devpoint-labs-logo

DevPoint Labs

Las Vegas, Provo, Salt Lake City

DevPoint Labs

Avg Rating:4.87 ( 127 reviews )

DevPoint Labs teaches 11-week full-time and 11-week part-time full stack web development coding bootcamps in Salt Lake City, Utah, and Las Vegas, Nevada. The full-time class is part of the University of Utah Professional Education school, and covers HTML, CSS, Ruby on Rails, SQL, JavaScript, React, Redux, and more. The part-time class is available at the DevPoint Labs Salt Lake City campus and at the University of Nevada, and covers a very similar curriculum. DevPoint Labs' approach to learning combines pair programming with traditional lectures and a mix of group projects, lean methodologies, hackathons and one-on-one mentorship from instructors.

DevPoint Labs is aimed at students with little to moderate experience in web development. To apply, candidates fill out the short application on the website, then chat with a staff member about their motivations. Once accepted students will need to complete pre-work before the first day of class.

Leading up to graduation, DevPoint Labs prepares students for finding a job with mock interviews, workshops, guest speakers, and a Launch Day to showcase their projects to potential employers. Full-time students at the University of Utah Professional Education program will receive a completion certificate. Part-time students at the University of Nevada will receive a UNLV Continuing Education certificate.

DevPoint Labs offers student housing to all out-of-state students on a first come, first serve basis. The house is located less than a mile from the campus, and comes furnished with all utilities paid for the duration of the camp.

Recent DevPoint Labs Reviews: Rating 4.87

all (127) reviews for DevPoint Labs →

Recent DevPoint Labs News

Read all (25) articles about DevPoint Labs →
  • Part-time Web Development

    Apply
    MongoDB, HTML, Git, JavaScript, jQuery, CSS, Express.js, React.js, Node.js, Front End
    In PersonPart Time9 Hours/week12 Weeks
    Start Date None scheduled
    Cost$5,000
    Class size20
    LocationSalt Lake City
    This course puts a heavy focus on JavaScript, React, and front-end web development. We are one of the nation's highest reviewed program in accelerated web development with emphasis in the most desired and growing skills like javascript, react.js, git, mongodb, react native and more in web development. Even though the course is part-time, the pace is rigorous (bootcamp for a reason) and only for the motivated individuals that wants to gain skills that will add value to their career and life. Our campus is at Church & State co-working, a collaborative environment for students to get their CODE ON before and after class. Taught by industry experts, you'll learn from passionate instructors co-instructors, and TA's who are contributors & leaders in the development community. DevPoint Labs is unmatched in the nation when it comes to student experience, value, community, and advanced curriculum.
    Financing
    Deposit$1,000
    Financing
    Student loans available through: Mountain America Credit Union
    ScholarshipWomen In Tech Scholarship & Opportunity in Tech Scholarship
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelBasic computer knowledge
    Prep WorkYes, required.
    Placement TestNo
    InterviewYes
  • UNLV Part-time Web Development Coding Bootcamp

    Apply
    MongoDB, HTML, Git, PHP, JavaScript, SQL, Sinatra, Xcode, jQuery, Rails, CSS, Express.js, React.js, Front End, Ruby, MVC, Agile
    In PersonPart Time10 Hours/week24 Weeks
    Start Date None scheduled
    Cost$12,000
    Class size21
    LocationLas Vegas
    Partnered with University of Nevada, Las Vegas - DevPoint Labs is powering a part-time web development coding bootcamp. This 24-week program is geared towards working individuals with a flexible schedule of nights and weekends. Learn from one of the top coding programs in the nation in the latest web development technologies and tools. Curated curriculum will cover full-stack web development.
    Financing
    Deposit$1,000
    Financing
    Student Loans through MACU
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelN/A
    Prep WorkYes, required.
    Placement TestNo
    InterviewYes
  • U of U ProEd Full-time Web Development

