coding-dojo-logo

Coding Dojo

Arlington, Boise, Chicago, Dallas, Hybrid (Online & In-person), Los Angeles, Oakland, Online, Orange County, San Francisco, San Francisco, Seattle, Silicon Valley, Tulsa

Coding Dojo

Avg Rating:4.43 ( 432 reviews )

Coding Dojo is a unique coding bootcamp that teaches three full technology stacks in a single 14-week program. Coding Dojo has campuses in has campuses in Berkeley, Boise, Chicago, Dallas, Los Angeles, Orange County, San Jose, Seattle, Tulsa, Tysons Corner, and online. Students can choose to learn three of the industry’s most in-demand web development languages, including Python, Ruby on Rails, MEAN, Java or .NET Core. An online option is also available for students who don’t have access to campuses. In addition to an extensive curriculum, students receive 15 hours/day of mentored guidance, quick feedback in the evening from remote Teacher Assistants and tailored course content that accommodates both beginners and experienced developers. Students experience building advanced web applications, solving job-relevant problems and learning to think like true software engineers.

To apply, candidates answer questions via an online form, schedule an interview with a Coding Dojo staff member, then if accepted, must pay a deposit to secure their place.

Since 2012, Coding Dojo has endeavored to help individuals from a variety of backgrounds and skill levels transform into professional developers who go on to be hired by start-ups and world-class companies like Amazon, Apple, Expedia, Microsoft, JPMorgan Chase, DocuSign and Skytap. For each student, Coding Dojo promises one-on-one sessions with a career advisor, open forums with industry leaders, and comprehensive job-hunting workshops.

Coding Dojo welcomes Veterans and accepts the GI Bill at selected campuses, as well as offering a Gap Year program for high school grads. Coding Dojo also provides various scholarship opportunities for qualified students.

Recent Coding Dojo Reviews: Rating 4.43

all (432) reviews for Coding Dojo →

Recent Coding Dojo News

Read all (57) articles about Coding Dojo →
  • Gap Year Onsite Software Development Immersive Bootcamp

    Apply
    Start Date Rolling Start Date
    Cost$12,995
    Class size35
    LocationBoise, Orange County, Seattle, Silicon Valley, Los Angeles, Chicago, Arlington, Tulsa, Dallas
    Spend 6 months of your gap year with Coding Dojo and become a self-sufficient software developer with hands-on programming experience though our in-depth three-stack curriculum—complete with real-time support from instructors, our industry-tested learning platform, hands-on assignments and much more. Ideal for students interested in web development who are not sure what career they want to focus on, this Gap Year bootcamp is a full-time immersive experience in which you will master the fundamentals of web and software development, learn 3 full stacks - Python, MEAN, and Java, and gain valuable skills for a career in tech. Personal Growth Discover who you are as a person and what you want to do in life Boost your motivation for further academic pursuit Become more mature, independent and self-aware about your strengths and weaknesses Career Ready Mindset Build important soft skills to enhance your academic performance in college Find the right fit major and career path based on your self-discovery Gap year graduates report that their gap year had significantly added to their employability Gap Year Curriculum Full stack Development Program - 14 weeks of immersive Web Development program (HTML/CSS/Javascript), Python, MEAN, Ruby, C#/.Net. Career Services - 2 weeks of career readiness workshops (resume, cover letter, networking, Linkedin profile) Project Based Internship - 4 Weeks of project based internship to build your own portfolio (weekly check-in with a mentor) Explore A New City The Gap Year Program is available at all of our campuses. Explore living in a new city while developing your tech skills. Learn By Doing You’ll start coding from day one of the course. Dive into a fast-paced, innovative learning environment that fosters collaboration, not competition. After graduation, you’ll jump straight into the job-hunt with the support of our career services team. You Get What You Put In Students are expected to dedicate at least 70 hours/week to the program, with the most successful students dedicating 70-90 hours/week. Our students often say that Coding Dojo is the most rewarding, yet difficult thing they’ve ever done. Life During the Course In the morning you’ll start with new curriculum that will build on top of what you learned the day before. Depending on the day, your morning may include an algorithm session, lecture, group activity, or a combination of all 3. Your afternoons and nights will be spent working through course content, assignments, and projects on the new curriculum for the day, with breakout sessions available upon request.
    Financing
    Deposit$1,000
    Financing
    Financing: Monthly financing plans available via Skills Fund

    Tuition Plans$1,000 deposit followed by 2 payments or monthly payment plans available via Skills Fund.
    Refund / GuaranteeDeposits are required to reserve your seat in the bootcamp, and are refundable until day 1 of class.
    ScholarshipScholarships up to $4,000 are available for veterans, women, and other underrepresented groups in the technology industry. Email scholarships@codingdojo.com to learn more.
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelBeginner
    Placement TestNo
    InterviewYes
  • Online Software Development Immersive Bootcamp - Full-time

