berkeley-boot-camps-logo

Berkeley Boot Camps

San Francisco, San Francisco, San Francisco, San Francisco

Berkeley Boot Camps

Avg Rating:4.33 ( 41 reviews )

Recent Berkeley Boot Camps Reviews: Rating 4.33

all (41) reviews for Berkeley Boot Camps →

Recent Berkeley Boot Camps News

Read all (5) articles about Berkeley Boot Camps →
  • Cybersecurity - Part-Time (Belmont)

    Apply
    Start Date
    Rolling Start Date
    Cost
    $11,995
    Class size
    25
    Location
    San Francisco
    Financing
    Deposit
    N/A
    Tuition Plans
    Payment plans available
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill Level
    Beginner
    Prep Work
    Pre-work
    Placement Test
    No
    Interview
    Yes
  • Data Science and Visualization - Part-Time (Belmont)

    Apply
    Start Date
    Rolling Start Date
    Cost
    $11,995
    Class size
    25
    Location
    San Francisco
    Financing
    Deposit
    N/A
    Tuition Plans
    Payment plans available
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill Level
    Beginner
    Prep Work
    Pre-work
    Placement Test
    No
    Interview
    Yes
  • Data Science and Visualization - Part-Time (Berkeley)

    Apply
    Start Date
    Rolling Start Date
    Cost
    $11,995
    Class size
    25
    Location
    San Francisco
    Financing
    Deposit
    N/A
    Tuition Plans
    Payment plans available
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill Level
    Beginner
    Prep Work
    Pre-work
    Placement Test
    No
    Interview
    Yes
  • Data Science and Visualization - Part-Time (San Francisco)

    Apply
    Start Date
    Rolling Start Date
    Cost
    $11,995
    Class size
    25
    Location
    San Francisco
    Financing
    Deposit
    N/A
    Tuition Plans
    Payment plans available
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill Level
    Beginner
    Prep Work
    Pre-work
    Placement Test
    No
    Interview
    Yes
  • Digital Marketing - Part-Time

    Apply
    HTML, JavaScript, CSS, Wordpress, SEO
    In PersonPart Time10 Hours/week24 Weeks
    Start Date
    Rolling Start Date
    Cost
    $11,995
    Class size
    25
    Location
    San Francisco
    Financing
    Deposit
    N/A
    Tuition Plans
    Payment plans available
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill Level
    Beginner
    Prep Work
    Pre-work
    Placement Test
    No
    Interview
    Yes
  • Full-Stack Flex - Full-Time (Berkeley)

    Apply
    MySQL, MongoDB, HTML, Git, JavaScript, jQuery, CSS, React.js, Node.js
    In PersonFull Time20 Hours/week12 Weeks
    Start Date
    Rolling Start Date
    Cost
    $11,995
    Class size
    25
    Location
    San Francisco
    Financing
    Deposit
    N/A
    Tuition Plans
    Payment plans available
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill Level
    Beginner
    Prep Work
    Pre-work
    Placement Test
    No
    Interview
    Yes
  • Full-Stack Flex - Full-Time (San Francisco)

    Apply
    MySQL, MongoDB, HTML, Git, JavaScript, jQuery, CSS, React.js, Node.js
    In PersonFull Time10 Hours/week12 Weeks
    Start Date
    Rolling Start Date
    Cost
    $11,995
    Class size
    25
    Location
    San Francisco
    Financing
    Deposit
    N/A
    Tuition Plans
    Payment plans available
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill Level
    Beginner
    Prep Work
    Pre-work
    Placement Test
    No
    Interview
    Yes
  • Full-Stack Flex - Part-Time (Berkeley)

    Apply
    MySQL, MongoDB, HTML, Git, JavaScript, jQuery, CSS, React.js, Node.js
    In PersonPart Time10 Hours/week24 Weeks
    Start Date
    Rolling Start Date
    Cost
    $11,995
    Class size
    25
    Location
    San Francisco
    Financing
    Deposit
    N/A
    Tuition Plans
    Payment plans available
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill Level
    Beginner
    Prep Work
    Pre-work
    Placement Test
    No
    Interview
    Yes
  • Full-Stack Flex - Part-Time (San Francisco)