    Apply
    MySQL, HTML, Git, JavaScript, SQL, Sinatra, jQuery, Rails, CSS, React.js, Node.js, Ruby
    In PersonFull Time40 Hours/week11 Weeks
    Start Date Rolling Start Date
    Cost$9,995
    Class size25
    LocationSalt Lake City
    In today's digital economy, coding skills are the most demanded across all types of careers and professions. Forbes and LinkedIn noted that those with full-stack web development skills dominate the pay scale and employer desirability. University of Utah Professional Education is excited to bring our students a full-time Web Development Certificate Program, powered by DevPoint Labs. DevPoint Labs was founded by University of Utah graduates as the first full-stack web development program in the state. This course will be held at the DevPoint Lab's Campus in downtown Salt Lake City, located in Church & State Co-working. This full-time, intensive program creates proficiency in back-end and front-end web development through hands on training. Learn multiple programming languages and programs centered around web development like HTML, CSS, Ruby on Rails, JavaScript, ReactJS, React Native, Git and more. https://devpointlabs.continue.utah.edu
    Financing
    Deposit$1,000
    Financing
    Student loans available through: Mountain America Credit Union
    ScholarshipWomen In Tech & Opportunity In Tech Scholarships available.
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelBasic computer knowledge GED or Equivalent
    Prep WorkYes, required.
    Placement TestNo
    InterviewYes
  • User Experience Design

    Apply
    HTML, User Experience Design, CSS
    In PersonPart Time9 Hours/week7 Weeks
    Start Date None scheduled
    Cost$3,500
    Class size12
    LocationSalt Lake City
    *THIS COURSE IS CURRENTLY NOT OFFERED* Being able to express design ideas by utilizing sitemaps, user flows, and wireframes is a skill that is in increasingly high demand, and a requirement for any serious career in interactive design or product management. In this course, you’ll receive knowledge and skills in topics like: how to analyze business and usability requirements from a user perspective, drawing solutions with Sketch and best practices for common design patterns such as home pages, forms, search and navigation.
    Financing
    Deposit$1,000
    Financing
    Student loans available through: Mountain America Credit Union


    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelBasic computer knowledge & some design experience.
    Prep WorkYes
    Placement TestNo
    InterviewYes

Review Guidelines

  • Only Applicants, Students, and Graduates are permitted to leave reviews on Course Report.
  • Post clear, valuable, and honest information that will be useful and informative to future coding bootcampers. Think about what your bootcamp excelled at and what might have been better.
  • Be nice to others; don't attack others.
  • Use good grammar and check your spelling.
  • Don't post reviews on behalf of other students or impersonate any person, or falsely state or otherwise misrepresent your affiliation with a person or entity.
  • Don't spam or post fake reviews intended to boost or lower ratings.
  • Don't post or link to content that is sexually explicit.
  • Don't post or link to content that is abusive or hateful or threatens or harasses others.
  • Please do not submit duplicate or multiple reviews. These will be deleted. Email moderators to revise a review or click the link in the email you receive when submitting a review.
  • Please note that we reserve the right to review and remove commentary that violates our policies.
You must log in to submit a review.

Click here to log in or sign up and continue.

Hey there! As of 11/1/16 is now Hack Reactor. If you graduated from prior to October 2016, Please leave your review for . Otherwise, please leave your review for Hack Reactor.

Title
Description
Rating
Overall Experience:
Curriculum:
Instructors:
Job Assistance:
School Details
About You

Non-anonymous, verified reviews are always more valuable (and trustworthy) to future bootcampers. Anonymous reviews will be shown to readers last.

You must log in to submit a review.

Click here to log in or sign up and continue.

Shared Review

  • DPL!
    - 4/25/2018
    D Street  User Photo
    D Street • Graduate Verified via GitHub
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    DPL was the best choice i could have made for a bootcamp. The teachers and assistants know more than enough to help you become a junior developer right after the 11 weeks are up! Yes it's a very challenging 11 weeks but with all the resources DPL gives you, they fly by! I highly recommend DPL to anyone looking to make a career change or just learn valuable skills. The teacher Dave really cares about each of his students and it shows!! 

  • Rachel Miles  User Photo
    Rachel Miles • Graduate Verified via GitHub
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    I just finished the 11 week full-stack bootcamp at DevPoint Labs and it was a remarkable experience. Dave is an incredibily patient and adept instructor and he is constantly trying to keep the curriculum as up to date as possible. He and the TA's were willing to cater to many different types of learning styles. 

    I came to this course with zero background in tech and development, so I was ready for the worst and was pleasently surprised at the outcome and my understanding. Although it was VERY challenging, I felt like Dave always made a point to give everyone the attenteion they required to understand certain topics and he made sure each student knew he belived in their abilities to succeed in the class. 

