digitalcrafts-logo

DigitalCrafts

Atlanta, Houston, Kennesaw, Online, Seattle, Tampa

DigitalCrafts

Avg Rating:4.88 ( 212 reviews )

DigitalCrafts offers a 16-week full-time and a 26-week part-time full-stack developer bootcamp in Atlanta and Houston. DigitalCrafts' bootcamps are intensive classroom experiences, transforming beginners into full-stack software developers trained in JavaScript, React, Node.js, Python, and more. Unique to DigitalCrafts is their elective program, where students or alumni have access to a variety of workshops and presentations as an additional perk.

DigitalCrafts’ instructors are all professional engineers with years of real-world development experience. The average class size is small, allowing for an efficient and effective learning environment where students "learn by building." In addition, students receive resume/portfolio guidance and a mock interview lesson. The admissions process consists of an online application, interview, and coding challenge. Financing and scholarships are available, and early enrollment incentives can further lower tuition for students.

Recent DigitalCrafts Reviews: Rating 4.88

all (212) reviews for DigitalCrafts →

Recent DigitalCrafts News

Read all (31) articles about DigitalCrafts →
  • DigitalCrafts Full Stack Flex (Part-Time)

    Apply
    HTML, Git, JavaScript, jQuery, CSS, Express.js, React.js, Linux, Algorithms, Node.js, Front End, Scrum, Agile, REST, SQL
    In PersonPart Time10 Hours/week26 Weeks
    Start Date None scheduled
    Cost$9,950
    Class size24
    LocationHouston, Atlanta
    The 26-Week Full Stack Flex Program is the part-time version of our Full Stack Immersive Program, designed for working professionals, entrepreneurs, and students who prefer longer but more flexible class formats. This remote-enabled class takes place in the evenings and on Saturdays. Much like our Immersive Program, Flex students learn the ins-and-outs of both front-end and back-end web development, graduating with professional portfolios featuring full stack projects built with the technologies employers are seeking today. Our curriculum features Javascript, React, Node.js & the NERP stack, some of the most cutting-edge technologies around. These technologies are being used at companies like Google, LinkedIn, Netflix, Walmart, and PayPal. Our curriculum is proven and our alumni have gone on to work for companies like LinkedIn, Slack, Facebook, Home Depot, Cox Communications, New York Times, and more. PS - Our Kennesaw campus is launched in partnership with Kennesaw State University.
    Financing
    Deposit$250 (deposit eligible for financing)
    Financing
    Finance tuition (including your deposit) with Sallie Mae. For more information on tuition click here.
    Tuition PlansStudents may pay upfront, setup a payment plan, or finance tuition through Sallie Mae.
    Refund / GuaranteeSecure your seat early for additional discounts.
    ScholarshipWomen will automatically receive a scholarship to attend our Immersive or Flex programs. If you do not qualify, we also sponsor The Builder Scholarship awarded to applicants with inspiring stories and goals.
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelBeginner or Intermediate
    Prep WorkPre-requisite work will be provided.
    Placement TestYes
    InterviewYes
  • DigitalCrafts Full Stack Immersive (Full-Time)

    Apply
    HTML, Git, JavaScript, jQuery, CSS, Express.js, React.js, Data Structures, Algorithms, Node.js, Front End, SQL, Python
    In PersonFull Time35 Hours/week16 Weeks
    Start Date August 17, 2020
    Cost$14,950
    Class size24
    LocationHouston, Atlanta
    This 16-week intensive program is for beginners and CS graduates alike. Students will learn the ins and outs of front-end and back-end web development, as the class moves through HTML, CSS, JavaScript, SQL databases, Node.js, React.js, Python, and more. Javascript, Node.js & the NERP stack encompass some of the most cutting-edge technologies today and are being used at companies like Google, LinkedIn, Netflix, Walmart, and PayPal. Python is an in-demand and versatile programming language widely used in both software development (Instagram, for example) & the ever-growing field of data analytics. Our curriculum is proven and our graduates have been hired at great companies like Home Depot, New York Times, Car & Driver, LiveAction, Soltech, Market America, Kredible, Piksel, Greater Sum, Narwhal Digital, RiskAlyze, Army of Bees, BridalLive, Liaison Technologies, and more.
    Financing
    Deposit$250 (eligible for financing)
    Financing
    Finance tuition (including your deposit) with Sallie Mae. For more information on tuition click here.
    Tuition PlansStudents may pay upfront, finance tuition through Sallie Mae, or enroll in an income share agreement.
    Refund / GuaranteeSecure your seat early for additional discounts.
    ScholarshipWomen will automatically receive a scholarship to attend our Immersive or Flex programs. If you do not qualify, we also sponsor The Builder Scholarship awarded to applicants with inspiring stories and goals.
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelBeginner or Intermediate
    Prep WorkPre-requisite work will be provided.
    Placement TestYes
    InterviewYes
    More Start Dates
    August 17, 2020 - Atlanta
    October 19, 2020 - Atlanta
    August 17, 2020 - Houston
    October 19, 2020 - Houston
  • DigitalCrafts Online Full Stack Flex (Part-Time)