    Apply
    Start Date Rolling Start Date
    Cost$14,995
    Class size40
    LocationOnline, Dallas
    Our Online Full-Time Immersive Bootcamp is a remote learning alternative that provides online access to our in-depth three-stack curriculum—complete with real-time support from instructors, our industry-tested learning platform, hands-on assignments and much more. Ideal for students interested in web development who cannot attend our on-campus programs, this online bootcamp is a full-time immersive experience in which you will master the fundamentals of web and software development, and 3 full stacks - Python, MEAN, and Java - over 14 weeks, learning valuable skills for a career in tech. On a national scale, 94%* of our alumni land a job in 180 days after graduating, with an average salary of $76,000 per year. Learn more at https://www.codingdojo.com/full-time-online-bootcamp Your Career Starts From Day 1 Your career as a full-stack software developer starts on your first day. Within 14 weeks we’ll turn you into a self-sufficient, well-rounded software developer who has all the critical skills to have a long, healthy career in tech. Three Full Stacks & Self-Sufficiency Our goal is to train you into a self-sufficient, versatile developer through our 3 Stack Curriculum. In 14 weeks, you’ll learn 3 in-demand stacks in the industry, have a portfolio to show, and have triple the job prospects, as every company uses a different stack. Learn By Doing You’ll start coding from day one of the course. Dive into a fast-paced, innovative learning environment that fosters collaboration, not competition. After graduation, you’ll jump straight into the job-hunt with the support of our career services team. You Get What You Put In Students are expected to dedicate at least 70 hours/week to the program, with the most successful students dedicating 70-90 hours/week. Our students often say that Coding Dojo is the most rewarding, yet difficult thing they’ve ever done. Life During the Course In the morning you’ll start with new curriculum that will build on top of what you learned the day before. Depending on the day, your morning may include an algorithm session, lecture, group activity, or a combination of all 3. Your afternoons and nights will be spent working through course content, assignments, and projects on the new curriculum for the day, with breakout sessions available upon request. Career Services We offer career support to all students and alumni to help accomplish their short and long-term career goals. Whether you're applying for your first job or you're an industry veteran, we understand that building a career is a life-long process. Participants of the program will have access to a wide range of services, such as one-on-one sessions with a career advisor, open forums with industry leaders, comprehensive job-hunting workshops, and more!
    Financing
    Deposit$1000
    Financing
    Monthly financing plans available via SkillsFund

    Tuition Plans $1,000 deposit followed by 2 payments or monthly payment plans available via Skills Fund.
    Refund / GuaranteeDeposits are required to reserve your seat in the bootcamp and are refundable until day 1 of class.
    ScholarshipScholarships up to $4,000 available for veterans, women, and other underrepresented groups in the technology industry. Email scholarships@codingdojo.com to learn more.
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelBeginner
    Placement TestNo
    InterviewNo
  • Online Software Development Immersive Bootcamp - Part-time

    Apply
    MySQL, HTML, Git, JavaScript, Django, jQuery, CSS, Algorithms, Python
    OnlinePart Time20 Hours/week20 Weeks
    Start Date Rolling Start Date
    Cost$9,995
    Class size30
    LocationOnline
    Our Part-Time Online Web Development Bootcamp is a flexible evening and weekend course that teaches web fundamentals and a full Python stack — complete with real-time support from instructors, our industry-tested learning platform, hands-on assignments and much more. Ideal for students who cannot attend our on-campus programs, or commit to a full-time course, you'll learn the skills needed to become a self-sufficient developer in as little as 20-25 hours per week. Comprehensive Curriculum Develop projects in a vast range of technologies, starting with front-end development in Web Fundamentals. From there, dive into back-end development centers around Python and put on the finer touches with AJAX and modularization. Top it off with 4 weeks of project building and algorithms. Live Instructor Support Receive hands-on support from our instruction team through live evening classes twice a week, multiple office hours, plus evening weekend support through our chat forum. Top-Tier Platform Quickly learn the essentials of the most in-demand technologies through our online Learning Platform, which has trained thousands of Coding Dojo students. Code From Home Experience the accelerated training of our on-campus bootcamps from the comfort of your home without quitting your day job. You’re only required to dedicate at least 20 - 25 hours per week toward during the bootcamp. Career Services We offer career support to all students and alumni to help accomplish their short and long-term career goals. Whether you're applying for your first job or you're an industry veteran, we understand that building a career is a life-long process. Participants of the program will have access to a wide range of services, such as one-on-one sessions with a career advisor, open forums with industry leaders, comprehensive job-hunting workshops, and more!
    Financing
    Deposit$1000
    Financing
    Monthly financing plans available via SkillsFund
    Tuition Plans$1,000 deposit followed by 4 monthly payments of $2,248.75
    Refund / GuaranteeDeposits are refundable until day 1 of class.
    ScholarshipScholarships up to $4,000 available for veterans, women, and other underrepresented groups in the technology industry. Email scholarships@codingdojo.com to learn more.
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelBeginner
    Placement TestNo
    InterviewNo
  • Onsite Software Development Immersive Bootcamp - Full-time