    Do not expect to be spoonfed in these 11 weeks. It is hard work, and the design of the course is to help each person become self-sufficient in learning topics and finding answers on their own while guiding only when absolutely necessary. It can feel like you're plopped in the deep-end while youre just learning how to swim at times, but this is the quickest and most efficient way to get you on your feet as a developer. If you show up, work hard, ask questions, and dont give up, you will succeed. 

    I would do this again in a heartbeat. 

  • Nathan Hubner  User Photo
    Nathan Hubner • Sales Lead • Graduate Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

        DevPoint is a place where you feel as though your learning and your understanding are the things that are truly valued. I never felt as though they were just trying to make themsleves look good, but rather I felt like the instructors and everyone at DevPoint cared about my education and the knowledge I was gaining. I had awesome TA's who were willing to answer ANY  questions that I may have had. They were extremely helpful and kind. DevPoint offeres many wonderful things aside from education. One of the most amazing things I recieved was connections and friendships. I strongly believe that I was able to succeed because of the care that the staff put in. Not only were my instructors and TA's skilled and knowledgeable in what they were doing, but they were also my friends. That made all the difference. I highly reccomend this course to anyone looking to advance their skills in this ever growing field. You will not be disappointed by the education you recieve, nor by the friendships you gain.

  • Reviewed.
    - 2/17/2018
    Max Winslow  User Photo
    Max Winslow • Junior Front-End Developer • Graduate Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    I was once like you.

    Trying to deicde how best to make the career change.

    Skeptical and anxious looking at the various reviews and articles...

    and of course, the toxic marketing from bootcamps promising: 'Job Guaranteed' and 'Our Grads Make 100k and work for Google!'

    So let me preface this by saying I do not work for DevPoint Labs, and I was not paid, cajoled, threatened or bribed to make this review for DevPoint Labs.

    First the bad news, no one is going to be able to determine whether you get a job coming out of your bootcamp experience, or what that job might be, except for you. Period. Any bootcamp you attend will require the overcoming of obstacles such as stress, burnout and uncertainty, unfamiliar teaching styles and apathetic students. All of these thing are possible and you're likely to experience almost all of them.

    If any of those obstacles dissuade you from the idea of attending a bootcamp then I would encourage you to take a few days and really consider whether this is something you want to do. Self teaching? Online courses? All of these are valid options for pursuing a career change into software development. Are you really in need of the discipline and structure that a 3-4 month bootcamp imposes upon your life?

    I was in need of that, and I am grateful I ended up at DevPoint Labs. I initially enrolled in another 'Dev' bootcamp in Utah that will remain nameless and I am so glad I switched to DPL. My reasons for choosing DevPoint Labs were:

    A: Devpoint Labs accepts tuition funds from a variety of sources. If you are ex-military or if, like me, you have leftover funds in a 529 account then DevPoint can work with you to apply those funds towards tuition. A tuition, I might add, that is $1,000 to $5,000 less then comparable programs in the area. The reason they are able to offer this flexibility leads me to my next reason for attending.

    B. DevPoint Labs full-time course is partnered with the University of Utah. This means that the course, curriculum, and academic policies are fully vetted by an accreddited public university. This may not mean a lot to you. But in a world where the same for-profit colleges that are being accused of false advertising and fueling a student loan debt crisis, are also buying up bootcamps left and right (*cough Mev *cough Dountain), I appreciate this oversight. In addition, being able to graduate with a certificate from a nationally recognizable institution has its own advantages.

    C. While the program does have backing from 'the U', the actual academic experience at DevPoint is nothing like attending college and, for me, that was a very good thing. Mornings consisted of a brief lecture and code-along that was routinely interrupted by questions and discussion related to the material. Afternoons were reserved for group and/or solo work with multiple TA's and the instructor available to answer questions. Halfway through the course, the class pivots to working on actual commercial software products for customers. Being able to come out of the program already having this experience was absolutely essential to the success of my job search.

    There's lots of other reasons that I am glad I chose DevPoint Labs. The hackathons, the bowling and movie nights. But above all, I'm glad because it accelerated my transition into a new career field faster than I ever really thought was possible.

