codesmith-logo

Codesmith

Los Angeles, New York City, Online

Codesmith

Avg Rating:4.89 ( 429 reviews )

Codesmith offers a full-time, 12-week full stack software engineering bootcamp in Los Angeles and New York City. Codesmith is a selective, need-blind program focusing largely on computer science and full-stack JavaScript, with an emphasis on technologies like React, Redux, Node, build tools, Dev Ops and machine learning. This program enables Codesmith students (known as Residents) to build open-source projects, with the aim of moving into positions as skilled software engineers. Codesmith Residents become engineers, not technicians, through a deep understanding of advanced JavaScript practices, fundamental computer science concepts (such as algorithms and data structures), and object-oriented and functional programming. Codesmith helps residents develop strong problem-solving abilities and technical communication skills – valued capacities in a software engineer.

The Codesmith admissions process involves a written application with optional coding questions, a nontechnical interview, and a technical interview. Codesmith offers a number of free resources for preparing for the admissions process including in-person and online coding workshops, a 2-week online prep course (CS Prep), and an online JavaScript learning platform (CSX).

Codesmith offers an extensive hiring support program that guides Residents through whiteboarding, advanced technical interview practice, resume and profile development, and interview and networking strategies. Support continues upon graduation with bi-weekly check-ins and, after offers, negotiation support. Overall, 25% of graduates receive offers for Senior Engineer positions and above, and about 70% receive offers for Mid-level Engineer roles.

Recent Codesmith Reviews: Rating 4.89

all (429) reviews for Codesmith →

Recent Codesmith News

Read all (29) articles about Codesmith →
  • CS Prep

    Apply
    JavaScript, jQuery, Algorithms, Front End
    OnlinePart Time15 Hours/week2 Weeks
    Start Date None scheduled
    Cost$750
    Class sizeN/A
    LocationOnline
    CS Prep is a structured program that teaches core JavaScript concepts and engineering best practices. CS Prep will help you develop a deep, yet intuitive understanding of JavaScript and prepare you for your Codesmith technical interview or for interviews for other software engineering roles. CS Prep is a 2-week remote course that includes live online instruction, daily problem-solving workshops, office hours with engineering mentors, and extensive technical interview practice.
    Financing
    DepositNo deposit
    Financing
    We offer tuition payment plans and many scholarships for the course. The tuition you pay for CS Prep will roll over to the Software Engineering Immersive tuition.
    Tuition PlansWe offer case by case payment plans, please reach out to csprep@codesmith.io with questions!
    Refund / GuaranteeIf you pass the CS Prep assessment you are guaranteed a technical interview with our full time Codesmith Program. Refunds for the course are available and distributed on a case by case basis.
    ScholarshipWe offer multiple scholarships to CS Prep, with many students paying no tuition at all. You can apply for the women in software engineering scholarship, Dean's scholarship, or minorities in tech scholarship.
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelSuitable for beginners who are ready to level up to intermediate and advanced material.
    Prep WorkWe recommend some familiarity with the content in the Precourse Unit on CSX - our free online learning platform - https://csx.codesmith.io/.
    Placement TestNo
    InterviewYes
  • Full-time Remote Software Engineering Immersive - Launching 2021

    Apply
    Start Date None scheduled
    Cost$18,800
    Class sizeN/A
    LocationOnline
    Full-time Remote Software Engineering Immersive brings Codesmith's first-rate curriculum to a completely remote setting allowing for the driven engineers not located in Los Angeles or New York City to advance their careers in three months. The program teaches fullstack JavaScript and computer science to prepare you for mid and senior-level software engineering roles. The expertly designed curriculum and supportive community immerses you in modern web technologies, such as React and Node.js, and encourages you to tackle unique and unfamiliar problems to prepare you for the ever-changing tech landscape. Codesmith offers an extensive hiring support program that guides students through the hiring process, including interview strategies, portfolio development, and post-graduation check-ins. By the end of the 12-week program, you will be an autonomous engineer, ready to make an impact on innovative tech companies worldwide.
    Financing
    Deposit$2300
    Financing
    Codesmith has a range of options to help you finance your education, including scholarships, payment plans, and loan partnerships. Please email hello@codesmith.io with questions.
    Refund / GuaranteeRefunds are distributed on a case by case basis but are available.
    ScholarshipCodesmith offers 4 types of scholarships -those to students underrepresented in the technology community, women in software engineering scholarship, Dean's scholarships, as well as scholarships to prior bootcamp grads
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelPrior computer science and programming skills necessary - many applicants are self-taught through our free weekly JS workshops/online prep course.
    Prep Work4 weeks
    Placement TestNo
    InterviewYes
  • JavaScript for Beginners