    Apply
    Start Date Rolling Start Date
    CostN/A
    Class size35
    LocationBoise, Orange County, Seattle, Silicon Valley, Los Angeles, Chicago, Arlington, Tulsa, Dallas
    Our Onsite Full-Time Immersive Bootcamp will teach you more than coding - you'll learn how to solve problems and be a self-sufficient developer. When you're fully immersed in our three full stack curriculum, you'll master the fundamental building blocks of web and software development, making you a highly valuable, desirable asset throughout your career. The 14-week course includes real-time support from instructors, our industry-tested learning platform, hands-on assignments and much more. Ideal for students interested in fast-tracking a successful career in tech, this onsite bootcamp is a full-time immersive experience in which you will master the fundamentals of web and software development, and 3 full stacks - Python, MEAN, and Java - over 14 weeks, learning valuable skills for a career in tech. On a national scale, 94%* of our alumni land a job in 180 days after graduating, with an average salary of $76,000 per year. Learn more at https://www.codingdojo.com/full-time-online-bootcamp Your Career Starts From Day 1 Your career as a full-stack software developer starts on your first day. Within 14 weeks we’ll turn you into a self-sufficient, well-rounded software developer who has all the critical skills to have a long, healthy career in tech. Three Full Stacks & Self-Sufficiency Our goal is to train you into a self-sufficient, versatile developer through our 3 Stack Curriculum. In 14 weeks, you’ll learn 3 in-demand stacks in the industry, have a portfolio to show, and have triple the job prospects, as every company uses a different stack. Learn By Doing You’ll start coding from day one of the course. Dive into a fast-paced, innovative learning environment that fosters collaboration, not competition. After graduation, you’ll jump straight into the job-hunt with the support of our career services team. You Get What You Put In Students are expected to dedicate at least 70 hours/week to the program, with the most successful students dedicating 70-90 hours/week. Our students often say that Coding Dojo is the most rewarding, yet difficult thing they’ve ever done. Life During the Course In the morning you’ll start with new curriculum that will build on top of what you learned the day before. Depending on the day, your morning may include an algorithm session, lecture, group activity, or a combination of all 3. Your afternoons and nights will be spent working through course content, assignments, and projects on the new curriculum for the day, with breakout sessions available upon request. Career Services We offer career support to all students and alumni to help accomplish their short and long-term career goals. Whether you're applying for your first job or you're an industry veteran, we understand that building a career is a life-long process. Participants of the program will have access to a wide range of services, such as one-on-one sessions with a career advisor, open forums with industry leaders, comprehensive job-hunting workshops, and more! *Published in February 2018, this is based upon a survey that was sent to alumni who graduated between January 2015 and October 2017. Out of the respondents, 94% are employed full time in field. 75% of alumni find jobs within 3 months.
    Financing
    Deposit$1000
    Financing
    Monthly financing plans available via SkillsFund

    Tuition Plans $1,000 deposit followed by 2 payments or monthly payment plans available via Skills Fund.
    Refund / GuaranteeDeposits are required to reserve your seat in the bootcamp, and are refundable until day 1 of class.
    ScholarshipUp to $4,000 in scholarships available for veterans, women, and other underrepresented groups in the technology industry. Email scholarships@codingdojo.com to learn more.
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelBeginner
    Placement TestNo
    InterviewYes

Review Guidelines

  • Only Applicants, Students, and Graduates are permitted to leave reviews on Course Report.
  • Post clear, valuable, and honest information that will be useful and informative to future coding bootcampers. Think about what your bootcamp excelled at and what might have been better.
  • Be nice to others; don't attack others.
  • Use good grammar and check your spelling.
  • Don't post reviews on behalf of other students or impersonate any person, or falsely state or otherwise misrepresent your affiliation with a person or entity.
  • Don't spam or post fake reviews intended to boost or lower ratings.
  • Don't post or link to content that is sexually explicit.
  • Don't post or link to content that is abusive or hateful or threatens or harasses others.
  • Please do not submit duplicate or multiple reviews. These will be deleted. Email moderators to revise a review or click the link in the email you receive when submitting a review.
  • Please note that we reserve the right to review and remove commentary that violates our policies.
You must log in to submit a review.

Click here to log in or sign up and continue.

Hey there! As of 11/1/16 is now Hack Reactor. If you graduated from prior to October 2016, Please leave your review for . Otherwise, please leave your review for Hack Reactor.

Title
Description
Rating
Overall Experience:
Curriculum:
Instructors:
Job Assistance:
School Details
About You

Non-anonymous, verified reviews are always more valuable (and trustworthy) to future bootcampers. Anonymous reviews will be shown to readers last.

You must log in to submit a review.

Click here to log in or sign up and continue.

Shared Review

  • Alex w  User Photo
    Alex w • Graduate • Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    Before enrolling in coding dojo, I was unemployed having just left a sales job. I’ve always wanted to learn how to create apps and websites because I believed I had a lot of ideas but had no way of turning them into something real. That’s when a friend of mine advised me to investigate coding bootcamps so I could learn coding in a concentrated curriculum so I could land a better job than what I was doing before, and I could also learn how to create apps. That’s when I came across coding dojo and having gone through the program I am able to say that I now know that I have the tools to create what I put my mind to and that if I have any trouble with anything, the instructors here are always up to helping you work out anything that you may be having trouble with your code. If you’re looking for something to change your career/life I’d highly recommend learning how to code and Coding Dojo is amongst the best at teaching you how to do that.

  • Just say no
    - 4/2/2020
    Justin Llewellyn  User Photo
    Justin Llewellyn • Graduate Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    Well, they've continued to email me asking me to write a review, be careful what you wish for.

    I attended to change careers, I have my bachelor's degree worked in my field for a while, but have always wanted to get into programming and wasn't satisfied working in my field. My experience will differ from other bootcamp locations because I attended one much smaller than the Silicone Valley, Bay area, Seattle locations. So the positive side is our teacher to student ratio was actually pretty good. With that said I'll start from the beginning of my experience and yes it's long but thorough (at minimum read final thoughts or point 10 at worst).

