduates and here is why:

    1. Instructors are outstanding. A lot of people complain that instructors in bootcamps are often don't have much experience in real-world development. It's not the case with FS. First of all, because they do have not only experienced but PASSIONATE teachers. I won't speak for everybody, but give a shout out to Corey Greenwald and Dan Soval who were my instructors. Experience in web development multiplied by the natural ability for outstanding public speaking and great desire to teach other people => that's the recipe to engage you in solving the problems every day, every hour, think about code when you go to sleep and wake up because of the dreams about code. Sure it's information waterfall brings you to that state of the mind, but instructors make this crazy state ENJOYABLE and ENCOURAGING. They really care about you and want you to learn. Thanks Corey and Dan!
    2. Curriculum. It's awesome. Why?
      • No spread of tech. You need to master your JavaScript before you go further or you'll have a total mess in your head. All stack is based in JS: React.js, Node.js, and other supporting frameworks. If you didn't do development before it's even hard to imagine how COOL is to write your front and back end using THE SAME language. Sure there may certain trade-offs, but it's the fastest way to learn FULL STACK for a beginner.
      • They listen to the trends. The curriculum is always updating. My cohort was going through the workshops and some of them will be replaced for the next cohort. They curriculum evolve synchronously with the tech trends.
      • Hands-on experience. You always writing code, even if you don't really understand the topic. A theory was for self-learning and even lectures were mostly based on live code writing sessions.
      • You work either in a pair or in a group. Only a few assignments were individual. That's how you would work in real life, right? You won't be a lone wolf, you should always communicate, that's the key for learning and for life.
      • They keep you in shape with checkpoints and exams. No slackers, you gotta work and code to learn something.
    3. Competetive admission. No random unmotivated people, everyone was crazy about learning stuff.
    4. No asshole rules. They were really monitored and enforced.
    5. Support not only in your learning but also in life. It's hard to learn to code from scratch in a short period of time. You will be exhausted, unfocused or tired sometimes. You may think that you stupid or can't learn as fast as your teammates. But they have a special counselor who can help you to overcome such psychological barriers and instructors are always caring and attentive.
    6. Fellows!!!!!!!! Fellows are awesome, that's recent Fullsatck Alums who employed by FS to help you overcome technical challenges and be awesome. They like your older brothers and sisters who will take care of you if you lost :)
    7. Career counseling. The job market is a MARKET. Nobody can guarantee you employment (unless US Army is paying for your education). But you can learn how not to suck in the job search. And FS is fulfilling this. They have a special time in the program dedicated to hiring activities. They teach you how to LinkedIn, write a resume, cover letters, provide you with sessions with a personal career counselor and ongoing support even AFTER graduation. (Like negotiation)
    8. Ability to apply for a FS fellowship. Later to the end of the program, you can apply for the fellowship and become the older brother/sister I mentioned before. It is competitive but most of the people are happy with it, teaching others to solidify acquired skills and give you more confidence in a job search.
    9. Social activities. It may sound silly, but they are VERY important. You spend the time with the people who an in similar circumstances but may be very different than you. Social activities (like a hot seat :) made our cohort solid like a rock and caring for each other.
    10. Reflection. Each week instructors seat in a circle with students and listen to all your complaints and kudos. And they really listen and change stuff! That's amazing for every organization, but not every organization do this.

    To draw a line I just want to add that if you want to change your life, change your career FS is definitely what you need. 

    In Fullstack Academy you will not only to learn how to write code, but how to become the better version of yourself, how to learn to communicate with other people.

  • Student
    - 2/19/2018
    Abel McElroy • Graduate
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    The culture was amazing. The staff fostered a productive and healthy learning environment. Turkey one of the best experiences of my life.

  • Oscar A. Ramirez • Software Engineer • Graduate
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    The Fullstack Academy Software Engineer Immersive program has a great curriculum and the schedule is layed out effectively. The first six weeks of the program is lectures and workshops. The workshops solidify the material in the lectures. As you work in pairs, some doubts you may have can be cleared with your peer programming buddy. If not, you always have a Fellow to aks questions. Fellows are alumni who stay for the next cohort to help instructors. This guarantees coverage for questions and general help for students. The curriculum for lectures is updated often between cohorts and reflects the software and languages being used in the real world.