    Apply
    JavaScript
    OnlinePart Time6 Hours/week2 Weeks
    Start Date None scheduled
    Cost$300
    Class sizeN/A
    LocationOnline
    JavaScript for Beginners is a 12-hour, remote program consisting of two consecutive Saturday sessions. The program is designed for those with no previous coding experience and will teach JavaScript fundamentals and how coding works. The program offers students a launching point to continue their JavaScript studies, prepare for our more advanced programs, and build a future in software engineering.
    Financing
    DepositNo Deposit
    Financing
    This course has scholarships available, and the tuition you pay for JavaScript for Beginners rolls over and can be applied towards the tuition of our more advanced programs.
    Tuition PlansWe offer case-by-case payment plans, please reach out to jsforbeginners@codesmith.io with questions!
    Refund / GuaranteeRefunds for the course are available and distributed on a case-by-case basis.
    ScholarshipWe offer multiple scholarships to JavaScript for Beginners, with many students paying no tuition at all. You can apply for the women in software engineering scholarship, Dean's scholarship, or minorities in tech scholarship.
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelThis course is designed for those with no coding experience!
    Prep WorkWe recommend completing Part 1 of the Precourse on CSX, our free online learning platform, before you start the course: https://csx.codesmith.io/units/precourse
    Placement TestNo
    InterviewNo
  • Part-time Remote Software Engineering Immersive

    Apply
    Start Date None scheduled
    Cost$18,800
    Class sizeN/A
    LocationOnline
    The Part-Time Remote Software Engineering Immersive Program teaches fullstack JavaScript and computer science to prepare students for mid and senior level software engineering roles. The expertly designed curriculum and supportive community immerses students in modern web technologies, such as React and Node.js, and encourages them to tackle unique and unfamiliar problems to prepare them for the ever-changing tech landscape. Codesmith offers an extensive hiring support program that guides students through the hiring process, including interview strategies, portfolio development, and post-graduation check-ins. By the end of the program, students become autonomous engineers, ready to make an impact at innovative tech companies worldwide. Please email hello@codesmith.io with questions.
    Financing
    Deposit$2300
    Financing
    Codesmith has a range of options to help you finance your education, including scholarships, payment plans, loan partnerships, and full tuition available from SkillsFund. Please email hello@codesmith.io with questions.
    Refund / GuaranteeRefunds are distributed on a case by case basis but are available.
    ScholarshipCodesmith offers 4 types of scholarships -those to students underrepresented in the technology community, women in software engineering scholarship, Dean's scholarships, as well as scholarships to prior bootcamp grads.
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelPrior computer science and programming skills necessary - many applicants are self-taught through our free weekly JS workshops/online prep course.
    Prep Work4 weeks
    Placement TestNo
    InterviewYes
  • Software Engineering Immersive Program

    Apply
    Start Date December 7, 2020
    Cost$18,800
    Class sizeN/A
    LocationNew York City, Los Angeles, Online
    Due to COVID-19, Los Angeles cohorts (conducted in Pacific Time) and New York cohorts (conducted in Eastern Time) are currently remote (online) for the entirety of the program. The Codesmith program teaches computer science, full-stack JavaScript (notably React and Node), software architecture, Dev Ops, and machine learning, preparing graduates for mid to senior engineering positions. The course also features preparatory material, extensive hiring preparation, and ongoing support with students’ job searches.
    Financing
    Deposit$2300
    Financing
    Codesmith has a range of options to help you finance your education, including scholarships, payment plans, loan partnerships, and full tuition available from SkillsFund. Please email hello@codesmith.io with questions.
    Refund / GuaranteeRefunds are distributed on a case by case basis but are available.
    ScholarshipCodesmith offers 4 types of scholarships -those to students underrepresented in the technology community, women in software engineering scholarship, Dean's scholarships, as well as scholarships to prior bootcamp grads.
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelPrior computer science and programming skills necessary - many applicants are self taught through our free weekly JS workshops/online prep course.
    Prep Work4 weeks
    Placement TestNo
    InterviewYes
    More Start Dates
    December 7, 2020 - New York City Apply by November 9, 2020
    February 1, 2021 - New York City Apply by December 25, 2020
    January 11, 2021 - Los Angeles Apply by November 27, 2020