    The interview went well it was your typical interview, I heard back not too long later I was "accepted" into the program. Of course, I was excited and ready to get started, then the start date was pushed back a few months, which made sense because it was the holiday season and not a big deal because it gave me more time to read/study. 

    HTML/CSS

    The first couple weeks are super basic HTML/CSS, use bootstrap it'll take of mobile for you and the exam for it is just replicating a static site, easy enough. However, there was not a focus on actually designing for mobile or design considerations and I'll chalk that up to the fact it's not a frontend/design bootcamp. Something I can go and learn on my own, but they could have talked about Flexbox and/or Grid. They do go over the basics of computers and how they work, so that's a plus for non-tech humans.

    PYTHON

    The first full-stack is Python, Flask, SQL - your backend, frontend, database respectfully. Our instructor was fantastic, quite knowledgeable, and you could tell she enjoyed teaching in general. So, she would be a fantastic instructor teaching anything even if she had zero knowledge of the subject. She also happened to be the person who created and wrote the Python section of the platform, which is why it was the best full-stack section of the platform (more on this later). 

    Unfortunately the majority of our class did not pass the Python stack, part of the downside to a small class (despite our instructor) is not having as many people to help others get through the parts they're struggling or stuck on. Those that did not pass still came into campus and continued to work on Python as they were backlogged to the next class starting Python.

    C#/.NET

    The next stack we had a new instructor for Microsoft's C# ASP.NET core. Admittedly I butted heads a little with the next instructor they brought in. It got off to a rough start because the first day of learning this new stack was putting the remaining students together to do some bs assignment and figure it out. Working in teams is nothing new, however, I'd prefer to first read and learn some on my own, so I can contribute to the team and not struggle on an incredibly easy (in hindsight) assignment. I think it was 2.5 -3 hours for an assignment that according to the platform should take 20 minutes and we still hadn't figured it out. So that seemed like a giant waste of time especially with the number of assignments they ask you to do. Now the biggest gripe I have is the platform itself. 

    Let me remind everyone still reading, this program costs $12K. And the platform, which I would as a student imagine it being similar to a college textbook full of all the knowledge you need to be successful in the program. Picture holding said college textbook, now randomly start ripping out chapters and pages until about half of it is left, and that is what your money buys for their platform content. 

    If you want to learn C#, I suggest reading Microsoft's documentation and going through their tutorials because what little was in the platform seemed like it was plucked right off the documentation, or take an online course.

    MEAN

    This is MongoDB (database), ExpressJS/Nodejs (backend), Angular (frontend). I won't beat a dead horse, the same thing as C# take a college textbook and rip out half the information and there's your learning platform.

    JOB ASSISTANCE

    I will talk about this from the perspective of myself and our entire class including those that didn't originally get through Python and graduated later. For those of us that graduated on-time they brought in a really great career mentor, he helped with resume writing and gave us really great advice overall. 

    Dojo brought in 4-5 different companies to interview with and I came to find out one company showed up sort of as a favor/community building because they had zero intention of hiring anyone from a bootcamp or any junior developers. Which, I'm totally cool with if I know that's the case and I can treat it like a practice interview just don't bs me. There was another company that had one guy working remotely at our location (again kind of a dead-end). One company never showed up, but I won't put that on Dojo.

    The good news was I actually landed an apprenticeship, but I know they hired me because of my prior experience and education and I just so happened to finish this programming course. They didn't even work in any of the languages we learned for the position I was hired. My other friend landed his job going outside of Dojo and leveraging his connections with the company that wasn't hiring any junior developers. The other graduate took a little longer to find a job and it ended up being with someone he met there starting their own thing. 

    As for those with us originally and graduated later, they had a different mentor come in and from hearsay was awful enough they brought in the guy who helped us. They had I believe 2 interviews and this was weeks after they graduated. One graduate went to another bootcamp because he was tired of the bs from Dojo. As of now and as far as I know, every single one of them is still looking for a developer job 9 months afterward.

    FINAL THOUGHTS

    1) It is exactly like a college course, you have assignments and you have an exam for each stack. I understand the point, but please explain how this is different than your "tYpiCAl EdUcATiOn" other than the amount of time I need to put in? The cost is pretty on point with a semester of college, so they got that right lol.

    2) Not teaching the languages our city is hiring for - supposedly they do research on the area and teach the languages in demand in your local area. Most of the jobs in my area are for Java, C, C++, weirdly the languages CS majors learn and we didn't hmmm. And a company out here, Intuit, recently started adding at the top of their developer roles something like ****Computer Science degree required****.

    3) Data dump anyone? Yes, it's cool to learn a lot of different languages, but I would have rather spent half the time and money learning one full-stack well. Not 1 in 3 weeks because the 4th week (if you pass the exam) is project week. Not a single one of us ever put together a project the entire course. I started one once and realized I bit off more than I could chew. 

    4) The instructors after Python stack had the knowledge of the coding dojo platform and no real-world experience from my recollection. Some questions I asked, were answered but didn't really address my coding problem. Or it was "Why don't you look it up and tell me what you find?"...so you're telling me you have no clue?