    The latter six weeks of the program you spend all your time in project work. I think this is a valuable time for many of my fellow cohorts who may have never worked as a group in a software project. It reveals to them how communication is important to collaborate when working on a single GitHub repo (think merge conflicts!).

    One other valuable part of the program is during the latter six weeks as well. Every morning we work on an algorithm challenge. This time helps solidify fundamental computer science concepts and prepares you for what you will face in real interview. 

    The instructors are very knowledgeable and helpful, the Fellows provide another level of coverage so students never feel lost or without help resources.

    Finally towards the end of the program the Career Resources team kicks in to help you prepare for interviews and job search. The team is very helpful and really walk you through the entire process in detail. For those cohorts looking for work for the first time in their lives this is very valuable information. Even for someone with experience like me, it provides a review of what the job search practices are today.

    Overall I got a lot out of the program and was able to get the type of job I wanted. I highly recommend the program.

     

  • Monica • Software Engineer • Graduate
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    Exceeded my expectations. :)

    Positives: Great teachers, very fun, good space. Teaches coding principles for those who are self-taught (!!!!). Super friendly. You can learn a ton if you put in the time. Covers a lot, quickly. Definitely would not have gotten my job without these guys. I would strongly recommend to someone who's only done research beforehand and is trying to move into software.

    Negatives: Curriculum focuses on usage of a lot of frameworks, which is fun but definitely didn't really stick in my head after the course. Not enough focus on coding problems/algorithms. Post-graduation has some super awesome people helping out but you are no longer the focus of their life (obviously, but a lot more structure would be useful). Definitely not enough time to learn for someone who has not coded before, so self study for a few months first. Work on full-stack projects first, work in UNIX, make a website, whatever.

  • Franklyn • Graduate
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    N/A

    I'm a Yale CS major who took FSA in Fall of 2016. FSA was hands down one of the most rewarding and fun educational experiences I've gone through. I did a pretty thorough comparison of bootcamps before choosing FSA, and am very happy with my decision. A couple of key points

    1. Excellent instructors with legit backgrounds: my main instructor was an ex-Microsoft software engineer. The founders Nimit & David are also legit engineers.

    2. Full-on teaching support staff. Former students acted as TFs; very knowledgeable, and helped immensely.

    3. Legit, well designed curriculum. We went over both fundamentals (algos) and cutting edge frameworks (React, Node, etc). The activities were fun and very practical.

    FSA was very demanding. Fellow classmates were really smart and driven. Everyone came in knowing a bit of code, so we were able to move very quickly. 

    I'd say if you're looking to level up your practical skills (i.e., know how to build web apps and not just AVL trees), FSA is hands down the best and most effective ways to get that out there. If you're a CS major considering doing this, I'd highly recommend it as a complement to a traditional CS education (a couple of my classmates are now seriously considering it).

  • Christine Leverett • Product Developer • Graduate
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    I finished the Grace Hopper Program at FSA in April and then completed the fellowship in July. The experience as a whole was probably the best decision I've ever made for my professional career. I went into the program with very basic Javascript knowledge, having built maybe one or two very simple websites and with no professional experience at all. At the end, I had multiple interviews with a variety of companies that I felt very well-prepared for despite being a nervous wreck. I would not have been as successful as I was in the job search without Ceren and Claudia either. I called Ceren with every question I had and sent them almost every version of every thing I wrote, which they gladly edited or approved. They did mock interviews with me and gave me great feedback that in the end culminated into me receiving mulitple offers. When it came to finally accepting, Ceren helped me negotiate my salary to $10,000 more than what was offered. I'm still in disbelief that after 6 months I'm working in a role that I thorougly enjoy at a company I'm so excited about and making an incredible salary.

    That being said, the program is defninitely not for everyone. You're going to get out of it what you put into it and it can seem a little chaotic or disorganized at times because they are understaffed. But there is no shortage of people who want to help you; the instructors, Chris and the career success team are with you every step of the way. 