Shared Review

  • Scott  User Photo
    Scott • Front End Developer • Graduate Verified via GitHub
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    From the moment you think about applying to Codesmith you are welcomed with open arms into the community through the opportunity to attend many of their free weekly meetups. These provide a chance to extend your solo learning by diving into how Javascript actually works and beginning to code with others.

    The Codesmith process is not for everyone - which is why it has longer hours than other programs but offers a more extensive curriculum, a final project phase where some student projects have received 4000+ stars on Github, and a culture that fosters teamwork and a striving for excellence.

    From day one you are thrown into a world of problem solving. Guided by top teachers you are introduced to new concepts and then work through a well thought out curriculum in 2 day sprints. The sprints always seemed to hit the middle ground of difficulty with most students having just enough time to refactor their code and walk through it with fellow students. At any point in time (even staying past their work hours till 11pm most nights) Codesmith staff is available to guide you to the solution through the Socratic method. Instead of just giving you an answer the staff engages you in a back and forth conversation until you feel the slight warmth of a lightbulb above your head.

    You'll do these sprints by pair programming with another student in your class and this is where you learn the soft skills that will allow you to excel in the workplace. Former bartenders work with ex investment bankers, students fresh out of college with an engineering degree code alongside former salespeople - this is how you grow your empathy, technical and personal communication skills and openness to others' ways of thinking. 

    All bootcamps will promise you the world, Codesmith included. It's up to you as an individual to take advantage of what is being offered to you. After careful consideration I decided Codesmith had the most to offer me. As a result I went from beginning to learn how to code on my own in September, joining the November cohort and receiving a job offer three weeks after graduation.

    If you had asked me if I thought I would have been programming professional a year ago the answer would be no. Yet here I am thanks to the Codesmith ethos and the people it brings together. When looking to join a bootcamp understand that who you will be going to class with every day is just as important as the class itself. If you talk to anyone at Codesmith you'll immediately understand why the application process is more rigorous than other schools. As they tell you about the long nights they spent building developer tools or learning about data structures you'll see the grin on their face as they reminisce about the experience.

  • Brianna  User Photo
    Brianna • Software Engineer • Graduate • Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    After reviewing many coding schools and their outcomes, Codesmith seemed like the ivy league of bootcamps. Coming from a completely non technical background, I knew it would be hard to get in and even harder when I got there, but I hoped the outcome would be worth it. Bootcamps are definitely a quick way to get you on a different track, but not without extensive amounts of hard work. I studied JavaScript basics through Codesmith's CSX platform for about 2 months and took their 2 week CSPrep course before I was ready to interview. I failed my first technical interview but they gave me some feedback of what to work on and the next week I came back and passed my second interview with some more feedback on my weaker areas. I was able to get a scholarship for $2000 which helped, but the school is definitely still pricey.

    The hours are very intensive and you have to know what you're signing up for. You are living and breathing code for 3 months straight and it can get mentally exhausting to constantly try to retain loads of new information. Sometimes you might want a break but you can't really have one. But with persistence, as a graduate I can say the hard work pays off. You truly learn what you need to know to secure that first software engineering job. 

    My personal experience was a little bit rough. I signed up for the onsite immersive program and I felt like I could learn best in that environment. Due to Covid19, after the first week the entire program was forced to go remote. Remote learning was not necessarily for me. It was a lot harder for me to get my work done from my home environment with all the distractions. Codesmith also has a unique teaching style. For each unit, they will give a couple hours of lectures on some new concepts and then throw you into a 2 day project with a partner where you feel like you don't have the slightest idea of where to even start. There is a help desk that the Fellows answer but the teachers aren't really around much. It is definitely frustrating at times but having to learn things the hard way through Google and lots of errors does help you remember and understand what you are doing. I do wish the lectures were a little more related to the code we would be writing and not just overall big pictures. After struggling for 2 days and probably not finishing your project, they give an approach lecture on how to do it and it make it look like a breeze. It helps to reinforce and understand what you struggled with, but some things would just be useful to know beforehand to be able to progress further in each project. You will have a growing list of things to go back and review but probably won't have time to do it.