    5) A huge disconnect on defining what we learned e.g. yeah you learned jQuery, while maybe not widely used anymore, we used it once maybe twice. It's like telling someone you're a nurse because you've taken someone's vitals signs a few times.

    6) Not making Git a mandatory section to learn, it was provided optionally and it's really easy to learn, but it should have been mandatory.

    7) Data Structures, algorithms are every morning, but there is a huge disconnect between different data structures: what they are, how they work, and how they are implemented in real code. We did go over every data structure, but because of the pace you touched on it 1-3 times throughout the course (again Data Dump) and more complex ones are naturally towards the end. Perhaps my own fault, but the morning algorithms seemed more like an exercise in whiteboard interviewing and not understanding the data structure itself.

    8) Did I mention Data Dump? Because of how shallow the knowledge of the platform was and how fast-paced I started taking a few courses on Udemy in the same languages we "learned". And the depth of these online courses is uncomparable.

    9) Their platform is straight garbage, every stack's beginning assignments are struggling to learn these concepts and being excited you finally figured it out. Then roughly the 2nd week you learn, oh that's not how you actually do it. I'm sorry come again?! Why if we start with zero knowledge do you start by teaching us the wrong way to do something? Pretty sure we're all capable of learning the concepts while doing it the right way from the beginning...just a thought.

    10) Straight from their site "On a national scale, our alumni land a job in 180 days after graduating,"

    Sure sounds a lot better than "On a national scale, our alumni land a job in 6 Months!!"

    I'd wager 10x the $12,000 Coding Dojo tuition the least tech-savvy human could, in 6 months learn one full-stack, have more portfolio projects and land a job in their city taking online courses.

    Cost-benefit-ratio: Let’s say you take one course each for database, backend, and frontend and another tying them all together and you pay full price for each course 150$ (relatively typical cost, courses on sale can be as cheap as 10$-20$). 4 x 150$ = 600$

    600$ v. 12,000$ (more in most areas now) = 11,400$ in your pocket, you’re welcome!
    Take a few more online courses, why not take another 5 courses, now you only saved 10,650$ bummer lol.

  • Faisal Rahman  User Photo
    Faisal Rahman • Sales Engineer Verified via GitHub
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    Coding Dojo is an excellent resource to level-up your knowledge for full-stack software development. It empowers your to learn how to build software from scratch and deploy it live on the web. The on-site experience consist of daily morning algorithms and three intensive Full-Stacks, which helps you learn popular in-demand coding languages, frameworks, databases, and technical skills to help you break into the industry or level-up and learn coding hands on. The instructors are top notch with industry and boot camp experience to guide, challenge, and mentor you through the process. I would recommend  Coding Dojo to anyone who wants to learn software development hands on and upgrade their coding skills.! 
  • Coding Dojo ROCKS!
    - 3/13/2020
    Cassandra  User Photo
    Cassandra • Student Verified via GitHub
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    What a rewarding and incredible journey it has been to earn black belts in Python, MEAN and Java at Coding Dojo! Coding Dojo is a unique coding bootcamp that teaches three full technology stacks in a single 14-week program.

    From the admissions advisors, to my instructors and also the teaching assistants who were available whenever we needed them, to my cohorts and the career specialists that have been incredibly supportive. I am a self-sufficient software developer with hands-on programming experience though the in-depth three-stack curriculum, our industry-tested learning platform, hands-on assignments, career support and much more. I feel ready and fully prepared to transition into a new phase of IT. I have the skill set to learn new languages quickly and I can create entire websites from front to back.

    Oh! and I have never been as proud of ME as I am right now...I did it! Thank you Coding Dojo!
  • Delvina Blakaj  User Photo
    Delvina Blakaj • Software Developer • Graduate • Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    N/A
    This course has a natural way of increasing the will to write code and then write more code. The structure of assignments,lectures,disscusions is perfect because it helps you a lot to understand and learn programming.
    Definitely this course is the right choice to start learn programming or learn things about programming that we think we know.
  • Diellza Aliu  User Photo
    Diellza Aliu • Graduate • Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
     