    If you are on the fence, or you have any other questions about my bootcamp experience, I encourage you to reach out to me on Linkedin. Thanks for reading.

  • Yurie Lorange  User Photo
    Yurie Lorange • Graduate Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    DevPoint Labs' instructors and staff are dedicated to your success in every way. The React, JavaScript, Ruby on Rails stack is a good entry point into the world of web development, and the instructors are always researching new and exciting ways to implement new libraries and technologies. Definitely recommend this bootcamp.

  • Matt Snow  User Photo
    Matt Snow • Software Engineer • Graduate Verified via GitHub
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    It's difficult to compare one programming school to another, because there aren't many people who attend more than one.  I will say this, though: I was very pleased with my experience at DevPoint Labs. 

    The instruction is nothing short of top notch.  There are people in this world that are good at programming, there are people who are good with people, and there are people who are passionate about what they do.  The list of people that possess all three of these traits is very short, but Dave and Jake are both on it.  The effort that they put into writing and delivering lectures is easily apparent to anybody enrolled in the course.

    Signing up for this course by no means guarantees that you will become a competent programmer.  You will get out of it what you put into it.  If you put in a minimal effort, you will exit with minimal skills.  However, if you put your life on hold for 11 weeks and dedicate yourself to becoming the best programmer you can, the team at DevPoint will do everything in their power to help you.  Nobody at this school is a 9-5er just counting the hours until they can go home.  They are all here to help you in whatever way they can.  There were multiple instances where I would reach out to an instructor or TA for help, either in the middle of the night or on a weekend, and I was never left hanging.  They're not doing just doing this for a paycheck, they're doing it because they have a passion for it and they want to share that passion.

    If you're looking for something easy, I would not recommend DevPoint to you.  But if you're looking for a quality intro into a very complex field, you have found it.

     

  • Gavyn  User Photo
    Gavyn • Front End Software Engineer • Graduate Verified via GitHub
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    Two months after I served a two year mission I started the Full Stack Dev course and it literally changed my life! I had always known I wanted to program but I didnt know what I wanted to do or where to start. Before, I had learned a little bit of coding from youtube and highschool classes but never retained anything I learned. When I took this course it was as they say, drinking from a fire hose. It was fast paced, it was hard and it was fun!

    The classes are organized in a way that set you up for success, they are structured in a way not only to help you learn but also to retain what you learn and help you get ready to get out into an industry that is always changing! Everything they do is up to date and you dont have to worry about not knowing whats new getting out into real world, which is something you cant say with college!

    Not only do they help you get ready to get out into the real world but they help get out into the real world. I got my current job less than a month later and have been here over a year and literally love it, and I wouldnt be here if I wouldnt have gone to DevPoint! Taking the course was literally the best thing for my life! Im not one that does well or learns in a college/school setting and this is what I needed to start my career! Its worth every minute and penny spent, Id recommend going here in a heart beat 10/5 start rating from me!

  • Daniel Simmonds  User Photo
    Daniel Simmonds • Full Stack Developer • Graduate Verified via GitHub
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    I took the DevPoint Labs Full Stack Development Course, which is now a U of U certified PROED course. I absolutely loved DevPoint Labs and my time learning there! The instructors know the most recent and relevant coding practices and are always willing to help when you have any question. I took this course less than a year after graduating high school and it was the smartest decision I have made! Less than 3 months after graduating I got the perfect job that I wanted and I am happily programming every day now! Going to DevPoint Labs isn't just a smart career move, it's the smartest education move. If you go to DevPoint Labs, you won't be dissapointed, with all the support and help you get from previous students, the amazing teachers and TA's will always be there even after you graduate! I recommend DevPoint Labs completely, it is one of the smartest decisions you can make. If you have any hesitation, just reach out to them and I know they will help you without a problem!

  • Great School!!
    - 4/18/2017
    Nathan   User Photo
    Nathan • Student Verified via GitHub
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    Just completed the full stack web development course and am very happy with my experience. It was a lot of information but was laid out in a very logical way that allowed my skills to build rapidly. With the help of the staff at DevPoint Labs, I went from knowing very little about HTML and CSS to deploying full functioning applications to the web using Ruby on Rails and React.js. I felt DevPoint Labs provided me with a very supportive atmosphere during my 11 week course and taught me a curriculum that made me confident and qualified enough to apply for a junior developer job. I definitely recommned attending this school over the other options SLC has to offer.