    After 6 weeks of these 2 day units, the second portion of the program is focused on building your own projects and web apps. This is where you get to really apply what you learned and also learn so much more based on what your apps needs are. It was so rewarding to have completed that first project and see the end result of what I coded from start to finish. It shows you that you can actually make cool things! There is one solo project and the rest are done in groups. Most of your time is spent on one prodution project which will be the focus of your resume. You have the opportunity to learn a lot from your group members and help each other out. In the real world you will likely be working in teams so it was good to see the dynamic beforehand. 

    The best part of Codesmith is the hiring support. They go through rounds of your resume and tear it apart (in the best way), they help you prepare answers to interview questions, and bring in people to practice mock interviews with. They have someone to help you negotiate your salary once you have an offer, and after you graduate there are meetings every week about the job search. You also have access to the alumni community and your own cohort mates for tips and references. The networking aspect is awesome. A few months after graduated I started my first job as a Software Engineer. The role isn't exactly what I wanted but now my foot is in the door, which was the whole point for me. I know after a year or so of experience under my belt I will be even better equipped as an experienced programmer to find the job I'm looking for. Overall, I wouldn't have been able to make this career change without going to Codesmith.
  • Taylor  User Photo
    Taylor • Graduate Verified via GitHub
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    I had a really wonderful experience at Codesmith. My cohort was amazing and I felt very supported by the staff throughout the immersive. I ended up with my first offer 6 weeks into the job search and was able to sign an offer with a base salary within the range reported on CIRR. I feel that Codesmith provides you with all of the knowledge and experience you need to succeed as a software engineer, but it is an extremely challenging and intense program and you'll probably have to work harder than you've ever worked before to be successful in the immersive and subsequent job search (be prepared for several months of 12 hour workdays and no time off). I'd highly recommend Codesmith to anyone looking to level up their skillset and move into a midlevel software engineering position.
  • Ben  User Photo
    Ben • Backend Engineer • Graduate • Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    It was reading these very same online reviews where I first learned of Codesmith. After seeing their outcomes on CIRR and attending a handful of free JavaScript -- The Hard Parts workshops, I chose Codesmith over other programs for what seemed like the exceptionally detailed attention they paid to the quality of their teaching and hiring program.

    My experience was consistent with that initial sense; it was clear that the entire team had thought critically about how people learn and how to teach most effectively. And no small part of that effectiveness was due to the culture that had been thoughtfully created, one of warmth and encouragement that always seemed to be saying "This is new and challenging work, but we're there for each other and we'll figure it out together."

    It's a remarkable community that, long after graduating and beginning work as an engineer, I feel lucky to be a part of.
  • CS Prep
    - 11/25/2020
    Taylor Davis  User Photo
    Taylor Davis • Student • Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    N/A
    I entered into Codesmith's CS Prep program with basically 0 formal experience with coding. I had done some self-study, but found i needed more of a structure. Though the program is only 2 weeks long, it definitely covers a large basis needed to start your coding journey. That coupled with lots of pair programing, and an awesome group project at the end, I actually feel like I understand why people love coding so much. Definitely would recommend taking the CS Prep program for anyone who is still very new, and not sure about a bootcamp setting just yet. It's challenging, and you get some practical experience. 
  • Travis  User Photo
    Travis • Software Engineer • Graduate Verified via GitHub
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    Everything about my Codesmith experience was exceptional- from the instructors to my peers to the technology, I found Codesmith to be worth every penny.

    Some Background: I learned Python when I was younger, but I came to Codesmith with a Bachelors of Music and a year in the music industry under my belt.  When COVID-19 became our new reality, I was searching for alternatives to performing, and learned JavaScript as I researched bootcamps.  After completing CS Prep and passing my technical interview, I entered the NY immersive program (held online, to maintain social distancing), which I completed a month ago, and signed a six-figure offer today.