    Took the Online Part-Time Bootcamp and had the best learning experience. I found the materials very helpful and comprehensive, everything was explained in such great detail. What makes the course of a higher quality are the assignments you have which strongly help you in learning by doing. There are the required assignments which when completed give you a solid understanding of the concepts, but if you want to dig even deeper you take the numerous optional ones. Don’t panic if you get stuck. TA-s are ready to help, weekdays or weekends you can always count on someone to help with your code. The instructors are also very friendly, positive and ready to help, but most importantly they are very good at explaining the material in the lectures. This course is designed in a way that makes the learning fun, I personally spent hours of studying without feeling tired, all I felt was the joy of learning new things. But the feeling of coming up with a real project at the end of such short time and showing it to your loved ones is indescribable. Coding Dojo also teaches you team working discipline which I think is a key concept of being successful at a job or in life. If you want an organized bootcamp in which you want to start coding or level up at it, Coding Dojo is the right place to go! 
  • Erona Vrapcani  User Photo
    Erona Vrapcani • Graduate • Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    N/A
    Being a part of Coding Dojo Bootcamp was very beneficial, and i would recommend it to anyone who is trying to get in the coding industry.The lectures, materials provided and above all the tasks we had throughout the course helped me level up in html,css,js,python..
  • Donika Tomiqi  User Photo
    Donika Tomiqi • Graduate Verified via GitHub
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    N/A
    Great Bootcamp for a beginner to learn to program, starting from very basics to advanced concepts of programming. 
    Besides the perspicuous curriculum, what helped me in this Bootcamp are: 
    • A lot of assignments which are great to practice skills every day, and 
    • Projects to deal with real problems in web development.
  • Jeta Kasabaqi  User Photo
    Jeta Kasabaqi • Software Developer • Graduate • Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    N/A
    This course is perfect for someone who is looking to learn programming. Everything starts from the basics and builds up to complex concepts of the specific technologies. The best part is that there are a lot of assignments and projects and you get to practice everything you've learned.
  • Jose Nicdao  User Photo
    Jose Nicdao • Graduate • Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    If you want to start coding, this school has a good curriculum that's always updated and it will tell you where to go in your coding career. Great support in job search as well. 
  • Rolando  User Photo
    Rolando • Graduate Verified via GitHub
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    It's a great place to get started in programming. They have good instructors that are always there to help you with any questions that you may have. It is a fast paced curriculum so be ready to put in a lot of work and dedication to get the most out of the program.
  • Seattle Bootcamp
    - 2/18/2020
    Zachary  User Photo
    Zachary • Graduate Verified via GitHub
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    I went from knowing nothing about coding to being able to design websites. The amount I learned in three months has helped me become a self sufficient developer who can teach himself new skills and learn as I work on new projects. Its not a silver bullet you won't go there and become an expert but as long as you put in the time during and after(can't emphasize after enough) the bootcamp you will get the opportunity to change careers. And career services really helped me market myself, building a resume, linked in profile and provide advice on companies.
  • Darrick  User Photo
    Darrick • Graduate Verified via GitHub
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    I had a great experience at the bootcamp! Before deciding to come here i was looking at a few other bootcamps in the bay area, mostly in Berkeley and San Francisco. From speaking with my friends in the field, they said the bootcamps in SF and Berkeley had actual connections with companies and would help you get placed into the programs if you fit the qualifications. Job Assistance was something that was important to me. However, when i spoke to admissions coordinator at Coding Dojo, she said that there would be some assistance in the way of how to interview, resume building, and how to job seek. This made me a little discouraged about Coding Dojo. However, ultimately I decided on Coding Dojo based on proximity to my home in San Jose and because it was FULL STACK. To my knowledge, Coding Dojo is the only full stack bootcamp in the bay area. This was key for me because I wasn't sure which side of software I wanted to be on (front vs backend), so I figured I'd go full stack to figure it out. The curriculum seems current based on the research I've done on current coding languages/technologies. The instructors are great. Each stack has an instructor that "specializes" in that stack. The instructors are well educated, seeming to know a little bit about everything on top of their specialties. They are attentive and helpful and guide you in the right direction if they feel like you need more information or education on a certain topic. Another great key aspect of the coding dojo is their focus on algorithms. Algorithms is key to get a job so at the dojo, we get practice every morning, sometimes twice if you ask for algo in the afternoon. This practice gives you practice talking out loud, problem solving and presenting your solution.  

    Towards the end of my first stack, a new career advisor was hired and straight away it seemed like more was being offered to job assistance. He's brought in recruiters and posted job fair and internship type opportunities pretty often. I would say at the start of the bootcamp, i would've given a 2 star review for job assistance, but now with the new career advisor, its a 4 star review for job assistance. I've recently been graduated for about a week and have had a lot of assistance from the career advisor. In about a months time, i could see the job assistance going up to 5 stars. 
  • Great Times
    - 2/5/2020
    V  User Photo
    V Verified via GitHub
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    Like others have said, it can be difficult at times (it is a bootcamp after all), but the sheer wealth of knowledge you gain is worth it. I already had the feeling I got my money's worth after the first stack (Python). Learning platform can be a hit or a miss, but it is ever evolving and instructors fix and update things on the fly when mistakes or shortcomings are pointed out. I was lucky enough to have a great cohort and instructors. Will surely miss them. 
    Response From: Luke Lappala of Coding Dojo
    Title: Director of PR
    Wednesday, Feb 05 2020
    We're glad to hear about your amazing experience with our program and will pass your kind words along to your instructors. We will miss having you as a student but please keep us in the loop as your career progresses, we love to watch our alumni grow! Also make sure to work with your local Career Services Manager for extra guidance during your job hunt. 
  • Toan Tran  User Photo
    Toan Tran • Student • Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    The experience is great so far. After completing the Bootcamp, I am more confident to look for jobs knowing the technologies in the job description. I feel like I can learn anything in a short amount of time and everything is achievable if I give effort and time into it. However, job assistance after Bootcamp is quite lacking.
  • Michelle Tanzil  User Photo
    Michelle Tanzil • Graduate • Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    The Coding Dojo onsite program has been a once-in-a lifetime experience. The instructors were amazing, caring, and knowledgeable. I don't think I could have asked for a better learning experience and I'm glad I picked Coding Dojo for my journey to becoming a software developer.
    Response From: Luke Lappala of Coding Dojo
    Title: Director of PR
    Wednesday, Feb 05 2020
    We loved hearing about your experience Michelle and loved having you as a student even more! We will pass your kind words along to the Orange County team and please keep us in the loop as you continue the job hunt. We love to follow the careers and professional development of our alumni!
  • Great Experience
    - 2/2/2020
    Shazé Williams  User Photo
    Shazé Williams • Graduate • Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    When I first started at the bootcamp I was nervous but so glad that I was accepted. It took me two tries to understand and pass the exam for Python. Then I went on to learn Java, that was too hard for me to understand so I had the option of skipping Java and went to the MEAN stack. I was a bit overwhelmed with all the different servers and the syntax of Angular. I tried as hard as I could but I couldn't get a grasp on Angular. So I was attempting to retake the stack and when I finally got to, the stack was changed to MERN. It was great, I understood React a lot more than Angular. I'm a slow learner but once it came all together if made sense and it was fun to build a Single Page Application. I'm glad I ended up passing and graduated from Coding Dojo in Burbank. 
    Response From: Luke Lappala of Coding Dojo
    Title: Director of PR
    Wednesday, Feb 05 2020
    Thank you for your feedback and it's amazing to hear about the effort you put in. We're glad to hear the recent curriculum change to MERN was a better fit! Please keep us in the loop as you start the job hunt and make sure to work with your local Career Services Manager for extra guidance throughout the process. 
  • Coding Dojo-Dallas
    - 1/31/2020
    James Thames  User Photo
    James Thames • Student • Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    The Coding Dojo experience has been nothing short of excellent. The instructors are extremely knowledgeable and helpful. They're driven to see you excel. The learning platform is very informative and useful even after graduating. I would recommend this boot-camp to anyone knew to coding. 
  • Geoff  User Photo
    Geoff • Junior Web Developer • Graduate • Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    So I waited to write this review until after I had been out looking for a job for awhile post graduation. I didn't feel comfortable really putting together my thoughts on the program until my knowledge was put in context of the broader professional world.