  • Rachel  User Photo
    Rachel • UI/UX Developer • Graduate Verified via GitHub
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    It is called a bootcamp for a reason so be prepared to work. However, I was impressed with how much quicker I learned the concepts in a bootcamp format. I had tried learning JavaScript for 2-3 year on my own with tutorials but only got so far. In 11 weeks, I was able to understand the entire picture and use what I was learning immediately at work.

    I currently work for a University and I chose a bootcamp because Universities often have curriculum that is 2 years old, which is not very helpful in the tech industry. For gaining hands on skills in what employers are currently looking for, I could not recommend DevPoint Labs enough. The Instructors are very up-to-date and the TA's are very helpful. Also, never underestimate the power of going to a physical classroom and learning with people in-person. It really excellerated my learning, just like I was hoping for.

  • Jacob Fowles  User Photo
    Jacob Fowles • Software Engineer • Graduate Verified via GitHub
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    A year ago to the day I quit my job as an Investment Banker of 10 years. I'd always wanted to learn code and I knew time was running. I'd done my research and felt DevPoint was the best place possible for me to complete a bootcamp.

    I took a huge risk with quitting my job. It wasn't the smartest decision I've made and I would never recommend anyone up and quitting without serious thought.

    DevPoint did an amazing job turning me into a developer. Both Dave and Jake were nothing short of brilliant in educating me. On top of that, they employed TA's that were knowledgable and patient (you da man Christian). Attending DevPoint will always remain one of the best experiences I've had. I'm now employed at a creative design agency in Salt Lake City and couln't be happier with my career change. 

    It took me over 3 months to find a job. There are a few things I didn't do during my cohort that affected me getting a job sooner. The biggest was not attending Meetups. Do yourself a favor and attend everyone of them. Become a face in the Ruby and Javascipt communities and your job search will become much easier. 

  • Randy V.  User Photo
    Randy V. • Graduate Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    I recently graduated from the Part Time Web Development Course and it was worth every penny. The course was well structured and provided us with the necessary tools to learn JavaScript. It can be overwhelming at times and you won't understand the information as it is being taught but over time, you will understand the material. The instructors and TA were the best part of the course. Dave and Jake are both amazing senior software engineers and they teaches you technologies that are being used currently. They are constantly updating the content and I've never seen anyone so passionate about coding!

  • Bryan H  User Photo
    Bryan H • Senior Art Director / UX Manager • Graduate Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    I recently graduated from the Full Stack Javascript course at DevPoint Labs. It was incredibly challenging and satisfying. The curriculum was difficult but there was always consistent and relevant support from the instructors, the TAs as well as the active mentors. I would do it again.

  • Erik B  User Photo
    Erik B • Software Developer • Graduate Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    I attended the Fall 2014 Full Stack Ruby on Rails cohort.  I had minimal knowledge about programming and decided to change careers at this time. Previously I had a career in purchasing which had very little growth and was not as lucrative as programming was.  After some research and meeting with the founders, I decided to attend DevPoint Labs.

    The instructors and founders are very knowledgeable about programming and the different languages and frameworks that are out there. The class had different levels of students (entry to mid level). I never felt intimidated by any of the students or instructors since everyone was around the same skill level  It was an intense 11 week bootcamp but it was fund, I learned a lot and was able to grow a network of programmers/friends from the boot camp.

    Today I am enjoying a new career in software development with a great company. I now have the skills that will allow me to grow with a higher financial return.

    DevPoint Labs was the way to go for me! I highly recommend DPL!

     
  • Alex   User Photo
    Alex • Student of DevPoint Labs • Student Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    I came into DevPoint Labs with very minimal coding experience and I was scared for my life that I wouldn't be able to hang with the pace of the coarse and the rest of my classmates. Jake and Dave did such an amazing job teaching everything in the curriculumn every day and the TAs were all very cool, nice, and helpful. My time at DevPoint was definitely the hardest time of my life, but because of the atmosphere and resources they offer, I was never overly stressed on a problem. I always got the help I needed and I know that I will always be able to go to them for any future assistance. DevPoint is definitely the best move I could have made to jumpstart my career path and I will always be thankful to everyone who works there who is now and will forever be a big part of my life. Highly recommend for everything thinking about which school to go to!