    Instructors: While researching immersive programs, I was disappointed to learn that most (if not all) bootcamps are taught primarily by prior students, in the form of ‘fellows’.  While your mileage may vary, in my Codesmith experience this turned out to be an unnecessary fear.  The fellows were bright, eager, kind, and helpful throughout my three months in the program, and served as references during my job hunt.  These folks are typically only kept on for three-month  contracts after graduation, so I cannot guarantee that your experience will be identical, but Codesmith fosters a can-do attitude in the community, so I am hopeful that you will have a similar experience.  (Note that some of the senior instructors are full-time employees and industry veterans, whom I also found to be great teachers)

    Curriculum: The curriculum at Codesmith is primarily centered around React, Redux, Node.js, Express, and PostgreSQL.  No other front-end frameworks are taught, and while MongoDB, AWS, and OAuth are touched upon throughout, the backend technologies other than Node are explored more shallowly.  Codesmith’s approach to curriculum can be summed up in a phrase they’ve coined: ‘hard learning’.  Enter my only gripe with my Codesmith experience- while the technologies they’ve chosen to focus on are excellent choices from a popularity-in-the-industry perspective, I do feel that Codesmith’s ‘heard learning’ approach sometimes leaves something to be desired.  In particular, as projects become the focus of your days, the ‘hard learning’ approach becomes a burden more than a boon, as your energy is primarily directed towards your projects and the curriculum begins to feel frustrating rather than constructive.  This is not to say that the experience is bad- rather, I simply found it to be a minor frustration that mars an otherwise enjoyable learning experience.  By the end of the program I felt that I had made great progress in the core curriculum, and that can be attributed largely to ‘hard learning’.

    Projects: Perhaps the greatest part of Codesmith is the project portion of your junior phase and the production project portion of your senior phase.  In your junior phase, three projects punctuate the conclusion of the core curriculum, small affairs the last only a couple days each.  These are the perfect on-ramp to working in a team environment on ‘real’ software (at least, something a little more substantial than a tutorial).  The production project, however, is the crowning jewel of Codesmith.  Students are required to work in teams to develop an open-source developer tool or similar project, in order to give back to the community and nurture a deep expertise in one technical area.  By requiring these production projects to solve problems faced by developers every day, students acquire an intimate knowledge of a corner of the industry, experience that can be spoken to in job interviews with authority.  In contrast to other immersive programs, where final projects are often mock-applications, Codesmith’s approach ensures exposure to real problems you will encounter in your career (and it looks great on your resume, to boot).

    Job Assistance: Codesmith’s hiring program is exhaustive, and stresses the realities of applying to engineering roles.  With lectures and workshops on interviewing, your ‘pitch’, negotiating, networking, resume development, and recruiters, the hiring program provides guidance on every step of your job search, and continues indefinitely post-graduation with weekly workshops for grads in the job hunt.  Mock interviews with grads help to ease you into the experience of technical interviews, and the daily emphasis on algorithms and data structures throughout your three months prepares you well for mid-level interviews.

    Overall: Codesmith was life-changing for me, beyond a new career and a new job.  The people in my cohort were curious, intelligent, and bound by the common goal of bettering their lives.  I cherish many of the friendships I made at Codesmith, and I can’t wait to give back to the Codesmith community in the years to come.
  • CS Prep
    - 11/4/2020
    Sam  User Photo
    Sam • Database Marketing Manager Verified via GitHub
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    N/A
    Some context on me for reference:
    I aim to transition into the tech field for software development/engineering; I am working full-time in a somewhat connected position within an unrelated field, so I am aiming for the part-time remote intensive (PTRI) for now given current situations with COVID.

     I enjoyed CS Prep and would recommend it to others. That said, this course requires foundational knowledge of JavaScript. Some exposure to functions/execution context, callbacks/higher-order functions, recursion, and closures will help you retain more information during the course as well. I found that this course doesn't teach those basics but rather provides a place to practice and flesh out thoughts/ideas with sample problems. Luckily, those basic/foundational materials are free on Codesmith's YouTube channel and are indeed helpful.

    If you (like me) did not have that exposure to the concepts I mentioned previously, then you'll struggle but can catch up over time with enough work.