    I graduated from the program in late November of 2019. I successfully completed all three of the stacks(C#, Python/Django, and MEAN). The coursework itself gets you up and running in each stack and as they do so you really start to understand the interconnection of the peices at a more fundamental level. The course itself will not make you a Software Engineer, it will however get you to a great place to jump into a Junior Web Developer position.

    The "platform" as they call it is the meat of their program, mostly guided learning through the progressive steps of developing in each stack. The brevity of the platform topics is GENERALLY a plus but in some instances is quite frustrating as they can leave you somewhat in the dark as to the inner workings of some more abstract concepts. They also implement a style of teaching they refer to as "gap" learning. The platformw ill sometimes withold some critical information in an effort to develop the student in terms of being self sufficient. In most stakes this approach was great, but in others the gaps were a tad large. 

    The onsite instructors are awesome, very knowledgable at what they are teaching and passionate about coding and web dev. Many of them are graduates of the Coding Dojo program. I had some reservations regarding this when I enrolled, but quickly came to realize that they know their shit and know how to get you thinking like a dev.

    The career services in the post course period are "okay" i would not rate them as excellent though I do feel the contact I had was great. In general I got the impression they were just stretched beyond capacity. The best guidance they gave was in terms of my resumes structure/style, how I should approach my github, and what my linkedin should look like. 

    In the end Coding Dojo is not without flaw but it 100% got me from 0 to employed in the industry in 6 months.

    Response From: Luke Lappala of Coding Dojo
    Title: Director of PR
    Friday, Jan 10 2020
    Thanks for taking the time to give us your feedback Geoff! We are always striving to improve so we can offer our students the best possible experiences in our bootcamp programs. Congrats on landing the job and please keep us updated as your career progresses - we'd love to follow along!
  • Nightmare
    - 12/30/2019
    Daniel Dunn  User Photo
    Daniel Dunn • CNC Machinist • Graduate • Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    So much drama happened in my cohort, that the bootcamp changed my life in a negative way.  I now owe so much money that I am living in a shed with no electricity, barely able to pay my bills and do not wish to enter an office environment where I will be trapped in a building with mentors who show up late to work every day and that tell you, "They can't teach you everything (Obviously).  Don't blame others for your failures. (Which I didn't do.  I just started taking online courses during the bootcamp to answer the questions that they couldn't answer)". Ended up having the top 2 students doing all the teaching there. Also had demonstrations that were slapped together and failed from our backup instructor after the other 3 left during our bootcamp.  I only have internet while I visit family for the holidays to study again.  Then I go back to my shed and an old career.  Don't do this unless you already have lots of money and a contact to get you into the industry.  They were a nightmare for me even though I put in the most time in that dojo out of everyone in my cohort and was helping most of the cohort.  The only thing they did right was hire the top student from our cohort.  He actually liked teaching.

    Response From: Luke Lappala of Coding Dojo
    Title: Director of PR
    Wednesday, Jan 08 2020
    We are very sorry to hear about your experience Daniel. Early in 2019 when you attended our bootcamp, there were some leadership and staffing changes that have since been resolved. This does not excuse how those changes negatively impacted your time at the Dojo and we'd like to rectify the situation. When you get this, please give us a call at (844) 446-3656 or email info@codingdojo.com, our Support staff has been notified to keep an eye out for your contact. 

    Additionally, our Career Services work on an ongoing basis with all of our alumni - regardless of their graduation date - to help them secure full-time and meaningful employment. I know our team would love to help you continue your search, if you'd like to work with them please email csm@codingdojo.com. We look forward to hearing from you. 