    Apply
    MySQL, MongoDB, HTML, Git, JavaScript, jQuery, CSS, React.js, Node.js
    In PersonPart Time10 Hours/week24 Weeks
    Start Date
    Rolling Start Date
    Cost
    $11,995
    Class size
    25
    Location
    San Francisco
    Financing
    Deposit
    N/A
    Tuition Plans
    Payment plans available
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill Level
    Beginner
    Prep Work
    Pre-work
    Placement Test
    No
    Interview
    Yes
  • Full-Stack Web Development (Online) Part-Time

    Apply
    MySQL, MongoDB, HTML, Git, JavaScript, jQuery, CSS, React.js, Node.js
    OnlinePart Time25 Hours/week24 Weeks
    Start Date
    Rolling Start Date
    Cost
    $11,995
    Class size
    25
    Location
    San Francisco
    Financing
    Deposit
    N/A
    Tuition Plans
    Payment plans available
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill Level
    Beginner
    Prep Work
    Pre-work
    Placement Test
    No
    Interview
    Yes
  • UX/UI Boot Camp - Part-Time

    Apply
    HTML, Git, JavaScript, User Experience Design, CSS
    In PersonPart Time10 Hours/week24 Weeks
    Start Date
    Rolling Start Date
    Cost
    $11,995
    Class size
    25
    Location
    San Francisco
    Financing
    Deposit
    N/A
    Tuition Plans
    Payment plans available
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill Level
    Beginner
    Prep Work
    Pre-work
    Placement Test
    No
    Interview
    Yes

4 Scholarships

  • $500 Berkeley Boot Camps Scholarship

    Course Report is excited to offer an exclusive Berkeley Boot Camps scholarship for $500 off tuition!

    Eligibility

    Offer is only valid for new applicants. Applicants who have already submitted an application cannot claim this scholarship. & This scholarship cannot be combined with other offers.

    Qualifying Courses

    • Cybersecurity - Part-Time (Belmont) (San Francisco)
  • $500 Berkeley Boot Camps Scholarship

    Course Report is excited to offer an exclusive Berkeley Boot Camps scholarship for $500 off tuition!

    Eligibility

    Offer is only valid for new applicants. Applicants who have already submitted an application cannot claim this scholarship. & This scholarship cannot be combined with other offers.

    Qualifying Courses

    • Data Science and Visualization - Part-Time (San Francisco) (San Francisco)
    • Data Science and Visualization - Part-Time (Berkeley) (San Francisco)
    • Data Science and Visualization - Part-Time (Belmont) (San Francisco)
  • $500 Berkeley Boot Camps Scholarship

    Course Report is excited to offer an exclusive Berkeley Boot Camps scholarship for $500 off tuition!

    Eligibility

    Offer is only valid for new applicants. Applicants who have already submitted an application cannot claim this scholarship. & This scholarship cannot be combined with other offers.

    Qualifying Courses

    • Full-Stack Flex - Part-Time (Berkeley) (San Francisco)
    • Full-Stack Flex - Full-Time (Berkeley) (San Francisco)
    • Full-Stack Flex - Full-Time (San Francisco) (San Francisco)
    • Full-Stack Flex - Part-Time (San Francisco) (San Francisco)
  • $500 Berkeley Boot Camps Scholarship

    Course Report is excited to offer an exclusive Berkeley Boot Camps scholarship for $500 off tuition!

    Eligibility

    Offer is only valid for new applicants. Applicants who have already submitted an application cannot claim this scholarship. & This scholarship cannot be combined with other offers.