    The best part about CS Prep was the pair programming and inherent networking within their Slack channel. The pairing was by far what helped me learn the best. 
  • CS Prep
    - 10/28/2020
    Sheila  User Photo
    Sheila • Graduate • Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    N/A
    Save yourself the time and energy I spent on researching bootcamps, and choose Codesmith. Before choosing Codesmith, I attended in person information sessions at every bootcamp available in NYC on Javascript, Python, Java, Ruby, Android, and iOS at Flatiron School, General Assembly, Fullstack Academy, Grace Hopper, Pursuit, Hack Reactor, and Galvanize. Codesmith stood out in the CIRR report with the highest salary post graduation because they elevate you to qualify for mid level to senior level jobs. Having viewed every Codesmith Meetup video tutorial, I found Codesmith to have superior teaching method using graphical explanations. I asked every bootcamp, "how many Data Structures and Algorithms questions do you cover", because that is the bread and butter of technical interviews. Most of them said zero, which explains why some graduates can't get job offers. CS Prep, the 2 week part time class, covers 2 easy level questions per night. The Immersive covers 1 easy or medium question per day. Since CS Prep is free (tuition rolls over) if you later join the Immersive 3 month full time or 9 month part time class, there's no reason not to take it. Lastly, Chris was my CS Prep instructor, and he is incredibly knowledgeable, enthusiastic, and patient. In 2 weeks, he significantly improved my understanding of recursion, OOP, higher order functions, callback functions, and closure.
  • CSPrep
    - 10/9/2020
    Danny  User Photo
    Danny • IT Guy aspiring to become a developer • Applicant • Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    N/A
    After taking the CSPrep course, I have become even founder of the Codesmith path. I started knowing nothing and worked my way up through their csx program to prepare for the 2-week CSPrep course. The content taught was rather good, but what I found most valuable are the ideas they instill - instead of just teaching the code, this course also taught me how to become more well-rounded as an engineer, including being able to efficiently communicate with peers and how to get past a block in your logic. Overall, I really do enjoy this program and am looking forward to taking their full program.
  • Joe Kinney  User Photo
    Joe Kinney • Aspiring Software Developer • Student • Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    N/A
    Codesmith's online CS Prep course is a must take for aspiring software engineers who come from non-technical or non-programming backgrounds that are looking to apply for the full-time programs.

    After majoring in math in undergrad and working in finance for 5 years, I decided to take the leap and pursuing Codesmith due to the quality of the curriculum and the stellar outcomes. Very quickly, I realized that passing the technical interview was a major challenge and milestone. The CS Prep program only runs for ~2 weeks, but during that time students learn about callbacks and higher order functions, closure and object oriented programming. We pair programmed on a daily basis and each collaborated with a group to create a project at the end of the course (my group made Yahtzee).

    The enthusiasm and dedication on part of the instructor and other students was highly motivating and allowed me to quickly accelerate my coding ability, while developing relationships and genuinely enjoying the process. After CS Prep, I was able to pass my technical and will be participating in the NYC full-time immersive.

    Would highly recommend the course to anyone interested in the full-time programs!!
  • CS Prep
    - 10/2/2020
    Stephanie b  User Photo
    Stephanie b Verified via GitHub
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    I just finished attending CS Prep I must say I learned so much in such a short amount of time! The course itself was only two weeks and it can feel like it going definitely a little too fast but you are given all the recording of the classes to go over as many times as you heart desires!  My instructor Matt was great, he was so caring and really wants you to succeed! I would message him with all my concerns and struggles. He would would write back with resources.  I recommend this course to everyone, it is a great way to learn basics in javascript in such a short amount! If you are planning on attending the immersive program and are having trouble with certain areas, definitely attend! This course will give you the clarity you need to move on to the immersive program! 
  • Alfred Sta Iglesia  User Photo
    Alfred Sta Iglesia • Student • Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    N/A
    I'm trying to enter the industry so I was looking for the right boot camp to enter and wanted to get my JS knowledge to a respectable level. Running into and watching Codesmith's YouTube videos and subsequently joining some of their free workshops - I truly appreciated the teaching style they utilize which goes into greater depth in explaining what exactly is happening with our code. It really meshed with how I like to learn.