  • Cael J.  User Photo
    Cael J. • Graduate Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    I just completed the full-stack rails course at DevPoint Labs.  It was a wonderful experience!  I highly recommend dedicating your life to coding during your attendance here.  One of the great things about DevPoint Labs is that the resources are readily available for you to take your knowledge as far as you can push yourself.  Beyond the classroom, DevPoint Labs has created a large community of developers with an excellent feeling of camaraderie.  I highly recommend DPL to anyone with a desire to learn how to code.  I began with moderate coding experience in HTML and CSS (among other things), but I had a classmate who began with virtually zero coding experience, and both of us took full advantage of our time here and were both able to progress immensely into the world of web development.  You are not guaranteed a job out of here, but they provide you with the tools necessary to go out and find your place in a development company.

  • Highly Recommended!
    - 11/12/2019
    Travis Carter • Graduate
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    I just got done with the Full-Time Fall 2019 course and it was great. Spencer was an awesome teacher and the class size was perfect enough to work with a variety of people but not get lost. 

    I went to DPL because it was rated as one of the top coding bootcamps in Utah and now I can see why. I have already recommended it to a couple of people. 

  • Koki Johnson • Graduate
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    N/A

    I was working a full time job, I’m a mom of 3, and I made it. I am also a recipient of one of their scholarships! Devpoint wants you to succeed and they give you the tools and structure you need. The teachers, TA’s, and other staff were so incredibly helpful and thoughtful with every step of this course. Just like everyone else says, you get what you put into this, and there will be times when you just don’t get it, but don’t give up! Your outcome depends on you. Thank you devpoint for an amazing experience! 

  • Totally Worth It
    - 9/5/2019
    Nicki • Graduate
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    If you are serious about making a career out of web development and you are ready to commit the time and energy it is going to take to become hireable - DevPoint Labs' bootcamp is a wonderful and unbeatable first step and I highly recommend it.

    As someone who tried to self-teach my way through web development (including a semester at SLCC), I can't stress enough how valuable having 3 months worth of material laid out for me was. Things flowed naturally, the instructor (Spencer) was an absolute pro at making very difficult material approachable, concepts built upon each other, and I graduated with enough knowledge to begin building my own projects, as well as a more defined way to tackle further learning. When I compare how much I learned in 3 months of self-teaching vs 3 months full time at DevPoint, it becomes abundantly clear that it was worth every penny (and all my weekends). It motivated me to code every single day - sometimes all day - and that's something I never felt at SLCC or while self-teaching. It sparked my passion and enthusiasm and gave me every avenue to pursue it. 

    That being said, a few words of advice (that DevPoint themselves will stress to students repeatedly): you get out what you put in. Even though it was a tough 3 months, I fully committed my time and energy to the course and I feel like that was my biggest success. I watched some students not apply themselves, browse YouTube during project time, never ask questions during lecture, and just generally work less hard ... and it showed. This course (much like the industry for which it is preparing you) is for self-starters, people who take initiative and accountability and those willing to earn their success. It's a huge undertaking and an impressive accomplishment.

    Does taking this course guarantee you a developer job? Absolutely not, and if you believe that any bootcamp can guarantee to do that in 3 months, you are mistaken. But the amount of material that is covered is incredible, the learning path is clear, the help is there and with a bit more sweat, I'm confident I will find a position as a developer in my near future. I highly recommend this course.

  • DevPoint is fun.
    - 9/4/2019
    Emma • Graduate
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    I had a great experience at DevPoint Labs.  I learned a lot, made some good friends, and transitioned my career into something that is a much better fit for me.

    Here are some things DevPoint does well:

    1. Safe Learning Environment:  It’s a safe place to learn and ask dumb questions.  My instructor fielded questions well. He balanced the wide range of ability well-translating the questions from advanced students so the newbie students could benefit from the answer as well.  He also didn’t hesitate to review fundamentals when it was necessary.

    2. Culture of Collaboration: Among my classmates there was much more of a culture of collaboration than of competition. Throughout the cohort I worked with almost every person in the class at least once, and I learned a lot from every experience.  I may have just gotten lucky with a great cohort, but I think it has a lot to do with the leadership of the staff.