    Qualifying Courses

    • UX/UI Boot Camp - Part-Time (San Francisco)

Review Guidelines

  • Only Applicants, Students, and Graduates are permitted to leave reviews on Course Report.
  • Post clear, valuable, and honest information that will be useful and informative to future coding bootcampers. Think about what your bootcamp excelled at and what might have been better.
  • Be nice to others; don't attack others.
  • Use good grammar and check your spelling.
  • Don't post reviews on behalf of other students or impersonate any person, or falsely state or otherwise misrepresent your affiliation with a person or entity.
  • Don't spam or post fake reviews intended to boost or lower ratings.
  • Don't post or link to content that is sexually explicit.
  • Don't post or link to content that is abusive or hateful or threatens or harasses others.
  • Please do not submit duplicate or multiple reviews. These will be deleted. Email moderators to revise a review or click the link in the email you receive when submitting a review.
  • Please note that we reserve the right to review and remove commentary that violates our policies.
You must log in to submit a review.

Click here to log in or sign up and continue.

Hey there! As of 11/1/16 is now Hack Reactor. If you graduated from prior to October 2016, Please leave your review for . Otherwise, please leave your review for Hack Reactor.

Title
Description
Rating
Overall Experience:
Curriculum:
Instructors:
Job Assistance:
School Details
About You

Non-anonymous, verified reviews are always more valuable (and trustworthy) to future bootcampers. Anonymous reviews will be shown to readers last.

You must log in to submit a review.

Click here to log in or sign up and continue.


Shared Review

Grace Houghton • Graduate
Overall Experience:
Curriculum:
Instructors:
Job Assistance:
Response From: Boot Camp Team of Berkeley Boot Camps
Title: Community Team
Wednesday, Oct 17 2018

Amazing, Grace! Thank you so much for taking the time to provide your feedback. We're thrilled to hear our program successfully helped you learn the fundamental concepts of web development. You're completely right that the course is fast-paced, so having a supportive team is pivotal — we also agree that David, Shani, and Kim are fantastic. Congratulations on graduating, we wish you all the best as you move forward!

Elvin  User Photo
Elvin • Graduate Verified via GitHub
Overall Experience:
Curriculum:
Instructors:
Job Assistance:
Response From: Boot Camp Team of Berkeley Boot Camps
Title: Community Team
Friday, Jun 28 2019

Thank you for your review, Elvin. We're glad to hear you enjoyed learning JavaScript, HTML, and CSS at the beginning of the course.

From your review, we understand that your program experience was not what you were hoping for. We know that this is a challenging course, and we try to make it clear to students that it is fast-paced, quickly moving from one complex topic to the next over a limited time period. As such, we provide all students with several outlets of support, including office hours, free tutoring, Slack, optional one-on-one meetings, supplemental resources, and structured review sessions that reinforce core concepts. Each lesson in our curriculum builds on the last, and we do find that as the curriculum progresses, most students feel more and more confident in their skills.

During the later portion of your cohort, your instructor did have pre-planned absences for which we arranged coverage through our teaching assistants. We understand that not all teaching styles will resonate with every individual, and we try to encourage students to attend live classes as attending remotely does not always provide the same learning experience. We pride ourselves on teaching students how to learn so that they can build a strong foundational skill set to master other languages and frameworks following graduation.

Like you mentioned, your class did encounter some unexpected Student Success Manager (SSM) changes, and we understand that this impacted your experience. At the launch of your cohort, your original SSM had to depart, leaving an interim team member in place. Later on, your cohort transitioned over to our current SSM who supported the class through the final weeks. We regret to hear our boot camp support did not meet your expectations and appreciate your input as we are constantly optimizing our offerings.

We did note your conversation with our Boot Camp Director shortly after the program concluded. To successfully complete the boot camp and receive a certificate of completion, students must submit all academic requirements and finalize extenuating payments. If these requirements are not met, students are ineligible for the program's career services.

It is our goal for all learners to complete the course feeling properly equipped with the knowledge and resources they need to step out into the industry. If you would like, we would truly welcome the opportunity to speak to you personally. Please reach out to us directly at (510) 306-1218. 

Chris  User Photo
Chris • Student • Student Verified via GitHub
Overall Experience:
Curriculum:
Instructors:
Job Assistance:
Response From: Boot Camp Team of Berkeley Boot Camps
Title: Community Team
Wednesday, Jun 26 2019

Amazing, Chris! We're thrilled you enjoyed the curriculum and benefited from the support of our entire team—we also have to agree that Jerome is fantastic. Like you noted, this course will require students to commit extensive time to master the various concepts and technologies covered, so we commend all your hard work. Congratulations on successfully completing the boot camp, we appreciate your review! Best of luck moving forward.