    Apply
    HTML, Git, JavaScript, jQuery, CSS, Express.js, React.js, Data Structures, Algorithms, Node.js, Front End, MVC, Agile, SQL
    In PersonPart Time10 Hours/week26 Weeks
    Start Date July 7, 2020
    Cost$9,950
    Class sizeN/A
    LocationOnline
    Delivered remotely, the 26-Week Online Full Stack Flex Program is the part-time version of our Online Full Stack Immersive Program, designed for working professionals, entrepreneurs, and students who prefer longer but more flexible class formats. This remote-enabled class takes place in the evenings and on Saturdays. Much like our Immersive Program, Flex students learn the ins-and-outs of both front-end and back-end web development, graduating with professional portfolios featuring full stack projects built with the technologies employers are seeking today. Our curriculum features Javascript, React, Node.js & the NERP stack, some of the most cutting-edge technologies around. These technologies are being used at companies like Google, LinkedIn, Netflix, Walmart, and PayPal. Our curriculum is proven and our alumni have gone on to work for companies like LinkedIn, Slack, Facebook, Home Depot, Cox Communications, New York Times, and more.
    Financing
    Deposit$250 (deposit eligible for financing)
    Financing
    Finance tuition (including your deposit) with Sallie Mae. For more information on tuition click here.
    Tuition PlansStudents may pay upfront, setup a payment plan, or finance tuition through Sallie Mae.
    Refund / GuaranteeSecure your seat early for additional discounts.
    ScholarshipWomen will automatically receive a scholarship to attend our Immersive or Flex programs. If you do not qualify, we also sponsor The Builder Scholarship awarded to applicants with inspiring stories and goals.
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelBeginner or Intermediate
    Prep WorkPre-requisite work will be provided.
    Placement TestYes
    InterviewYes
    More Start Dates
    July 7, 2020 - Online
  • DigitalCrafts Online Full Stack Immersive (Full-Time)

    Apply
    Start Date June 29, 2020
    Cost$14,950
    Class sizeN/A
    LocationOnline
    Delivered remotely, this 16-week intensive program is for beginners and CS graduates alike. Students will learn the ins and outs of front-end and back-end web development, as the class moves through HTML, CSS, JavaScript, SQL databases, Node.js, React.js, Python, and more. Javascript, Node.js & the NERP stack encompass some of the most cutting-edge technologies today and are being used at companies like Google, LinkedIn, Netflix, Walmart, and PayPal. Python is an in-demand and versatile programming language widely used in both software development (Instagram, for example) & the ever-growing field of data analytics. Our curriculum is proven and our graduates have been hired at great companies like Home Depot, New York Times, Car & Driver, LiveAction, Soltech, Market America, Kredible, Piksel, Greater Sum, Narwhal Digital, RiskAlyze, Army of Bees, BridalLive, Liaison Technologies, and more.
    Financing
    Deposit$250 (eligible for financing)
    Financing
    Finance tuition (including your deposit) with Sallie Mae. For more information on tuition click here.
    Tuition PlansStudents may pay upfront or finance tuition through Sallie Mae
    Refund / GuaranteeSecure your seat early for additional discounts.
    ScholarshipWomen will automatically receive a scholarship to attend our Immersive or Flex programs. If you do not qualify, we also sponsor The Builder Scholarship awarded to applicants with inspiring stories and goals.
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelBeginner or Intermediate
    Prep WorkPre-requisite work will be provided.
    Placement TestYes
    InterviewYes
    More Start Dates
    June 29, 2020 - Online
    September 8, 2020 - Online
  • WWU Full Stack Flex (Part-Time)