    3. The instructors and TA’s are great.  They are approachable, they know how to meet you where you are, and they will give you their undivided attention until you are ready to work on your own again.  Also, the student to instructor ratio is like 4 or 5 to 1, so there is really no reason why you wouldn’t get the help you need.  

  • Candice
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    I completed the Part-Time Web Development course at DPL. Before beginning, I had done a few courses on FreeCode Camp and Codecademy in an attempt to be self-taught. I was hesitant about doing any kind of bootcamp. I am so glad I decided to go to DPL. It's a lot of information, and in the part-time cohort, most of class is lecture, so you must carve out time outside of class to review, study, and build things on your own.  What I liked most is that DPL forced me to apply my knowledge and attempt to build things without being guided, unlike the online courses. I know that I wouldn't have been able to learn as much as I did at DPL if I had tried to go at it on my own. The TAs were helpful, the information useful, and overall it was a great and challenging experience. I currently work as a TA for the part-time co-hort and just landed an internship as a software developer.

  • Logan • Student
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    Learning how to code is hard. There's just no way around that. What I was really surprised about in my experience with DevPoint Labs is how much fun and comraderie I would experience. 

    The staff at DevPoint Labs does a really great job mentally preparing students and supporting us through difficult learnings. I have a ton of appreciation for their support and expertise. 

    They also encourage students to work together, which really helped us connect with people and I loved that aspect of teamwork in my cohort. Overall, I think we all felt a strong atmosphere of comraderie that made the whole experience memorable and fun.

  • My Review
    - 7/30/2019
    Ryan Gale • Full-Stack Software Engineer - Direct • Graduate
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    I was a salesman/customer service person for 8 years before going to DevPoint Labs. I had first looked into going to a coding bootcamp in 2015 while working as a car salesman at Tesla. To be honest I was insecure and thought learning to program would be impossible for me, so I didn't do it. 

    Fast forward 4 years to 2019, I got laid off from my second sales job in a row and I decided I wanted to do something different. I again started to look into web development/computer programming. It was a really hard decision to quit the job I had just got to do the full-time Spring 2019 cohort. But I now say it all the time, it was the best decision I've made in years.

    I waited about 3 months to write this review after graduating, I wanted to really assess what I had been taught and how it would be useful in the real world. I was lucky enough to get a job before I even graduated at DevPoint and start working as soon as I was done with the cohort. Now, 3 months later, DevPoint Labs has helped me find an amazing job with an awesome start-up making even more money here in Salt Lake. Marc Price sent this job to the alumni in Slack and it was an amazing opportunity, so I put my hat in the mix. I was able to use the skills they taught me in React to nail the tech interview and nab the job. 

    If you want to know how to succeed at this whole web dev thing, scroll down these reviews and read Daniel Bailey's review. That's what I did and now I have an amazing job. 

    If you want to work in front of a computer and build websites/apps for a living, you are absolutely making the right choice going to DevPoint Labs. There are a TON of jobs for web developers, and if you want to be one just start learning, building, failing and succeeding, but I promise you this is an awesome first step and it can literally take you from 0 to an amazing job in 3 months if you let it.

    If you want to know more details about my experience, hit me up on linkedin.

     https://www.linkedin.com/in/ryan-wendell-gale/

  • Great School
    - 5/26/2019
    Mike Moffitt • Graduate
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    I had a great experiance with Dev Point. I was working full time and did the after hours full dev course and highly recomend it to anyone. If you are like me and cant put things like a mortgage and bills on hold for 12 weeks to be able to do a full time boot camp, then Dev Point is the place for you. They taught me in 12 weeks what would have taken me years to learn on my own. Like others have said you get out what you put in and I did put in the time but it was well worth it. 

  • Great Coding Intro
    - 5/20/2019
    Brantley • Graduate
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    N/A

    I was a student in the part time class. We covered a lot of material in a short time but it was a great introduction to multiple coding languages. More importantly they taught me how to think while coding. This class does not teach you everything you need to know to get a coding job in just 3 months but it does put you on the right trajectory. You will have to put in time outside of class, so make sure you are dedicated and disciplined. Like everything in life you get out what you put in. I'm glad I took the class to gain a stable coding foundation in a short amount of time.