Honest review
6/24/2019
K  User Photo
K • Student Verified via GitHub
Overall Experience:
Curriculum:
Instructors:
Job Assistance:
Response From: Boot Camp Team of Berkeley Boot Camps
Title: Community Team
Tuesday, Jun 25 2019

Thank you for sharing your thoughts, K. From your review, it sounds like our multi-step admissions process was not what you were expecting. During this time, we do our best to evaluate individuals to ensure our program offerings can effectively meet their professional needs. We begin with an initial phone interview, followed by a timed aptitude assessment that applicants must pass with a score of 70 or above in order to move forward. Depending on the assessment, applicants must go through a final critical thinking interview with a member of our academic team. Only once prospective learners have passed these screenings are they accepted into the course.

Our boot camp prides itself on teaching students how to learn, providing a strong foundational skill set used to master additional languages or frameworks following graduation. This helps individuals learn how to problem-solve and self-teach—key skills needed in any developer’s career. Still, we know not all teaching styles will resonate with all participants. 

We understand you would have liked to spend more time diving into data structures and algorithms. We try to make it clear to prospective students that as this is a boot camp, we cover a wide range of material in a condensed amount of time. Due to this, topics are introduced at a high level in class, after which learners are expected to dive in and not only gain a deeper understanding of the concepts covered, but practice their skills outside of the classroom. 

It's our goal to provide a comprehensive educational experience that meets all of our students' needs, ranging from those individuals who may have previous experience to true beginners. We're constantly optimizing our curriculum based on local market conditions to make sure students are learning the most valuable concepts, so we truly appreciate your feedback.

Our professional development services are built on the principle of empowerment. We regret you did not find value in some aspects of our career services. While we do not secure employment for learners, we do provide individualized support through technical interview training, portfolio reviews, resume/social media profile support, and more. We hope you were able to benefit from these resources.

We sincerely care about all our students and would welcome the opportunity to speak with you further to provide any additional learning or career support you may need at this time. If you would like, please contact us directly at (510) 306-1218. We wish you all the success moving forward! 

Joseph J. Abuzaid  User Photo
Joseph J. Abuzaid • Data Analyst, Entrepreneur & Operational Manager • Student Verified via LinkedIn
Overall Experience:
Curriculum:
Instructors:
Job Assistance:
Response From: Boot Camp Team of Berkeley Boot Camps
Title: Community Team
Wednesday, Jun 05 2019

Thanks, Joseph! It's great to hear you enjoyed the program and felt supported by our entire team. Congratulations on graduating, we wish you all the best in your future endeavors!

Cristiano Tavares  User Photo
Cristiano Tavares • Student Verified via LinkedIn
Overall Experience:
Curriculum:
Instructors:
Job Assistance:
Response From: Boot Camp Team of Berkeley Boot Camps
Title: Community Team
Monday, May 20 2019

Thank you for sharing your experience, Cristiano! We're happy you're enjoying the curriculum and are benefiting from the support of our entire boot camp team. Great advice for prospective students: staying focused and asking for help are the keys to success. We're rooting you on as you move forward in the course and can't wait to see you cross the finish line in a few months!

Maja   User Photo
Maja • Student Verified via LinkedIn
Overall Experience:
Curriculum:
Instructors:
Job Assistance:
Response From: Boot Camp Team of Berkeley Boot Camps
Title: Community Team
Monday, Feb 18 2019

Way to go, Maja! Thank you for choosing our program to make a significant career change. We're thrilled to hear you successfully learned the fundamentals of web development and met some amazing people in your cohort. Congratulations on graduating, we truly appreciate you sharing your review! We wish you continued success in all your coding goals.