    I had been immersing myself with hours upon hours of YouTube tutorials thinking and hoping that with enough repetitive exposure, the concepts would hold.  And yes, they do... eventually. I'm the kind of person though that would usually say/think  "Cut to the chase - what is actually happening here?? why? ... and how can I really control that?!" Codesmith was one of the few resources that I came across who would whiteboard solutions out and not just simply show the code and console. To me - understanding syntax and concepts is one thing, understanding what the engine is really doing and being able to communicate the whole process in a technical and professional manner is something else.  Their approach spoke to my inner engineer and discussed what exactly is happening and why. Javascript for Beginners remained true to its name, sticking to fundamentals in its curriculum. This is not meant to be a slight, since if you're taking this course you're obviously a beginner.  However, it was that Codesmith style of teaching which really helped cement those fundamental concepts in a way that code-only instruction never could.   

    I will say that I did have about a month of Javascript exposure via free online resources, so I didn't go in cold.  But I'm career switching and even with all those free resources, spending a couple of Saturdays or so simply interacting and networking with other hopefuls in the field would have been worth the price of admission on it's own. Add to that excellent teaching by a Codesmith grad was just gravy! Sophie was prepared, engaged, patient and informative. Because of the Codesmith workshops that I had seen and attended, there was a bit of a high bar already set in my head and she didn't disappoint! It was an example of where their road could lead.  If your goal is to eventually join their immersive program, the tuitions from their prep courses roll over so you really have nothing to lose!

    If my goal was to just gain a bit of exposure or maybe explore some of the Javascript world, I believe the course would have been just as fulfilling. However, I would honestly say that it might get a bit too intense, interactive or technical if you're looking for more of an "anonymous hoodie in the lecture hall" type of learning experience. On the other hand, if you learn best by engaging and/or like to understand the dynamics of how things work, you should seriously consider looking into Codesmith. 

    Last note - If you haven't already, do some digging. Codesmith reviews are practically flawless. In my own research, I didn't come across any other schools that came close to this kind of student satisfaction. My own review will do nothing to change that =)
  • Tommy  User Photo
    Tommy • Senior Frontend Developer • Student Verified via GitHub
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    I already had several years of experience coding but always wanted to fill any gaps in my knowledge of Javascript and React. I initially visited some NYC bootcamps, but found them to be too basic. But when I sat in on a free Node.js workshop by Will Sentence I was impressed. I always thought Node.js was a hard topic, but Will broke it down into easy to understand concepts. I also learned so much from "the javascript the hard parts lectures" that I decided it was worth it to quit my job and join Codesmith in hopes of learning how to become a better software engineer.

    A big obstacle to entering Codesmith is that you must pass a technical interview. Each student needed to invest time learning thru Codesmith's CSX resources to develop the technical communication and problem solving skills needed to pass.  As a result, the quality and skill level of Codesmith students is above a junior developer even before they start. A big surprise to me, was that after graduating, passing the previous technical interview months ago gave me the confidence I needed to ace a few technical interviews, and let me cherry pick the job for me - 100% remote with "best 100 companies to work for" rating.  

    Once I started class, I saw the care and hard work Codesmith invested into their curriculum and assessments to solidify our understanding and help us master the software concepts. Everything is done thru pair programming, so you get to continue honing your technical communication and make good friends among the cohort. It was a much more enjoyable experience working with different students than working alone.

    After graduating, I learned many valuable lessons from our hiring team who showed us how to get the most interviews. This team promises to help you even after you found your first job ! When I got an offer, I was told that I should ask for more (?)  Our expert negotiator scripted for me what I was to say. I was very nervous, but I learned the art of how to properly ask for more and not risk losing the offer ! Trust the process.

    Please note, everyone experience's is different. Since I already have experience, I got a lot more interviews with less effort, but there were a half a dozen other students who have no experience who got offers before me.


Codesmith Outcomes


97%
On-Time Graduation Rate
92%
In-Field Employed
$125,000
Median Salary

100% of students intended to seek in-field employment within 180 days of graduating. 0% of students did not intend to seek in-field employment.Below is the 180 Day Employment Breakdown for 38 graduates included in report:

180 Day Employment Breakdown:

Full-time employee
92.0%
Full-time apprenticeship, internship or contract position
0.0%
Short-term contract, part-time, or freelance
0.0%
Started a new company or venture after graduation
0.0%

Employed out-of-field
0.0%
Continuing to higher education
%
Not seeking a job for health, family, or personal reasons
%

Still seeking job in-field
5.0%

Could not contact
2.0%

Salary Breakdown:

85% of job obtainers reported salaries. 0% of job obtainers were hired by the school itself.

Notes & Caveats:

Thanks!