  • Daniel Park • We • Graduate
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    Like many of my classmates, I attended Fullstack Academy (FSA) for a career change. I had only started coding on and off a month before I formally applied to the program. FSA offered a robust program that directed my passion and enthusiasm for coding into practical ends. Beyond the ever-developing curriculum, the instructors have been top notch (at least the ones who taught our cohort). They spoke with clarity and depth regarding complex topics. Most of all, they were able to package years of classroom knowledge in just 3 short months. Looking back, I can honestly say that the program changed the trajectory of my career for the rest of my life. I am happily employed at an amazing company, an opportunity that would not have been possible in this short of a transition without FSA. 

    Some look to coding bootcamps as the 100% package to make their way into the tech industry. I'd say that FSA does not lack in comparison to other bootcamps in that regard for sure -- however, much of the burden of succeeding in the program and the job search thereafter is on the student. My personal successes have been in applying what I've learned, exploring the breadth and depth of technical articles out there, and recognizing that there is always so much to learn. FSA helped facilitate that kind of learning through their amazing instructors and staff and their curriculum. But don't expect things to be handed to you... the job market for entry level software engineers is tough, you have to prove yourself constantly to make it. 

    I would say, don't goto FSA to be motivated to code, you must be motivated prior to attending FSA. To make the most of your Fullstack experience, be ready to grind it out!

  • Mike P • Javascript Engineer • Graduate
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    I cannot speak highly enough of Fullstack Academy.  I completed their full time NYC immersive program in April, and was invited to stay on as a teaching fellow for the following cohort. The curriculum is up-to-date, challenging, and interesting.  The instructors are so intelligent and amazing at teaching all concepts.  The projects we worked on taught me everything I needed to know to start my new job as a Javascript developer, which I never would have gotten without the assistance of Fullstack's unbelievable career success team.  Claudia and Ceren are so helpful and knowledgable about tech recruiting.  Overall, I would say that if you're looking to do a bootcamp, you are doing yourself a disservice if you don't apply to Fullstack!

  • Zo • Graduate
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    I chose FullStack Academy over Hack Reactor. It was truly one of the best decisions of my life. I had been in tech prior to FullStack but mostly on the business side. So it helped that I knew what I was getting into.

    The instructors were a mix of FullStack graduates and industry veterans. That was a great combination because recent graduates had an idea of what I didn't know considering they were in my shoes not too long ago. But at the same time, if I I wanted to understand how something works in the real world, I can easily ask the experienced developers/instructors.

    FullStack pays a close attention to what the employers are looking for and adjusts its curriculum accordingly. The curriculum is structured well especially for the foundations and introductory courses. We were the third cohort to learn React/Redux and things were still a little unorganized. I think since then they have improved upon it considerably.

    FullStack has a special curriculum for Job assistance. The staff does a great job of helping the students with resumes, interview preps (they bring in outside recruiters to help with behavioural interviews) and job hunting. During the last week of the program, FullStack hosts a career day where employers from all over the NYC come to interview the candidates. A good percentage of students from my batch got a job from the hiring day. 

    I truly had one of the best experiences at FullStack. I really enjoyed my cohort and made life long friends. Nothing comes easy so be ready to work hard and enjoy the fruits of your labour.

  • Evan Scribner-MacLean • Software Developer • Graduate
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    Fullstack Academy is a great school, which I sincerely recommend to anyone who has made the decision to attend a bootcamp.

    Instructors: Every instructor I interacted with was brilliant, dedicated and friendly. I was seriously blown away by the quality of the staff-these people make the program what it is. 

    Culture: Fullstack has a fantastic culture that is friendly and inclusive. I made quite a few good friends here, and alumni frequently get together to catch up

    Curriculum: The curriculum teaches modern, in-demand Javascript skills and industry best practices. The staff are constantly updating and interating on the curriculum. Most importantly, it's designed not just to teach you one specific stack, but give you the tools that you need to quickly pick up new technologies-and it works. I have been able to perform effectively at my job using languages that I never used at Fullstack, because of the skills I gained there. 