UCBX
2/14/2019
Amanda  User Photo
Amanda • Developer • Student Verified via LinkedIn
Overall Experience:
Curriculum:
Instructors:
Job Assistance:
Response From: Boot Camp Team of Berkeley Boot Camps
Title: Community Team
Thursday, Feb 14 2019

Thank you so much, Amanda! We're thrilled you had a great program experience. Like you said, this course is challenging but worth it. Congratulations on graduating, we wish you all the best in your future endeavors!

Robert Shaw  User Photo
Robert Shaw • Full Stack Web Developer • Graduate Verified via LinkedIn
Overall Experience:
Curriculum:
Instructors:
Job Assistance:
Response From: Boot Camp Team of Berkeley Boot Camps
Title: Community Team
Tuesday, Jan 22 2019

Way to go, Robert! We're thrilled you had such a wonderful boot camp experience and felt supported by your instructor and TAs — we also think Jerome is amazing. Like you mentioned, this course is fast-paced and will require extensive time outside of the classroom to master the material. Congratulations on graduating and thank you for your feedback! 

FT Full Stack
10/21/2018
Crystal Ngo  User Photo
Crystal Ngo • Graduate Verified via LinkedIn
Overall Experience:
Curriculum:
Instructors:
Job Assistance:
Response From: Boot Camp Team of Berkeley Boot Camps
Title: Community Team
Tuesday, Oct 23 2018

Thank you for taking the time to share this detailed feedback, Crystal! We're thrilled you enjoyed your boot camp experience and made some close friendships—it's our goal to foster a supportive classroom environment. Like you mentioned, our program is fast-paced and designed to cover multiple concepts at a high level in a limited amount of time, so you're completely right that students should expect to spend extensive time studying and reviewing the material outside of class to gain a deeper understanding.

We're glad to hear your instructor was so knowledgeable and supportive — we also think David is fantastic. We're always working to keep our curriculum in-line with the latest market skills, so we appreciate your input on wanting to spend more time on React.

We look forward to continuing to work with you through our post-graduation career services to help you feel best prepared for the job search. Congratulations on graduating, we are proud of all the hard work and dedication you invested in your web development journey! 

Dinh Do  User Photo
Dinh Do Verified via LinkedIn
Overall Experience:
Curriculum:
Instructors:
Job Assistance:
Response From: Boot Camp Team of Berkeley Boot Camps
Title: Community Team
Wednesday, Oct 17 2018

Way to go, Dinh! We are thrilled you had such a great student experience and enjoyed both our curriculum and entire support team. You're completely right that you will never stop learning in this field. Thank you for providing such a helpful description of our classroom facilities and transportation methods — this is great information for prospective students. Congratulations on completing such a rigorous course, we wish you all the success in your future endeavors! 

Mridula Udaya Shankar  User Photo
Mridula Udaya Shankar • Graduate Verified via LinkedIn
Overall Experience:
Curriculum:
Instructors:
Job Assistance:
Response From: Boot Camp Team of Berkeley Boot Camps
Title: Community Team
Thursday, Jul 19 2018

Thank you for your review, Mridula! Our entire team is passionate about enabling student success, so we're thrilled you found them to be so helpful. Congratulations on graduating and thank you for choosing our program to advance your coding career. We wish you all the best moving forward!

Justin Wong  User Photo
Justin Wong • Software Engineer • Graduate Verified via LinkedIn
Overall Experience:
Curriculum:
Instructors:
Job Assistance:
Response From: Jayson Beagley of Berkeley Boot Camps
Title: Regional Director - NorthWest Territory
Monday, May 21 2018

Congratulations on graduating, Justin! We’re thrilled you gained such a strong foundation in web development and applaud you for putting in the hard work and long hours.

We are happy you found the curriculum to be competitive and up to date, but understand you would have liked to spend more time focusing on languages and technologies like React.js and Webpack. We pride ourselves on teaching students how to learn, as we cover such a large amount of material in 12 weeks, we provide a high-level understanding of certain topics with the goal of individuals knowing how to dive into additional languages post-graduation. However, we are constantly working on improving our curriculum to ensure students are learning the most valuable and current skills and truly appreciate you sharing this input.