    Apply
    HTML, Git, JavaScript, jQuery, CSS, Express.js, React.js, Linux, Data Structures, Algorithms, Node.js, Front End, Scrum, MVC, Agile, REST, SQL
    In PersonPart Time10 Hours/week26 Weeks
    Start Date September 29, 2020
    Cost$11,950
    Class size30
    LocationSeattle
    Powered by DigitalCrafts, the Western Washington University's 26-Week Full Stack Flex Program is a part-time coding bootcamp program designed for working professionals, entrepreneurs, and individuals who prefer longer but more flexible class hours. This remote-enabled class takes place in the evenings and on Saturdays. Flex students learn the ins-and-outs of both front-end and back-end web development, graduating with professional portfolios featuring full stack projects built with the technologies employers are seeking today. Our curriculum features Javascript, React, Node.js & PostgreSQL, some of the most cutting-edge technologies around. These technologies are being used at companies like Google, LinkedIn, Netflix, Walmart, and PayPal. The DigitalCrafts' curriculum is proven and their alumni have gone on to work for companies like LinkedIn, Slack, Facebook, New York Times, Home Depot, Chick-fil-A, and more.
    Financing
    Deposit$250 (deposit eligible for financing)
    Financing
    Finance tuition (including your deposit) with Sallie Mae.
    Tuition PlansStudents may pay upfront, setup a payment plan, or finance tuition through Sallie Mae.
    Refund / GuaranteeSecure your seat early for additional discounts.
    ScholarshipWomen & WWU staff, faculty and students will automatically receive a $1,000 scholarship to attend the Flex program
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelBeginner or Intermediate
    Prep WorkPre-requisite work will be provided.
    Placement TestYes
    InterviewYes
    More Start Dates
    September 29, 2020 - Seattle

Shared Review

  • Worth the money
    - 3/13/2020
    Joseph  User Photo
    Joseph • Graduate Verified via GitHub
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    I attended DigitalCrafts full-time immersive program from November 2019 to March 2020. I came into the course with very little development background (could use Excel macros), and leave it with the ability to work frontend, backend, full-stack, etc. I feel very excited about my job prospects and opportunities coming from the program.

    The instructor I had was honestly the best teacher I've ever had. They do an incredible job of breaking down a mountain of knowledge into just small tidbits, and I wish that my entire schooling career had been more like my time here. The skills they teach you are definitely in high demand, and DigitalCrafts is constantly asking for and getting feedback and changing the curriculum around that feedback from alumni, employers in the area, and current students.

    The decision to go to DigitalCrafts to learn web development is probably one of the best decisions I've ever made.
  • Eddie  User Photo
    Eddie • Software Engineer • Graduate • Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    I graduated from DigitalCrafts over 2 years ago. My web development position was put on hold indefinitely as a result of the pandemic, and I reached out to Jake (CEO/Co-Founder) and Angela (Career Advisor). Within a day, I had multiple interviews, and a week later, I accepted a new position! I strongly recommend this program to anyone of any background.
  • Sean Page  User Photo
    Sean Page • Software Developer • Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    As I write this, it has been 2 weeks since I completed the full-time onsite DigitalCrafts Full-Stack Immersion program so I am still in the process of reflecting on my experiences but I’ll do my best to share my current thoughts.  I recommend doing a lot of research and reading several reviews before committing to a boot camp or other educational platform so that you ensure you’ll get the most out of the learning experience. 

    Tuition 

    While software developer boot camps cost can vary widely, DigitalCrafts Full-Stack Immersion program seems to be competitive with other boot camps that are full-time. I attended the Houston, TX onsite program which had the benefit of an instructor, a couple of classroom DiRs (Developer in Residences who assisted the instructor and students) and I got to learn along with classmates from many different backgrounds. 