    Job Assistance: Attending Fullstack gave me:

    • Immpresive projects to put on my resume
    • The skills to pass difficult technical interviews
    • A large network of software engineers in NYC
    • Training on effective job hunting techniques

    What they don't do is get interviews for you (beyond Hiring Day, from which about 15% of our class got jobs). The job hunt after graduation is the student's responsibility, and will require several months of dedicated effort networking and applying for jobs. I felt very capable in all my technical interviews, but getting that initial foot in the door is still challenging. I do appreciate the lifetime of career support and advice from the extremely capable and helpful career success team. 4 months after graduation, I'd estimate that 75% of my cohort are currently working as software engineers, with many of the other 25% getting interviews.

    Overall, I am extremely satisfied with my experience at Fullstack. I'm currently in my first job after graduating, and I felt more than prepared for the interview and the job itself. If anyone reading this has any questions about my experience, please feel free to reach out to me on LinkedIn (my username is evanscribnermaclean) - I'd be happy to chat

  • Joseph Angelino • Graduate
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    There are not enough good things I can say about Fullstack Academy. I have a B.S. in Computer Science and I can honestly say I learned more and was more prepared for the industry and interviews from 13 weeks at Fullstack rather than from my 4 year degree. The process is really strenuous and difficult, but also a lot of fun and it is such an encouraging environment. There was not a day that I did not look forward to going and getting to work. The entire staff, including the instructors and the career success team are there for you at all times, and even still there for support after you leave.

  • Joel D • Fullstack Developer • Graduate
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    My journey with coding started when I was kid. I loved programming video games back in the 90s and early 2000s (DirectX anyone?) In college, I did half of a C.S. degree, then decided to go to Berklee College of Music to pursue a degree in audio engineering and sound design. 

    After 5+ years in the Music Tech industry, I realized I really missed coding, and I was not super happy with my career trajactory. Instead of going back to college to get another degree, I decided to look for other options, and found Fullstack. I was still working FT, so I ended up doing the FLEX class, which worked into my schedule really well. 

    I can't say enough good things about my experience. Eric Katz, the lead instructor, did an incredible job, and consistently went above and beyond to make sure we learned the material, and learned it well. 

    The rest of the crew @ FS are also amazing, and very helpful. 

    After Fullstack, I quickly found a job (at one of my fellow student's startup actually) as a fullstack web developer, and I am loving. Attending Fullstack has changed my life! 

  • Mark Pytel • Software Engineer • Graduate
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
     
    I attended Fullstack Academy's Immersive Javascript program in the Summer of 2015. At that time I was pursuing a career change into web development. I had been attending graduate classes for Computer Science but was a little unhappy with the pace. I had just been hearing about boot camps, and liked the idea of an immersive program that was comprehensive and demanding. This led me to Fullstack and really one of the best decisions I've made.
     
    The bootcamp itself prepares you very well. You learn Fullstack development by performing workshops and developing projects. It very much mimics actual project development. On top of the actual course material is thorough job prep as well. There were whiteboard problems and interview/resume prep. All leading up to hiring day where you get to demo your projects and meet with employers. They really cover all the bases. I'm very pleased with the results.
  • Great Experience
    - 4/14/2017
    Hal Carleton • Graduate
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    I spent about a year browsing software engineering bootcamps while I put together the money to be able to attend. In that year I narrowed my search to three different bootcamps. After interviewing with each I finally made the decision to commit to Fullstack Academy. The seemed to have the strongest curriculum and devoted staff. I can tell you now that I chose correctly. Fullstack Acadmeny has been probably the single most productive 13 week period of my life.

    Fullstack Academy teaches you how to write fullstack javascript (client-side & server-side). In addition to this they teach computer science concepts they help mold the way you solve problems. The fact that you learn one language and use it for both the server and client is hugely important. This allows you to spend more time learning valuable concepts and patterns that you can apply to any language you learn rather than spending a lot of time learning new syntaxes.

    The second half of the course is spent taking what you have learned and apply it to group and solo projects. This lets you really nail down the git workflow as well as learn how to work effectively in a collaborative environment.

    In addition to all the technical instruction you receive you will also spend time learning about the job market; how to write a resume, how to do well in white board interviews, how to do well in other types of technical interviews, how traverse the interview process.