We couldn't agree more that this boot camp will require additional time outside of class, this is one of the reasons why we implemented a three-part admissions process, making sure potential students are aware of this commitment. Our instructors and TAs are incredibly passionate about helping students throughout every step of the way, so we’re glad to know you felt that level of support and took advantage of 1:1 sessions and supplemental tutoring. We also think Jerome is pretty amazing!

Our professional development services are built on the principle of empowerment, and our career services team strives to be clear about expectations. We frequently update our services to best equip students for the job search, and as such appreciate your insight regarding more detailed homework feedback. We’d love to hear from you directly to see what else we can do at this time to help you feel equipped for success. If you would like, please reach out to me at (510) 306-1218. Thank you for your review and we wish you nothing but the best in your future endeavors!

Mikhail Metrikin  User Photo
Mikhail Metrikin • Graduate Verified via LinkedIn
Overall Experience:
Curriculum:
Instructors:
Job Assistance:
Response From: Rosa Tadeo of Berkeley Boot Camps
Title: Student Success Manager
Tuesday, Sep 26 2017

Congratulations on your new job as a front-end engineer, Mikhail! 

Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a detailed review of your experience. We’re thrilled that you chose our program for your boot camp journey; and that our tuition, university affiliation, and program duration helped to meet your needs.

It’s terrific to hear that you learned so much from our curriculum and course instruction. We love hearing that your instructors provided you with the knowledge, guidance, and support that you needed to learn these valuable skills. Because we’re passionate about student success, it makes us proud of our team to hear that your instructors, student success manager, and career services team worked hard to help you on your journey.

We know this course can be challenging, so we commend you on all of your hard work. We can’t wait to see what the future has in store for you! We’re cheering you on as you move forward in your career.

Mariam  User Photo
Mariam • Graduate Verified via LinkedIn
Overall Experience:
Curriculum:
Instructors:
Job Assistance:
Response From: Rosa Tadeo of Berkeley Boot Camps
Title: Student Success Manager
Monday, Sep 18 2017

You rock Mariam! Congratulations on completing the program, we applaud all of your hard work. We know this course can be challenging, that is why we strive to provide in-depth student support. It makes us incredibly proud of our team to hear that they were committed to providing you with the support you needed during the program.

We’re thrilled that you had such a positive experience with this course. We wish you continued success in your future endeavors.

Alexander D Ratliff  User Photo
Alexander D Ratliff • Full Stack Developer • Graduate Verified via GitHub
Overall Experience:
Curriculum:
Instructors:
Job Assistance:
Response From: Rosa Tadeo of Berkeley Boot Camps
Title: Student Success Manager
Monday, Sep 18 2017

Congratulations on completing the program, Alexander! We appreciate you taking the time to leave detailed feedback. As you mention, this program requires a full-time commitment and it is not recommended that students maintain outside employment during the boot camp. This is an important insight for future students to know. We understand that this course may be challenging. That is why we provide in-depth student support in the form of office hours, tutoring sessions, and a dedicated slack channel. We hope these resources were helpful to you.

We’re constantly updating our curricula, and student feedback is an important part of keeping our course material up to date, so we really appreciate your input. We hope you’re proud of all that you accomplished in this program. We wish you all the best as you move forward in your career.

Chi  User Photo
Chi • Graduate Verified via GitHub
Overall Experience:
Curriculum:
Instructors:
Job Assistance:
Response From: Rosa Tadeo of Berkeley Boot Camps
Title: Student Success Manager
Monday, Sep 18 2017

Hi Chi,

We really appreciate your detailed review, as insights like this are very helpful for future students. We’re glad to hear that your instructor, TAs, and Career Services team were able to provide your class with assistance and support when it was needed.

It’s wonderful that you had a positive experience with this program. Congratulations on all of the hard work you put into completing this course. We wish you nothing but the best of luck in your future endeavors.

Marian Arghandewal Safi  User Photo
Marian Arghandewal Safi • Student Verified via LinkedIn
Overall Experience:
Curriculum:
Instructors:
Job Assistance:
Response From: Rosa Tadeo of Berkeley Boot Camps
Title: Student Success Manager
Sunday, Sep 10 2017

Thank you for your review, Marian! We're so glad you had such a positive experience with this program. Congratulations on completing the course, we wish you the best of luck in your future endeavors.