  • Justin F  User Photo
    Justin F • Graduate Verified via GitHub
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    N/A
    This course really makes you struggle the entire time and the people around you are the only ones who can help keep you afloat. Most of the course is doing everything the hard way and in coding that is the way to really learn things a solid way. I've had many conversations with other developers after and during this course and most of them do exactly what we do here in their jobs which is great. One big thing to mention is that even with all the work you are given on top of that you have to do project after project on your own which really takes up your whole life for as long as you are in the course. Overall if you follow the course the instructors and your cohort mates you will get everything you need to work in this field maybe a week after graduation still practicing the stuff that you were taught.
  • Francisco Zamora  User Photo
    Francisco Zamora • Graduate • Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    This bootcamp has helped me solidfy my passion for technology and has shown me what is capable when i really dedicate myself to something i am passionate for. I am excited to share that i have learned life long skills in software development, logic and learning in general. The bootcamp has a great curriculum and great instructors with a passion for teaching and technology. I would recommend the Coding Dojo to any of my friends aspiring to dive into the tech industry.

  • Jaden Scott  User Photo
    Jaden Scott • Graduate Verified via GitHub
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    As the title would imply, this review is based on my boot camp experience. The bootcamp curriculum is intense and extensive. Your cohortmates are your team and if you try to deal with the struggle alone, you will fail or give yourself a head of grey with no sleep. It is also a crystal clear example of "you get out what you put in."  I had a great cohort and will look back on my bootcamp experience fondly. The work was hard but I worked harder and I succeeded. Plus there is free coffee and other snacks.

  • Tom McNamara  User Photo
    Tom McNamara • Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    I am an IT professional who wanted to pivot my career a bit my getting a better foundation in programming.  After researching various schools, I felt that Coding Dojo would be the best match and I think I was right.  I had tried to learn some programming, such as Python, on my own and always struggled to get past the initial steps.  Being in a classroom environment really helped me and I feel confident with the foundation I now have.

    All of my instructors were great and all willing to meet and discuss any area I was having a problem with.  I also know as an alumni I can swing by and pick their brains on any personal projects I have questions on.

    I thought the curriculum was very good.  Yes, some of it was a little outdated, but this was often called out to us.  The parts that were outdated usually had to do with some installation instructions where the original source had been changed.  I know they try to keep up with this and if you mention it the instructors will help.  Also, if you find something out of date PLEASE report it.  There are ways right on the curriculum page to do that very easily.

    As far as job assistance, this is an area that I think the student must take the lead on.  In my Dojo in LA the job assistance person is great and available.  However, I noticed a HUGE number of people did not schedule one-on-ones with her, which was a mistake on their part.  I have had multiple one-on-ones with her and I know her guidance has helped with improving my resume, cover letters and LinkedIn Profile.  No, getting a job is NOT automatic if you pass the course, there are multiple factors, and everyone's experience is going to be difference.  If you need guidance, CALL THEM.  They'll do what they can.  The rest HAS to be up to you.

    The best part of the course was my classmates.  I am still close to them and they made it fun.  They also helped me a lot.  It is a TON of work and I might have dropped without them.

    If you do this, put the hours in and grind.  It is easy to fall behind, but if you want it, put your head down and work.  And follow their 20 minute rule.  Struggle for 20 minutes on a problem, if you can't crack it, ask for help.  Do NOT fall behind over pride that you think you should figure out something yourself.  The course is too much information too fast, you have to keep it going.

    I would definitely recommend this course.  It's expensive, it's hard, there is NO guarantee of a job when you're done.  But for me it was worth it and I am glad I have the skills and foundation in full stack that I now have.

     

  • Candace  User Photo
    Candace • Graduate • Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    Overall, I liked my experience with Coding Dojo. There are pros and cons to it, but a good place to start in the IT industry if you are a beginner.

    Career Services: At the time of when I signed up, I was promised career services but we did not have a designated career service person to work with until one of my cohort mates was accepted for that position the week of graduation. I think going on Indeed and LinkedIn everyday and searching for jobs is more beneficial, but it depends on if you need help on your resume or job profiles. 

    Coursework: The is tons of good information on the platform but I think some of it needs to be updated and in the beginning there are videos, but as you get into the full stacks there aren't so much which isn't helpful. Usually, there is 1 lecture a day, but sometimes you can have two depending on how fast you need to get through the material. Don't expect to complete every assignment because some of them can take a longggg time depending on your skill set. If you are a true beginner like me, you're more at a disadvantage because it is a lot of new information to take in, however I think this is a good place to start your IT career. It's fun completing a full stack project, but unfortunately due to the schedule and pace of the course you can't get in the nitty gritty of everything. Also, some of the assignments are individual and others you can do as a group which is always fun! I think there should definitely be more videos as a reference and an example of how to build something than just reading material. 

    Instructors: All of my instructors were friendly and easy to get along with. They were very helpful if you were stuck on a project and willing to stay later to help students. However, with my cohort they were short-staffed and my instructor had to take on two cohorts and split his time between groups which was difficult if you were stuck. Also, the instructors have lots of meetings which could take a 2 hour chunk of their time away from helping students. But overall, they gave the attention and help I needed to make it through and they are all very knowledgeable of the material. They present it in an easy way and record the lectures to refer back to or to build along with them. 

Thanks!