    During senior phase every morning starts with an hour of whiteboard problems. Not only does this help prepare you for whiteboard interviews, but it's also very fun, and seriously strengthens your technical problem solving abilities.

    I would recommend Fullstack Academy to anyone who is eager to get in to software engineering, and willing to work hard to get there.

     

  • Tiffany Wang
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    I attended the September 2015 cohort of Fullstack Academy and absolutely would recommend the experience to dedicated individuals intent on learning to program. For a few months before applying, I used online resources like Coursera, Codecademy, and Coderbyte to ramp up my self-learning. I also worked on a few smaller projects for practice before applying. 

    Fullstack academy is full of great instructors and great teaching fellows (students who successfully completed the course and are hired as mentors and engineers) and as a result, my questions were always answered with patient guidance and thoughtfulness. I was hired as a Teaching Fellow upon graduating, and after finishing my fellowship, I received multiple offers from amazing companies and was ready to jump into my position as a full stack software engineer.

    I chose FSA because I knew I wanted a rigorous program that would expedite my journey to becoming a software engineer. I'm so grateful for Fullstack- it's not for the faint of heart, but it will definitely prepare you for a career in software engineering. Thanks Fullstack!

  • Just go
    - 4/13/2017
    Austin Shoecraft • Software Engineer • Graduate
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    Alright, do you want to be a developer? It's a serious question, are you interested in putting in lots of time, effort and money learning about computers, programming methodalgies, and staying up to date amongst the rush of new developers coming into the market. If the answer is yes then just go to fullstack (money and circumstances permitting). 

    It's a great program with terrific instructors and a top notch curriculum. It was by far the best educational setting I have ever been in, surrounded by a great group of people who are so passionate about learning. 

    If you are on here then you are most likely comparing against other bootcamps, and let me tell you as someone who does some hiring at my company now, Fullstack students stand out. Many of the others simply do not put out as impressive students (cough cough ones with ruby backends cough). I would also look very cautiously at ones that offer 'guarenteed' jobs. Nothing is guarenteed, and programs that do that have to either being extremely selective with people they know they can place into jobs, or be offering sub par jobs or internships with no extensions. Fullstack was great for people looking for a career shift, most of my fellow students had been in a career for several years (avg age 27-32) and were looking for a shift into programming. 

    So hopefully all these rave reviews convince you to go, as I'm glad I did and so is everyone I know. 

  • Dillon Powers • Software Engineer • Graduate
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    Summary

    If you're deciding among different bootcamps, you can't beat Fullstack. The head instructors are all very sharp and incredibly committed to their students. The professional network is robust, and the career services team works tirelessly. The program felt at times like drinking from a firehose, but in the end, I graduated with a job offer in hand - for more details, read on! 

    My Road to Fullstack

    I graduated from Harvard College with a degree in history, then moved to China for five years, where I worked as a Product Manager at Lenovo. I fell in love with coding while tinkering around on side projects, and decided to attend a bootcamp because I felt it was the best way to level up in a short period of time. I chose Fullstack over Flatiron and Devbootcamp because I was impressed with the teaching skill and coding knowledge of my technical interviewer, and because co-founder Nimit convinced me that learning full-stack JavaScript meant I would spend less time on context-switching and would benefit from understanding one language more deeply. Didn't even consider places like AppAcademy becase I dislike the idea of the school taking a percentage of my first-year salary - my goal has alwasy been to optimize for greatest learning, not highest income.

    Student Experience

    It's hard to understate how caring and committed the teachers are. The head instructors have different styles, but there's no discernable difference in quality among those who have been around for several years and those who have just joined. I was lucky enough to learn from Dan Sohval and Ben Cohen as a student, and later worked closely with Gabe Lebec, Joe Alves, and Cassio Zen while I was a fellow. These instructors represent an embarassment of riches, and I would consider every one of them as a mentor and a friend.

    The learning environment at Fullstack is truly collaborative. All of junior phase relies of students working in pairs (driver/navigator roles), and senior phase includes several group projects. The teaching staff is genuinely interested in making sure everyone masters the material, and that the students at the top of the class are spurred even beyond the core curriculum. At the same time, I pushed myself so much harder than I would have just my learning on the side. Some of my classmates had CS degrees or had even worked as web developers before - sharing classroom time with them really motivated me to put in extra work.