Lena • Data Analyst • Student
Overall Experience:
Curriculum:
Instructors:
Job Assistance:
Response From: Boot Camp Team of Berkeley Boot Camps
Title: Community Team
Thursday, Feb 21 2019

Thank you for your review, Lena! We're happy to hear you benefited from the curriculum and enjoyed our career services assistance. Congratulations on graduating and landing an analyst role! We're rooting you on in all that you do. 

David • Lead Analyst
Overall Experience:
Curriculum:
Instructors:
Job Assistance:
Response From: Boot Camp Team of Berkeley Boot Camps
Title: Community Team
Friday, Feb 22 2019

Thank you for your review, David. As you noted, UC Berkeley Extension has partnered with Trilogy Education Services (TES) to offer the Berkeley Data Analytics Boot Camp. UC Berkeley Extension is deeply involved in the curriculum and outcomes of each of our classes, routinely meeting in conjunction with TES to monitor the learning experience and performance. Our curriculum is strategically engineered using extensive market and employer research on the most in-demand skills for the industry, and we are constantly making optimizations to the course material as the industry evolves. Both Berkeley and TES are completely dedicated to transforming individuals' lives.

We're happy to hear you found our instructional team to be helpful and knowledgeable! While we wish that all of our instructors could teach multiple cohorts throughout the year, as we only hire individuals who are active practitioners in the industry, their full-time career commitments can make this difficult. While your particular instructor may not be teaching the current class, we have an intensive vetting process for our instructors, requiring a minimum of three years of professional experience in the industry. UC Berkeley Extension vets every instructor that teaches in our boot camp programs, with fewer than 2.5% of all screened candidates selected.

It is great that you enjoyed the company of your classmates and made lasting connections. But, we understand you may have preferred more experienced classmates. While our program recommends two years of related experience, it is designed to help individuals with varying levels of proficiency. It's our mission to help as many hard-working, aspiring data analysts' as we can and we commend all those who truly commit to the course and to launching their careers — regardless of their prior knowledge or professional backgrounds. We do have a three-part admissions screening process to make sure that those who commit to this course will be set up for success.

We regret that our career services did not live up to your expectations. While we do not secure direct employment for our students, we empower them the best we can with the necessary tools and support for entering the job market. Like you mentioned, we do provide several support services including technical interview training, portfolio reviews, resume/social media profile support, online Tech Talk panels, and one-on-one meetings with the Career Director. Our career services curriculum is designed and evaluated based on local demands and the input of local employers, to ensure our students are best positioning themselves during the application and interview process.   

We understand that you would have liked to spend more time covering fundamental mathematics and experimental design on clean data, and less time on front-end web visualization. As this program is centered around both data analysis and visualization, we do dedicate time to JavaScript (D3.js, Leaflet.js) as our research has found that these skills make our students more well-rounded and competitive. Our course is designed to provide students with the skills and abilities to quickly learn new concepts and tools on their own (as the technical job market is always changing). We believe this methodology, and covering a wide range of topics at a macro level, helps individuals learn how to problem-solve and self-teach — keys skills in the data industry. We truly appreciate your feedback as our curriculum is frequently updated to ensure that it is aligned with the latest market needs.

We're always looking for new ways to expand our services to best serve the needs of our students, so we would welcome the opportunity to speak with you further. If you would like, please reach out to us directly at (510) 306-1218. 

Hannah
Overall Experience:
Curriculum:
Instructors:
Job Assistance:
Response From: Boot Camp Team of Berkeley Boot Camps
Title: Community Team
Thursday, Feb 14 2019

Amazing, Hannah! We're glad to hear you enjoyed the curriculum and found our instructional team to be so knowledgeable. Congratulations on graduating and thank you for your review! We wish you all the success moving forward.

Takahiro Kawaguchi • MBA Candidate • Graduate
Overall Experience:
Curriculum:
Instructors:
Job Assistance:
Response From: Boot Camp Team of Berkeley Boot Camps
Title: Community Team
Monday, Nov 05 2018

Thank you for your review, Takahiro! We're glad you enjoyed our full-stack curriculum and are looking forward to both your graduation and final project in a few weeks.