    Veterans 

    For military veterans, the VA has approved DigitalCrafts for VET TEC.  VET TEC is a government program that funds veteran job training in technology fields.  VET TEC does not subtract from your GI BILL but you are required to be GI Bill eligible to qualify for the VET TEC program. VET TEC covers the cost of tuition plus allots the veteran a monthly stipend for housing during the course of the program. Check out this link to learn more about VET TEC https://www.va.gov/education/about-gi-bill-benefits/how-to-use-benefits/vettec-high-tech-program/

    Instructors 

    Each class has a dedicated instructor who will be with you throughout your boot camp. The DiRs are former Digital Craft graduates who are very knowledgeable, helpful and understand what it means to go through a boot camp so their assistance is inviable to the classroom.  My instructor Veronica is a former NASA engineer who has many years of being a software developer which allows her to draw upon her experiences. She is also able to speak about how coding is always evolving. She goes above and beyond when it comes to helping her students set themselves up for not only classroom success but for real-world success as well. She covers the course requirements but also covers material that will help you stand out among other new software developer job seekers.       

    Learning Environment 

    If you’ve never heard of the expression, “It is like drinking from a fire hydrant.” well you have now and that is what Digital Crafts Full-Stack Immersion program is like. It is a boot camp in every sense of the word.  You will wake up with coding on the mind, spend the day learning and practicing coding fundamentals, your evenings & weekends will be filled with coding homework, going over notes, rewrite notes, watching coding videos, speaking with your classmates, etc. 

    I thought I knew what I was getting myself into but “Oh My God!” it was that and then some.  I know everyone's experiences will be different, but for me almost every moment of every day for the entire 16-week course I was consumed by coding.  With hindsight, I would have come into the course better prepared. There are lots of good free and low-cost coding tutorials and courses online. Being exposed to basic Command Line, Git/GitHub, Python, and JavaScript concepts would have been a saving grace because the immersion program covers a lot of information in a very short amount of time and all that information builds upon itself.  It is like being thrown in the deep part of the pool.  Sure, there are lifeguards around but having floaties on and the ability to doggie paddle are nice backups to have. 

    Learning Onsite (The Cannon Campus) vs Learning Online 

    My class cohort started in early January so we got the benefit of starting out in classrooms which for those who like to learn in person like myself, was great. 

    Having access to the teachers, aides, and staff in real-time is really nice. Being able to get to know your classmates in a classroom environment is something that is hard to duplicate with an online-only class. A typical DigitalCrafts day started at 9 am and ended at 4 pm. The days themselves were a mix of lecture, note-taking, coding along with the instructor on your laptop, practical application, individual and team projects, along with an hour lunch break and several small breaks throughout the day. 

    The campus on which DigitalCrafts is located is made up of several businesses. The main building where the classrooms are located in Houston is called The Cannon https://thecannon.com/. If you’re like me and pictured working in a place that is made up of collaborative workspaces, glass-walled offices, gaming areas, free food and drink, and overall has a cool innovative feel to it, well my friend The Cannon is the place to be.  An amazing bonus of our classrooms being located at The Cannon is that you get exposed to companies who are either based out of The Cannon or have satellite offices located there.  These companies are known to hire DigitalCrafts alumni, some of which got offers before they even completed the immersion course.  

    Once the Covid-19 pandemic occurred, DigitalCrafts switched our onsite learning to online learning. While this took several days for everyone to adjust, in the end, it worked out well. Why I personally think that the biggest advantages that DigitalCrafts has over other boot camps are its instructors, DiRs, students being able to learn in a classroom and being exposed daily to companies who need software developers, overall DigitalCrafts adjusted well to a situation that no one anticipated needing to make when the class original started.  

    Course Work 

    As a reminder, I’m very new to coding but DigitalCrafts curriculum seems to be pretty well thought out and it looks to cover the popular software that companies, where DigitalCrafts are located, are looking for when bringing in new software developers.  

    I researched several boot camps in my area and they all seem to have a slightly different mix of software being covered. I highly recommend that you do your research to make sure you are learning something that will be useful in the present and future job markets. 