    Teaching Fellowship

    The fellowship selection process is rigorous (about half our cohort applied, with only a ~25% acceptance rate). I applied because I genuinely enjoy teaching and because I wanted to build a more robust portfolio of projects before starting my job search. Throughout the fellowship, my number one priority was helping my students, and I can say the same for the other fellows I worked with. After gaining more of an insider's view at Fullstack, I concluded that my earlier perceptions were correct: the staff prioritizes student learning above all else.

    Job Search

    As a fellow, I was able to start my job search a few weeks before leaving Fullstack. Ceren Nomer on the career success team is a total beast, and would answer my questions at all hours of the day. She helped me refine my technique for looking for suitable companies, had great suggestions for how to follow-up after various stages of the process, and was up-front and frank about how to negotiate for salary/benefits. I was hoping to get an offer at an early-stage start-up where I'd be the first junior hire on the engineering team, and that's exactly what I ended up with. I should also note that the tech stack at my new company is almost entirely in C#, a language in which I have yet to write a single line of code. This, more than anything, shows how Fullstack teaches its students to be great developers, not just code monkeys.

    Conclusion

    Hard to beat the Fullstack experience, both as a student and a fellow. If given the choice of going back in time to attend a different school, I wouldn't change a thing.

  • Best Decision Ever
    - 4/10/2017
    Steph • Software Engineer • Graduate
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    In a nutshell, best decision ever. Fullstack was everything that it is hyped up to be -- a top coding bootcamp that will teach you the skills to be a top developer. It is not watered down, the instructional quality is off the charts, the curriculum is constantly being updated to meet industry demands, I could go on... Be warned, the currriculum is tough and they only admit top candidates. It's easy to get burned out.

    I also reocommend applying for and doing the Fellowship (a 3-month internship on campus as a TA for Fullstack). It was fun and I feel like I got to relearn everything and fill in gaps that I may have had as a fresh graduate. 

    Also, the general staff is great too. Gaby, Cang, and everyone else who keeps FSA functioning like clockwork are all really awesome and professional. You can expect a minute by minute daily schedule to follow thanks to them. Chris Thieke - campus manager - is the shining gem of FSA and will have you cracking up whenever he is around. 

    I'm not without my crticisms but they are few. Could focus more on Front End testing workshops, and it's rare but sometimes students stop showing up and don't contribute to team capstones but not much is done.. Here are there some things that I thought could be done better, but overall the curriculum and outcome exceeded my expectations. 

    Final thoughts:

    1. I am happy with the decision I made to attend Fullstack, and feel that the investment was well worth it. Even my husband says that I learned in three months what took him years to learn on the job. So many doors have been opened, it is unreal.
    2. The Fullstack immersive instructors and curriculum exceeded my expectations.
    3. I entered Fullstack knowing basic JavaScript (loops, strings, arrays) and I now know how to build web apps from scratch and not just the front end. I can create a server, make API routes, and have information persist to a database. I also know how to teach myself any other framework or language. I also know how to talk about the languages and frameworks I learned intelligently. 
    4. I am prepared to enter the tech world with confidence and am confident that I can land a stellar job. My career path has been changed and I have more opportunities and options now. Companies that I never thought I had a shot at working for are reaching out to me and I'm getting 2nd and 3rd round interviews with them.
    5. You don’t have to come from a computer science background to succeed at Fullstack Academy. It’s a tough program, but well worth the effort you put in.
    6. Fullstack taught me how to think like a programmer.

     

  • Awesome Program
    - 4/9/2017
    Clément Mihailescu • Software Engineer • Graduate
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    I came into Fullstack Academy doubting that the program could bring someone with zero prior programming knowledge to the level needed to land a job in the tech field. I am thrilled to say that, roughly 7 months after having first set foot on the Fullstack Campus, I signed an offer for a Software Engineer position at Google. Fullstack Academy is, by all measures, the best investment I have made to date, and I would wholeheartedly recommend it to anybody considering it, especially those with little to no prior programming knowledge. I will note, however, that hard, consistent, and dedicated individual work is a must if you want to make the most out of the Fullstack investment. Ultimately, as with anything in life, the more work you put into the program, the greater the rewards you will reap from it.