Denis • Graduate
Overall Experience:
Curriculum:
Instructors:
Job Assistance:
Response From: Boot Camp Team of Berkeley Boot Camps
Title: Community Team
Monday, Oct 29 2018

Thank you for your feedback, Denis. Like you mentioned, our Data Analytics program does cover several fundamental skills, such as Python programming, databases, and front-end web visualization. Our curriculum is frequently updated to ensure we are covering the latest market demands in the region. We have found the integration of this knowledge base to be essential in real-world data analytics roles. We would love the opportunity to provide you with any additional support and further discuss your student experience. If you would like, please contact us directly at (510) 455-5867.

Grace Houghton • Graduate
Overall Experience:
Curriculum:
Instructors:
Job Assistance:
Response From: Boot Camp Team of Berkeley Boot Camps
Title: Community Team
Wednesday, Oct 17 2018

Amazing, Grace! Thank you so much for taking the time to provide your feedback. We're thrilled to hear our program successfully helped you learn the fundamental concepts of web development. You're completely right that the course is fast-paced, so having a supportive team is pivotal — we also agree that David, Shani, and Kim are fantastic. Congratulations on graduating, we wish you all the best as you move forward!

Mark M. • Full Stack Web Developer • Graduate
Overall Experience:
Curriculum:
Instructors:
Job Assistance:
Response From: Shani Burdette of Berkeley Boot Camps
Title: Student Success Manager
Monday, Jun 18 2018

Thank you for your review, Mark! It’s our goal to provide a comprehensive learning experience to all of our students, so it's great to hear you saw this reflected in the program. Like you mentioned, the course does require a significant amount of additional hours outside of class to master the concepts, so we commend you for putting in the hard work. Our instructors and TAs are extremely passionate about student success and we're happy you had a blast in class - we also think David is amazing! Congratulations on graduating and best of luck in all your future endeavors.

Nicki • Graduate
Overall Experience:
Curriculum:
Instructors:
Job Assistance:
Response From: Jayson Beagley of Berkeley Boot Camps
Title: Student Success Manager
Tuesday, May 29 2018

Hi Nicki, we first want to congratulate you on your dedication to this rigorous program! Thank you for taking the time to share your student experience with us, as we consider each review an opportunity for improvement. We know this is an immersive course and like you mentioned, it is fast-paced and time-intensive, requiring hours of supplemental work and studying outside of the classroom.

Our program prides itself on teaching students how to learn, providing a strong foundational skillset to be able to master additional data concepts and tools post-graduation. While we do cover a wide variety of topics at a high level, this foundation of knowledge allows individuals to learn how to problem-solve and self-teach, a key skill needed in a data analyst's career. We do find that as the course progresses, students become more and more confident in the knowledge they have learned and feel empowered to apply their skills in the professional world after the program. However, we are constantly working on improving our curriculum to ensure students are successfully able to learn the most valuable and in-demand technologies.

It is our goal to support students throughout the entire boot camp journey through in-class assistance, office hours, tutoring sessions, and other channels like Slack, phone, and email, but we regret that you felt that the support you received was not what you needed, particularly following the departure of your TA. Your Career Director did provide your cohort an in-depth job search workshop focused on data roles following graduation, as well as an Employer Competitive Resources sheet. Did you find these to be helpful? We understand you would have preferred a more tailored career services experience, and while we do customize our Career Services by programs, we sincerely appreciate this feedback as it helps us improve and ensure we are meeting our students' needs. We strive to set clear expectations and provide individualized support through technical interview training, portfolio reviews, resume/social media profile support, and more, but we are continually refining our career services to best help students prepare for the job search.

The student experience does not end upon graduation, as it is our goal for all students to leave the program feeling confident in their new skills and prepared for success in the job search. We would love the opportunity to speak with you directly to learn how else we can support you at this time, whether through additional learning materials or career support. Please reach out to me at (510) 306-1218. We wish you the best of luck as you move forward in your endeavors!