    Areas To Improve Upon 

    This could be something that DigitalCrafts is in the process of working on since everyone had to adjust to the new Covid-19 world that we all find ourselves in but DigitalCrafts need more video content that students can reference. Once an instructor has covered a topic, a pre-recorded, edited version of that day’s topics, with resource links, zip files, etc... should be easily accessible to the student. While I feel that nothing can truly replace an actual instructor that students can learn from in real time, resources like these would be extremely helpful for students to refer to over lunch breaks, after school hours, on weekends, etc. 

    “It’s not a race” is something that I thought of often while sitting in class as information was being disseminated at my classmates and me at what felt like ludicrous speed. While there is a lot of information to be covered in a relatively short amount of time, going at a pace where students know that there will be pausing for note-taking, troubleshooting, etc... will lessen the likely hood that students have to battle between note-taking (and possibly getting behind on what the instructor is coding), following along with the code (and getting behind on note-taking) or troubleshooting a random error (and falling behind on both note-taking and whatever the instructor is covering). Students need notes to refer to later. They also need to follow along with the lecture and code that is being presented. Allowing students time to do both helps everyone.  Students will absorb information better and instructors will spend less time reteaching information that was already covered. 

    Final Thoughts 

    I recommend attending DigitalCrafts Full-Stack Immersion program. The instructors are knowable, they care about the well being of their students and want them to be successful.  The information being covered is UpToDate and in demand. The tuition is reasonable when compared to other full-time full-stack programs. The office staff is active and works for your success. The alumni are extremely active and the school is all about networking and leveraging those connections when it comes to getting you exposed to companies that are hiring. DigitalCrafts seems to be willing to adapt so that it is offering prospective, current, and former students a product that has great value. If you prepare yourself for the workload, don’t give up no matter what and be willing to learn, you will make it through the immersion program.  Companies value DigitalCrafts students as evident by how many former DigitalCrafts students are current software developers and engineers.  

    I hope this writeup and review helps. Feel free to reach out to me if you have any questions about what it was like going to DigitalCrafts. Stay learning, flexible in thought, and Semper Fi! 

    Sean - 
  • Alex Fisher  User Photo
    Alex Fisher • Graduate • Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    Let me start off by saying that everything you read online about bootcamps comes from personal experiences and does not reflect your experience. 

    This is my experience with DigitalCrafts in Houston.

    I came from the business world where you have to always be 2 steps ahead. Development requires extensive attention to detail and you always have to be in the now. Veronica our instructor taught us to not only code as developers but to think, act and reason as developers. 

    All of the DigitalCrafts staff are here for the students and the connections that are built between current students, alumni and the staff is far better than I've seen in other sectors. The instructors are all professionals. There was never a moment that I felt I couldn't ask a question from an instructor even if they had no affiliation with my cohort. Josh helped my team on our capstone project extensively ,as we developed with Angular and that is his area of expertise. However, there are only a certain few individuals that we cross paths with that make an impression on us that lasts forever . Veronica is one of the few for me. So if you're looking to start .. wait for her. (My only bias statement). 

    I've had mentors, professors and bosses who I learned from and to this day use those lessons in my everyday life. Veronica leaves no rock unturned no question unanswered. From the moment you walk into that classroom nervous and anxious on day one she accepts you for who you are and you are her child until the moment you graduate where she has to let you spread your wings and roam free because she knows that your able to succeed.

    My class started in the classroom but ended in quarentine. I will say that it is much harder to learn online than it is in class. Not only do you feel like a programmer in class. DC in The Cannon make you feel like you're on the set of silicon Valley. Between all the start up, the complimentary redbulls and lunches. It definitely feels different from other careers. 

    The experience is incredible,  the work is hard but nothing worth while is easy. 

    Digital Crafts will not make you the next Zuckerberg, You will still be you. What DC will do for you is help you build a foundation of knowledge that you can build on top of to be the next BEST YOU.

    Thank you DC 
  • Karley  User Photo
    Karley • Graduate Verified via GitHub
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    DigitalCrafts helped me make a career change, and while it was a tough journey, the staff there helped to guide me in the right direction (whether that be a debug issue, career advice, new tech, industry experience, etc.).  They will not teach you everything and you will need to put in work (either in class or after) to really get the concepts, but if you put in the effort, you will absolutely come out the other end a qualified junior developer.  It's the classic trope of you only get out what you put in.