  • Fullstack
    - 4/3/2017
    Alec • Application Developer • Graduate
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    I attended Fullstack Academy the summer immediately following my undergraduate graduation, and I am positive that it was the single best decision I could have made for my career. After attending Fullstack, I worked as a Teaching Fellow for the next cohort of students. Immediately following my fellowship, I had received a job offer and was working a full-time permanent role instantly. I am confident I would not have been able to land the position I had without Fullstack, had I tried teaching myself.

    One of Fullstack's greatest strengths is the community of growth and encouragement it fosters. The admissions process does an excellent job of vetting its candidates, and it shows. In addition to an excellent community, the instructors do an amazing job of not only teaching the students materials, but teaching students how to teach themselves. Software is a constantly changing field, where an engineer will regularly need to learn new skills and abandon dated technologies. Fullstack not only teaches the cutting edge technologies, but teaches them in a way that allows students the freedom to discover. The instructors also do a great job of making sure no one feels left behind, and offer countless assistance to those who feel like they are struggling. It is certainly not an easy program, but if you are passionate about development and willing to put in the work, you will not regret attending Fullstack.

  • 2 years later
    - 3/29/2017
    Ben • Fullstack Developer • Graduate
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    I moved to New York for Fullstack in April 2015, stayed on as a teaching fellow through the end of that year, and started contracting with a company I met through hiring day in February 2016. Shortly after, I went on full-time and have been with that company since. I’m back on coursereport because I’m now interviewing bootcamp grads and wanted some perspective of other programs.

    It’s disappointing to see some reviews of other programs indicating that students were unable to get quality help or were asked to leave so quickly after initially struggling because it reflects poorly on the bootcamp style of education in general. That said, there is a substantial range in the competence of graduates. A lot of it is due to the prior experience and work ethic of the individual before attending, but from what I’ve seen thus far, most of that range is due to the quality of the bootcamp. Awesome developers come out of a number of programs (one of our best developers is a Dev Bootcamp grad), but I sincerely believe Fullstack is a cut above. Our company, where the majority of engineers are Fullstackers, would not have been able to double its revenue in the last year if Fullstack provided a mediocre education.

    I’d like to add two impressions to what’s already been said to help answer why. 

    1. While applying to Fullstack, my interviewer made sure I left the interview knowing more than I did before - even though I had yet to be accepted or become a student. That culture of making every engagement a learning experience, and genuinely trying to do the right thing for every applicant and student has modeled how I strive to engage applicants at my current job.
    2. Fullstack does not simply teach you how to program in a javascript framework. Fullstack teaches you how to learn software development. My first project after graduating was a react native app. While react was not apart of the curriculum at the time, I was able to quickly pick it up because I understood javascript at an advanced level, and I was able to leverage my understanding of how angular provided solutions to the general requirements of an application. I knew the right questions to ask, and how to find answers to them in order to efficiently learn react. Curriculums change to match demands in the industry, and that Fullstack has successfully made the shift from Ruby to MEAN (mongoDB, express, angular, node) and now to NERDS (node, express, react, databases using SQL) demonstrates its agility. 

    As someone who had no formal education nor experience in software before Fullstack, I never had to pretend to know more than I knew in order to get a job, and I never felt I was in over my head when asked to learn something new. I ended up becoming a de facto lead developer on projects ranging from mobile apps for local startups to proof of concepts utilizing machine learning for PwC and Google. If this is what you want and it’s inside of you, Fullstack will bring it out. 

  • Migi • Graduate
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    It's been 3 years since I graduated and a lot of the stuff I was taught have formed the foundation for my career so far. I would definitely recommend FSA if you live in New York.
  • Carolyn Yoo • Software Engineer • Graduate
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    I attended Fullstack's Flex Immersive (part-time) course from January to July 2015, as part of its first cohort. It's been over a year since I've graduated (and successfully transitioned to be a fulltime software engineer!) and judging from not only my own experience but other alums/students as well, I can confidently say that Fullstack continues to be a place of excellence that strives to help its students succeed, whatever their goals may be. 