    Additional note: my immersive class had to go remote about halfway through the course due to COVID-19 but I commend the DigitalCrafts team for how they handled the situation.  The staff and instructor quickly and professionally adjusted the typical in-class plan, and the course was able to continue as close to normal as it could have!
  • My advice...
    - 3/22/2020
    JB Wilson  User Photo
    JB Wilson • Full Stack Software Developer • Student • Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    Before I write this review, I just want to say that the best way to get an unbiased opinion about a bootcamp is to go to LinkedIn and connect with current students and graduates of that bootcamp. Once connected, you can ask them first hand how their experience was. I did this for the top three bootcamps in Houston (according to Course Report), and is why I ultimately decided to go with DigitalCrafts. The current students and graduates that I chatted with at that time (about five months ago), all had mostly positive things to say about this bootcamp, it's instructors, and the curriculum. 
    So basically, it's VERY important to talk to actual STUDENTS because a campus director or enrollment coordinator of any bootcamp obviously will never say anything bad about their own bootcamp.

    With that out of the way, here are the main take-aways from MY experience with DigitalCrafts...

    • I received two job offers prior to graduation. I accepted one, and I've been working with them about a week now.
    • My instructor was very well-known in the coding community, was a great instructor, and has a ton of Udemy courses.
    • DigitalCrafts is located at The Cannon, a totally awesome startup community in a very new building. A lot of DigitalCrafts students (myself included) find jobs at startups there.
    • The course material focuses on the PERN stack. While these are very marketable technologies to learn, they're not necessarily very marketable in Houston if you want to work for a bigger and/or older company. Most big companies here use .NET. The PERN stack is pretty popular with startups here in Houston though, and many companies on the West Coast. Also, PERN stack is becoming more and more popular for companies to use and therefore there's a strong argument to be made for learning it as soon as possible.
    • Despite the above point, I know a few former students who got jobs with big companies that use .NET because they convinced the hiring manager that they were trainable.
    • The course can get pretty tough. I recommend coding as much as you can before starting, and not just doing tutorials. 
    • There is no job guarantee, but there doesn't need to be one honestly. Generally, the job market is hot for programmers right now and that doesn't seem like it's going to change any time soon. If someone doesn't get a tech job within six months after graduating, chances are it's because they gave up on the dream.
  • Excellent
    - 3/20/2020
    Patrick E  User Photo
    Patrick E • Full Stack Developer • Graduate • Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    I'm very happy with what I learned and I enjoyed the time I spent enrolled in DigitalCrafts.
    A typical day went like this: when class starts, we continued working on whatever we started the day before. Then there was a code-along, lunch, and finally exercises based on that day's topics. That was most days except when we were doing projects--then the whole day was spent on the project.
    My instructor was Chris. He and his assistants did an excellent job. Where they really shined was making things that may be unintuitive make sense.
    The staff and instructors were really great, and they will go above and beyond to make sure you're getting what you need (Chris, if you're reading this, I still have the thumb drive you lent me and I'll give it back as soon as I find it).
    It was great overall and I'd choose them again.
  • Aylor  User Photo
    Aylor • Graduate Verified via GitHub
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    N/A
    Enrolling in DigitalCrafts Full Stack Immersive program is one of the best decisions I ever made. I came into the program with some frontend knowledge and an eagerness to become a web developer. The instructor was one of the best I have had. Chris is an empathetic teacher who breaks down challenging concepts in ways beginners can understand. The curriculum is current, challenging and reflects the  job market. 

    You will get a lot out of this program the more you put in. I supplemented my studies with online courses like Codecademy and SuperHi, listened to podcasts, created assignments for myself, and read some thick programming books.

    DigitalCrafts is located in Atlanta Tech Village so there is an exciting energy when you go in every morning. There are lots of events, local meetups, and resources available as a member of the building.
  • Web Developer
    - 3/13/2020
    Veronica Kemp  User Photo
    Veronica Kemp • Graduate • Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    Over 16 weeks I went from bartender to a full stack developer. It was intense, indepth, and challenging, but completely worth it.
  • DC Review
    - 2/17/2020
    Nep Orshiso  User Photo
    Nep Orshiso • Junior Software Engineer • Graduate • Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    TL;DR
    I was working in financial services in Kansas City and wanted to not only move to Atlanta for personal reasons and also wanted to switch careers into technology. I went to DigitalCrafts in August 2019 for the Full-Time Immersive Program and graduated in December 2019. I started work at an investment management firm in February 2020 as a Junior Software Engineer.