    First I want to mention it's really commendable that Fullstack has various options of attending, whether it's the Flex program or the remote immersive. I was really grateful Flex existed when I was looking to make a career switch (mainly for money/flexbility reasons). Running all of these cohorts in unison must be a logistical nightmare, but Fullstack pulls it off with high satisfaction. 

    Curriculum: Fullstack consistently iterates and improves on its product/curriculum (as all good developers do). When I attended we learned & used the MEAN stack, now it's the NERD stack. I'd advise prospective students to not be /too/ hung up on the specific technologies though - what Fullstack really teaches is the ability to pick up any technology or language and the proper methods and tools to do so effectively. Getting better at debugging and reading documentation are some of the key things I learned at Fullstack that have far longer lasting impact than specific syntax. As for Flex vs. fulltime, the curriculum was completely equal across the board, though you will most likely need to spend more time outside of class reviewing the material and/or finishing up workshops.

    People: Both instructors and staff at Fullstack are all incredibly friendly and open to help on whatever issues you may have. The hiring team is supportive and loves meeting and advising alums, even months or years after graduation/landing a job. Connections and relationships made at Fullstack are long-lasting and really strong, as proven by the latest alumni event which was bubbling with people and lots of hugging and chatter. No matter what your background, you will definitely meet your people here -- some of the most intelligent, curious, inquisitive and friendly people I know I've met at Fullstack. 

    Thank you to Fullstack for providing an amazing opportunity to productively learn development and build awesome projects -- and helping make a dreamed about career switch possible. 

  • Good Hard Work
    - 3/27/2017
    Jeff • Graduate
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    The quality of instruction at Fullstack, the continuously improving curriculum, the students' dedication to their work, the spirit of the community--it's easy to see why Fullstack is one of the top schools, if not the best. The suspiciously enthusiastic reviews are not hyperbole; it really is that fun to spend three months working and learning at full speed.

  • Michael • Software Engineer • Graduate
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    I really enjoyed my time at Fullstack - it's a really well run program on many angles and the best educational experience I've had (and I went to an ivy-league school).

    Some of my favorite things include:

    - Your cohort mates.  We got along super well and made many friends that I still meet up with quite often.

    - The curriculum.  I did a lot of online tutorials before Fullstack.  Some online tutorials are great but some really were hard to follow -out of date etc. I can tell Fullstack does a lot of work here to keep up with what's going on.

    - The fun activities - we did lots of fun things on campus besides just code.  I got really into this game called Avalon while I was there.  If you go to Fullstack, I'd definitely check it out ahead of time :)

    - Job searching - don't get me wrong - job searching is rough and difficult - but I also enjoyed seeing lots of companies, catching up with old friends about jobs and taking some time to figure out what kind of companies I liked.  Fullstack is pretty helpful - got back to me pretty quickly and was always willing to try to connect me with someone past the initial filter gatekeepers.

    tldr - being a programmer is awesome and going to Fullstack was a great way to get there!

     

  • Jeffrey Klaus • Senior Software Engineer • Graduate
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    Deciding to attend Fullstack Academy was undoubtedly the best decision I ever made. The curriculum is one of a kind and specifically tailored to give you exactly what you need to hit the ground running as a software engineer at some of the best companies in the world. I started at American Express as a software engineer and immediately contributed to architecting and developing software that is used by millions of people. I am now a Senior Engineer and I would not have been able to realize my potential without going through the Software Engineering Immersive program.

    Beyond the curriculum the staff of Fullstack is its biggest asset. They are all excellent mentors and teachers and I still keep in touch with most of them. They foster an open, accepting, and collaborative atmosphere that really makes everyone feel welcome regardless of your skill or background. For as much as I valued the programming skills I learned at fullstack, what I value more is the high quality of people that I made friends with when I was there. It is such an awesome community that continues to grow and put alumni into companies in every corner of the industry. 

    I could not recommend anything more highly choosing to attend Fullstack.

Thanks!