    My Background
    • Studied Finance and Marketing in college
    • Took 1 Python programming class in college. Never used it during my career.
    • Was working in financial services prior to DC
    • From Kansas City

    Pros
    • Collaborative Environment
      • Made great connections with some of the other students who I've stayed in contact with after the end of the program
      • Students help other students succeed. I've either helped others when they were stuck or someone would come over to help me when I got stuck. This happened all the time. People were willing to give their time to solve issues and it was great.
    • Worked in several teams to deliver a variety of projects. Projects that later were on my resume.
    • Work with tools that are used in the "real-world"
      • VSCode, Git, AWS, Terminal
    • Exposure to Cloud Infrastructure
      • Really got to benefit from being walked through how to spin up our own EC2 Instances on AWS to self-host our projects. Great first-time exposure to cloud technologies
    • Work with Python, get a foundation in HTML/CSS/Vanilla or "Plain" JavaScript before moving to React
    • I appreciated the career week time to focus on building up my resume and portfolio and also being able to get that reviewed by the career services team.

    Cons
    • One suggestion would be to have more exposure to working on and refactoring code someone else had written. In most exercises, a student is creating something from scratch or a base template. It would be neat to have exercises around a project that has already been built where we had to make modifications to it.

    Tips to a new student
    • One of the things DC Staff told us near the beginning was that we would get out of the experience what we put in. Don't passively consume the information. It really helps to try and do some digging on your own, make mistakes, and then ask for help to get pulled up. I've personally learned so much from making silly mistakes I made on my own and after trying to figure things out, going to an instructor who can guide me to the right direction.
    • Listen to software podcasts that give you a real-time pulse of the industry and some of the technologies that are being used today
    • Ask Questions, be curious, try to boil concepts down and re-state them in your own words
    • There will be a lot of information thrown at you. Don't get overwhelmed by trying to memorize and remember everything. No one can memorize everything and it's perfectly okay to Google and search for answers.
    • Please take career week seriously. Get your resume and portfolio created and deployed somewhere during career week. Don't wait.

    Last thoughts
    • DC helped me get to where I wanted to go and was an integral part of helping me switch careers. I now work as a full-time software engineer in Atlanta. I would recommend the program to any one who is willing to put in the time to learn. The class went by so quickly and I had a lot of fun.


  • Sherri Booher  User Photo
    Sherri Booher • Software Developer I • Graduate • Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    TLDR:  DigitalCrafts is the top-rated bootcamp in Atlanta for a reason. After my very positive experience there, I would not hesitate to recommend their Full Stack Flex Program for anyone looking for a way to level up their software engineering knowledge and skills.

    INTRODUCTION:  When I began looking into bootcamps, I knew that I needed to find one that met several criteria. First, and foremost, it had to be a part-time program, because I have to work full time to support my family (a 15 year old needs all. the. things!) I also needed a bootcamp that offered an in-person option, as I tried several online "teach yourself to code" courses over a timeframe of several years and realized that I definitely needed a more structured experience in order to learn the curriculum. Ratings and reviews were also equally important, and, as it turned out, were probably my deciding factor. Finally, I needed a bootcamp program that would not cost a small fortune, and if financial help was needed, one that offered financial aid options. After going back and forth between several different bootcamp options, most specifically DigitalCrafts, Thinkful, and Hack Reactor, I chose to enroll in DigitalCrafts (Atlanta) Full Stack Flex Program for the April 2019 cohort.

    THE GOOD:
     My experience at DigitalCrafts was fantastic. I spent 26 weeks (Tuesday and Thursday nights, and Saturday mornings) with my fellow classmates learning all about HTML, CSS, JavaScript, Node.js, Express, Sequelize, PostgreSQL, React, and so much more. Our instructors, Lachlan H. and Aubrey R., were fantastic, and our DIRs (Directors in Residence) weren't so shabby either (HUGE SHOUT OUT to Ron C. and Jordan M. for giving so freely of their time, even when they weren't on the clock). Help was never more than one Slack chat away. My fellow classmates became like family to me, and we helped each other along the way, and even shared a few tears together when it was all over. Those 26 weeks of blood, sweat, tears, and "just one more line of code!" were all worth it. The career services offered by DigitalCrafts before and after graduation are second to none in the bootcamp industry. The career guidance counselors constantly provided us with resources, including mock interviews, resume reviews, and portfolio advice.

    THE NOT SO GOOD:  If I could suggest a few improvements for DigitalCrafts' Full Stack Flex Program, it would be more data structure and algorithm lessons at the beginning of the JavaScript portion of the course, as well as more opportunities for "whiteboarding." And by "whiteboarding," I mean like the problem solving on a whiteboard one would expect to find during a job interview. In my post-bootcamp job interviews, I've had to attempt "whiteboarding", and didn't do so well. I know this isn't the sort of knowledge/skill that one can just pick up and run with without a lot of practice, but I feel that had DigitalCrafts provided more chances for the part-time students to gain experience with this, I might have been more confident going into my job interviews. (It is my understanding that the Immersive course students had a lot of additional opportunities to practice "whiteboarding," but that could just be based on an instructor's preference for providing that to his/her students).

    PS: Jake, Liz, Tasha, Angela, Lachlan, Aubrey, Ron, and Jordan, if you guys are reading this, thank you from the very bottom of my heart for transforming my life into something amazing. It has been my pleasure getting to know all of you on a personal level!
  • Gustavo Fette  User Photo
    Gustavo Fette • UNIX administrator • Graduate Verified via GitHub
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    N/A

    I just finished my SRE bootcamp and I am very happy I took it. I did not know much of git, python, APIs, etc. before taking this training and although I am not yet a so called "programmer", I feel more comfortable with the tools we learned. The format of the training and the facilitators were just great, the zoom is a nice tool and we could take this training from everywhere. Veronica was a highly skilled professor, you can tell she is capable in many aspecs of the full stack velelopment, she's also very good at teaching. I definitely recomend DigitalCrafts and its trainings.

  • Donald Yeh  User Photo
    Donald Yeh • Graduate • Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    I had been trying to learn how to code for a few years before deciding to enroll at DigitalCrafts and I’m so glad that I did. It’s one of the best decisions that I’ve ever made!  I learned so many invaluable skills and lessons during my time at the bootcamp that I missed out on while learning to code on my own.  The curriculum was challenging and the group work fostered an environment for collaborative learning and growth. Throughout the course, we did a lot of pair programming and  were required to build projects in small teams. It was a great opportunity to work in teams, resolve conflicts and to learn to use git version control effectively.

    You really only get out what you put. Expect to put in some serious time outside of class studying and coding. After all the blood, sweat, tears, and coffee…you will come out of the bootcamp with the knowledge and support to land your first coding job. You’ll also come away with some pretty great friends too!

    My only regret is not taking the bootcamp earlier. I would definitely recommend DigitalCrafts to any friends looking to transition into a  career in coding.

DigitalCrafts Outcomes

* These outcomes are not audited by Course Report. In some cases, data is audited by a third party.


84%
Graduation Rate
85%
Employed
$60,000
Median Salary

Of the students who enroll at DigitalCrafts, 84% graduated. 85% of graduates were job-seeking and 85% of job-seeking graduates found in-field employment after 180 days and report a median income of $60,000. Below is the 180 Day Employment Breakdown for 116 graduates included in this report:

180 Day Employment Breakdown:

Full Time, In-Field Employee
69.8%
Full-time apprenticeship, internship or contract position
15.5%
Short-term contract, part-time position, freelance
0.0%
Employed out-of-field
0.9%

Notes & Caveats:

Outcomes include only students in the Full Stack Immersive program. See our audited Student Outcomes Report, which differs slightly from Course Report's approach for detailed reporting.

Note: Apprenticeships, internships and contract roles counted as a single pool. We do not have data regarding short-term, part-time or freelance employment.

Thanks!